$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
345 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (345)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
345 out of 345
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jstuck
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Nice Hotel in slightly rough neighborhood

I don't ever travel, so it's hard for me to compare my hotel with others, but I'll try. This hotel is really pretty nice in spite of the neighborhood it's in. I arrived to a real shock when I was informed they charge $20 per day (after taxes) for parking, but you need to have it due to the slightly rough neighborhood. As the desk clerk put it, "you can park on the street, but I wouldn't". And he's right ! I got a really good deal on a rental car from FOX rental, so I didn't mind paying this added fee. The location is pretty good - near Universal Studios, Kodak Theater, Jimmy Kimmel Live, Sunset & Vine, Hollywood Blvd, Griffith Observatory, Burbank, Studio City, etc. Clean rooms (and Hotel) with a nice breakfast. I'd recommend it to friends, but warn them about the parking situation and to not wander after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjmjmjmj
merced, ca
Nov 16, 2011

Good stuff

Hotel and room was beautiful, staff was minimal but friendly. Breafast was fantastic and comes with the hotel room. Rooms were very nice and were clean. Location is not great but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Bombastic
Seattle
Nov 13, 2011

A decent place to stay

I was traveling to LA for the USC-UW game and spent Thursday and Friday night (Nov. 10-11) at this hotel. The check-in was smooth and there were no problems with my reservation. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. My room was 103, just off the entry lobby. This was a convenient location for coming and going, and also to take the elevator down to the complimentary breakfast each morning. It was somewhat noisy, as I could easily hear louder voices in the lobby (partly because of the tile floor in the lobby and hallway), but it quieted down at night, so it was never a nuisance. The surrounding neighborhood is not the greatest, but the hotel is on a main thoroughfare and there are plenty of people out and about, so I walked around both days- including at night - and never feared for my personal safety. There is a Metro station just a couple blocks down Vermont, which is handy. There is also a huge neighborhood flea market on weekends (which appeared to be 100% Latino; having a little Spanish-speaking ability comes in handy), just a couple blocks south of the Metro station. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was excellent. The people serving you are very friendly and attentive. The maid stafff was also very accommodating. The room itself was clean and comfortable. It's a 3-star type hotel; it's older and shows its age here and there (VERY slow elevator, among other things). The guy who checked me out in the morning was not friendly at all, but he was the only person on the hotel staff I dealt with who was not. Overall a good value for the price I paid ($96 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Paul's is one of the best little local finds you could encounter anywhere. It's run by a real "mom & pop" (Paul is the "pop") who have been operating it for 46 years. The food is delicious (fresh ingredients), the pizza is thin crust (unless you ask for it differently) and made to perfection. They have more than just pizza, too. Excellent pasta dishes, sandwiches, and more. Go south from the hotel down Vermont past LA City College to Melrose Ave., turn right (west) and go 2-1/2 blocks and Pizza Paul's is on your left. You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
avgandrew
Atlantic City, NJ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

hollywood hotel

large clean hotel/rooms centrally located near hollywood blvd. twenty dollar fee to park in gated lot a necessity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

head ne to glendale area for dining in a more upscale area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grateful Guest
Brooklyn, New York
Nov 11, 2011

Four satisfied guests

Four of us had the same assessment of this hotel. The establishment is clean and is very convenient to tourist attractions. The staff tries very hard to please. Gisele H. was particularly helpful and often inquired as to our stay and itinerary. Her smile and concern were truly genuine. We plan to return in the near future and will definitely make a reservation at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the metro to Universal Studios.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnyside boy
Lansing, NY 14850, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Good value

Very nice staff, we also had fun going to the comedy shows at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob's Big Boy
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Weekend Trip

Checked in at 10pm and gentleman at desk was helping guests set up a tour. No problem except he did not acknowledge my presence until he finished with the other guests. The room was very small and not that special for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the LA County Museum of Art.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
greenway gal
nj
Jul 18, 2011

would definitey recommend

This hotel is in a great location for everything, beach, mountains, Hollywood, downtown LA etc. The actual street was a bit shabby and run down, I was glad we had locked parking facilities. However, that did cost $18 per day but I booked knowing that. there are gas stations, rite aid and grocery stores all very close. just a shirt drive from Griffith observatory. The was a great selection for brekfast and there was laundry facilities which was useful for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Within a couple of blocks there was lots of places to eat. We enjoyed the Mongolian BBQ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 7, 2011

50/50

We were there for play and for work, and needed a place that was clean, had some activity and close to where we needed to be.Some of the staff was friendly and some just didnt care. The room was nice, clean bed, but in the bathroom there was left over q-tips and used razor and foot scrapper...pretty nasty. I explained and front desk stated they will have someone clean it....they never came and when I contacted a room attendant on my own she came, made the bed, but never cleaned the previous persons stuff..so it is still there! I advised Front desk manager, he said he was sorry, and nothing else. I was charged twice for my room, and could not get the monies reversed till I checked out.The pool was nice and clean, the breakfast buffet was ok. Area was a little shady, but I did enjoy the recommendations for restaurants which were great. I would go back...at a discount and only through [...], safer to pay that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would drive if you ahve family jsut due to area, but it was great to see other parts of LA. Yuca tacos shop GREAT!, the Big Mama & Pappa pizza great, close to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
middle class traveler
Sacramento, CA
Jun 26, 2011

Good value and secure

Parking ($20 a day but worth it) and hotel were secure which was nice after driving by other hotels we viewed in this price range. Breakfast area was excellent. Room so-so. Bathroom small. Basically no closet. No table or chairs (no room). No in room safe. Nice bedding and TV. Nice to have fridge and micro. Location pretty convenient to all Hollywood attractions. Take Metro to Hollywood Blvd and Universal Studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

TV studios (CBS, NBC, Warner Bros) all short drive. Tonight Show was great experience. Price is Right not so good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search