$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beauty
Couples
Uk
Jun 1, 2012

Fabulous family getaway

I really enjoyed my holidays with my parents. The hotel is located in a very convenient location close to most of the major attractions in LA.The hotel staff was very friendly and room cleanliness was up to the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northwest Jim
Couples
Puyallup, Washington
Nov 15, 2012

Great Stopover

Used our stay while travel to family members in the LA area. We were impressed by the hotel ambience, had the the desired amenities such as continental breakfast (great staff), a well equipped workout room and a very effiecient, helpful and courteous room service team. We will use the Hollywood Hotel again and would recommend it to any traveler to the LA area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nsab
Couples
San Diego, California
Oct 20, 2012

Bad Experience

This was one of the wost hotels we have stayed in. I won't be back. It ruined our stay in LA. The bed was terrible. It was a super cheap mattress. It was unacceptable. We both could not sleep & had back pains from it. It also made a horrible rattling sound like it had pots & pans under it. I told the front desk at the end of our stay but they did not offer any kind of refund. The courtyard & balconies were really brightly lit all night like a hospital. No one would want to sit on the balcony with that kind of lighting. The room was also really small and the TV didn't have many channels. The TV also had ghosting which means it is about to die. The remote hardly worked. The extra parking fee of $19 a day was really lame too. The breakfast & location were the only good things about the place. Overall it was a bad experience. I regret our stay at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dona from iowa
Family
Bayard, IA
Sep 25, 2012

L.A. visiting daughter

We stayed at the Hollywood Hotel and it was great. Our rooms were clean, beds were really comfortable, complimentary breakfast was great, with someone making eggs, omelets, etc. and the regular cereal, toasts, fruit, etc. Parking is an extra $20/day, which we didn't know, but was gated and we felt extremely safe in the neighborhood. No problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supermadre
Couples
los angeles, california
May 13, 2012

good

pretty average hotel, nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
Family
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

I will definately come back

I really liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly and a free continental breakfast was better than what i thought. The location is perfect for thos who are planning to visit Hollywood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Hollywood

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
Family
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

I've enjoyed staying at this hotel!

I've read many reviews on this hotel andrealized that reviews are different depending on their expectation. I agree with so many reviews.. This is not the greatest, luxurious, fancy hotel... But this is the great for its location, service and room size. I would definately come back and stay at this hotel if I have a chance to visit Hollywood, Downtown or Korea Town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Korea town- BBQ Chiken

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
Family
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Awesome place

This is an awesome place. I totally recommend this place for travelers with family and freids visiting hollywood!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bbq chiken

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RogerC
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Very tired hotel. NOT 3 star.

I have stayed here a few times in the past, under different management. Unfortunately the new ownership hasn't invested a dime in this place; it is still 30 to 40 year old room decor and baths. Even in a "junior suite" there wasn't even a desk located where the internet jack was, so to do any computer work you have to sit on the floor. Totally NOT a 3-star property. If this hotel was $89, then you'd get what you paid for. Very much NOT worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAdo
Friends
Texas
Jan 8, 2012

Dream trip

Hotel room was great and breakfast was great! Very clean! But I hated being charged 19 dollars a day for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top