$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 7, 2011

50/50

We were there for play and for work, and needed a place that was clean, had some activity and close to where we needed to be.Some of the staff was friendly and some just didnt care. The room was nice, clean bed, but in the bathroom there was left over q-tips and used razor and foot scrapper...pretty nasty. I explained and front desk stated they will have someone clean it....they never came and when I contacted a room attendant on my own she came, made the bed, but never cleaned the previous persons stuff..so it is still there! I advised Front desk manager, he said he was sorry, and nothing else. I was charged twice for my room, and could not get the monies reversed till I checked out.The pool was nice and clean, the breakfast buffet was ok. Area was a little shady, but I did enjoy the recommendations for restaurants which were great. I would go back...at a discount and only through [...], safer to pay that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would drive if you ahve family jsut due to area, but it was great to see other parts of LA. Yuca tacos shop GREAT!, the Big Mama & Pappa pizza great, close to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Novato
Jan 6, 2009

We had to make things happen

The first room assigned to us was uncleaned. The maid told us this when we started to enter the room. We had to go back to the front desk to get a different room. The second room was neat and clean. When I asked to use the computer which was in the lobby (for customer use) it was out of order. The desk clerk told me to go across the street and pay for computer use. Borderline rude by the tone and by the words.When we asked about tourist activities in the area, even though they were not busy, they just pointed us to the bochure rack and told us to look for what we wanted. We were charged $16.40 per night to park. We both have stayed at Ramada Hotels all over The United States. This is the first time either of us has been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Quinta, CA
Feb 24, 2009

Overall, not bad

There is a lounge in the hotel, but it was never open, even after the front desk told us twice that it would be open. One person told us 6:00 pm and another told us 7:00 pm. If you don't know what accomodations that you have.....find out! Room was clean and close to the theater. Front desk could have been more knowledgable about area resturants and how to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Mar 3, 2009

location is good and price is affordable

went on red bus tour, covers a lot of Hollywood sites, and Hollywood homes and historic hollywood places. If you smoke, it might be a problem. Continental breakfast is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

you can take local buses to favorite destinations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Dec 9, 2009

Long term stay

I was very upset with this hotel. I have been here over nine days due to a great rate from [...]. The second day I was here I received a phone call at 8:00am saying that they were renovating the room they just checked me into the night before and had to move me by 11am. I moved to a room, which they upgraded to a junior suite that hadn't been cleaned so I had to wait for an hour before I could be settled. The next week up until today, they were removing carpet next door, upstairs, the ENTIRE hallway outside my room early in the morning so all I heard was the constant hammering and banging and talking of the workers. The elevators kept breaking down therefore one must wait for 5 minutes or so to crowd into the only operable elevator that was shared by guests, housekeeping, carpet debris ect. Housekeeping kept coming in my room even though my do not disturb sign was up on the door outside. I was at one point exiting the shower and thought someone was breaking in because the door was opening without any knock saying "housekeeping. " I had to open my door with my towel on to tell them to stop. They then never refilled the coffee, creamers, cups or the counters, all they did was vacuum and change the sheets/towels. Yesterday, I was preparing for my departure and had all my clothes and personal items sprawled all over the floor, bed, couch and bathroom. I said to one of the housekeepers after I placed the do not disturb card on the door , "please do not clean my room I will be back in an hour and I have my stuff everywhere," she nodded and I went on my way. I arrived to find my clothes and personal items moved into piles, the floor vacuumed, the sheets changed with my clothes now on the floor that were originally on the bed, my personal bar of expensive organic soap gone (thrown out im sure.) I told the front desk and their defense was housekeeping may have thought I left the do not disturb sign up by mistake. What makes me most upset was that there was no warning downstairs in the lobby or on the website that there would be renovations and noise, as well as no compensation for all these problems I was having at the hotel. I came here for a relaxing time and left with a pounding headache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

down the street on n vermont towards Hollywood Blvd is a cluster of bars, and resteraunts and a theater that is very nice. there is a diner called house of pies that has breakfast, lunch, dinner and all sorts of desserts. The Dresdon which is a very classic bar/resteraunt, great steaks, where the movie Swingers had filmed some scenes. Also a sushi resteraunt and other outdoor cafes. I didnt know about this area until i was almost ready to leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 19, 2010

Nice Room

The location was not that close to Universal Studios; it was in a somewhat rundown neighborhood. However, the hotel was fairly nice, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel staff will help with directions to various attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Prettygirl
Business
UK
Jul 12, 2014

Sonia from the restaurant was very helpful and friendly.

The staff were very helpful and helped to book trips. There is also free WI FI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amirali
Business
Virginia
Jul 20, 2014

Nice exprience

It was a good hotel. Staff was so nice and helpful. Breakfast was fine. I will recommend it to my friends .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linus O.
Business
OCALA
Mar 11, 2015

good for a quick stay never again

They could do better for the title they have. The bed made me feel like snow white. The comfort level was great. Definitely needs upgrades. great for hoe close we were to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cassandra P.
Business
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Pretty Good

If you have a car this hotel is great since it's affordable and close to the tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top