$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beverly Hills, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Okay, nothing special

There was nothing really wrong with the hotel, but there is nothing to really recommend it either. It is overpriced: you can stay at Motel 6 for half the price and the only thing you would have to give up is a greasy breakfast. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is iffy and I wouldn't risk it after dark. As for amenities: the remote control for the tv didn't work (so I couldn't turn on the tv) and it took 3 1/2 hours for maintenance person to come by with a replacement remote control. I could now turn on the tv, but had to manually change the volume and channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Aug 25, 2010

Clean, not the best neighborhood

Good hotel for the price. However, we booked through [...] and they only reserved one queen bed for 3 adults! We had to pay an extra $40/night to upgrade to two queen beds once we arrived at the hotel. The price of our package was misleading. We also thought that the hotel staff was very unfriendly and unaccomodating. I would most likely try out a different hotel closer to Hollywood for my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
serenabon
Business
long island, ny
Sep 3, 2010

good value,comfortable stay

Nice, clean,comfortable stay. Wasn't a 5-star hotel or luxorious...but it was a good price and good location for hollywood. We would stay there again if in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

hollywood boulevard, universal studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
avgandrew
Business
Atlantic City, NJ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

hollywood hotel

large clean hotel/rooms centrally located near hollywood blvd. twenty dollar fee to park in gated lot a necessity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

head ne to glendale area for dining in a more upscale area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supermadre
Business
los angeles, california
May 13, 2012

good

pretty average hotel, nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aria 0862
Business
Hollywood
Dec 24, 2012

average place to stay

it was pretty ordinary and i will say the free breakfast is ordinary and i don't see special food to eat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeighBee
Business
Fresno, California
Jan 2, 2013

Average experience

Great location and friendly staff, but the air conditioning in the room was not good. Despite being cold outside, our room was extremely warm. We tried turning the thermostat down, but even that did not help much. Had we not been on the first floor facing Vermont Avenue, we would have opened our window. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenna11
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 13, 2013

Great place to get away for a nice weekend.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. Staff is friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ezdraz
Business
Nogales, Sonora, Mexico
Jan 16, 2013

Average Hotel

I was a nice stay but what I really hated is that you have to pay 20 dlls to use the parking lot...after all the hotel is kind of old and paying about a 100 a night the least you would expect is free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt Rob
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 12, 2013

Great location, good food, uncomfortable beds

This location was great for our stay (we had a conference at LA City College). Neighborhood is a little rough, I didn't mind paying for gated parking. The breakfast was outstanding, made to order eggs and waffles by friendly chefs. Biggest complaint was the bed: the mattress was hard and pillows were all lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top