$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nezzii
Business
Orange, NJ
May 28, 2013

First Trip to LA

The hotel was really nice and clean. The only thing that I wasn't crazy about was the area where it was located. There was a homeless man who slept on the ground across the street from the hotel every night but that didn't bother me much unless I was going out on the small balcony. Nonetheless I did feel safe. And its relatively close to the metro and Hollywood Blvd. The staff is extremely nice and pleasant. The pool closed at 8pm which was kind of a downer but the free breakfast was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel refers you to a starline tour which was awesome! They pick you up from the hotel and bring you back after the 6 1/2 hour tour. Our tour guide was Bruce and he knows his stuff. The tour included the star's homes, hollywood sign, walk of fame, santa monica pier, venice & muscle beach, and downtown LA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Llou lou
Business
Atlanta
Apr 19, 2013

Nice place

Good location, clean, no full time restaurant, but great free breakfast and free internet. Very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M.J.V.
Business
* * * * * * *
Apr 9, 2013

Unwelcome to the Hotel California

Actually, the hotel is called "Hollywood Hotel" and I would NOT recommend it to any one. Why? >>> - <<< 1. Bad location. I would not stay at this hotel again. 2. I was made to pay for parking. When booking the room, there was no indication that parking must be paid for. ($22.00 per night) 3. Breakfast was, at most, fair. You were asked for your room number to receive a single small omelet and/or waffles. Breads were either stale and/or editable. Coffee? The coffee was horrible, no cream and or half-and-half. 4. The front desk staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. (However, the maids were great) 5. Automobile street noise was excessive - including police & rescue sirens every night. 6. Computer WiFi ? ? ? The signal is so weak that it is not an effective amenities. 7. The front desk (lobby) computer is better but you are NOT able to print boarding passes, etc. 8. This hotel is NOT in North Hollywood as directed in my computer search. (My recommendation is find your next hotel by zip code only. 9. This hotel is, at most, worth $50.00 to $75.00 per night. 10. All of these things combined amounted to a less than comfortable stay at the "Unwelcome to the Hotel California" (Hollywood Hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Before booking your hotel, make sure you are in the zip code you want to be in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiMi7
Business
Hollywood
Apr 8, 2013

Pass what I was expecting

My friend and I just book the room not too worried bc we didn't plan to spend any time there. But we were shock by the hotel..the front desk staff was extremely helpful we checked in in less than five minutes. The room was just big enough for the two of us. Very clean. Only complaint would be the lack of lighting and no vent in the restroom for the fog and mist. The breakfast that was served each morning was great. Very fresh and tasty. Wasn't what we expected. The patio and pool was nice and clean. We used ace cab service that got is everywhere in a good time frame. The hotel was in a good location 15min can ride away from everything but the santa monica beach is 45mins away( take a bus and save yourself $60). But overall good stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
htarllovlrac
Business
Vermount Avenue
Mar 16, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

The staff was very friendly and took care of all our needs. The breakfest was more then we expected. Located near the Metro gave us easy travel connections to many parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Metro near by to dowtown LA. Buy one day card and travel as much as you like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deceived traveler
Business
San Diego
Feb 28, 2013

Obscene parking fee for the ghetto

An additional $22 parking fee, which is not stated even in the small print on this travel booking site. The wallpaper is coming off the walls in the bathroom. Holes in the bathroom ceiling from previous leaks. Ultra-ultra- low flow showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJWAG
Business
Bath, New York
Feb 25, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is within walking distance of so many attractions. The breakfast was GREAT!! Made to order omlets & waffles, fresh fruit, cold cereal and bakery items. The staff went out of their way to help with anything we needed. The only complaint I have is: The room was very hot & stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBranch
Business
Bay Area, California
Feb 19, 2013

Nice spot to visit surrounding area/Convenient to nearby hospitals

The room was very clean, and I loved the complimentary breakfast. They made eggs fresh to order, including omlettes. I liked that it has a gated parking area, because parking is mostly permit/hard to come by in the surrounding area, and I felt secure coming and going each day, including very late at night. But, be prepared to pay $20 plus per day for parking, which I was not aware of at booking. Also very conveniently close to the three hospitals (just 3 blocks away) if you are visiting for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a CVS three blocks away, and a grocery store if you need to purchase basics.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Warrioress
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 14, 2013

Not for business

Made a last minute reservation in a hurry and to my fault, didn't do homework on the location. Arriving late at night, neighborhood scared me. There is locked parking area which lets into back door of hotel so that is safe. Didn't work well for a business traveler, not comfortable. The tile floor (no carpet in room) made me think of a beach condo, not an LA hotel. Problems with internet service that were ultimately solved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have Van Will Travel
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 13, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

Room was ok, clean, a bit close to the hospital. Best breakfast for the price. Staff very helpful. Parking charge. Overall a good value for Hollywood. Many updates in progress. Microwave and fridge in room. Easy to highway. Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top