$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Bombastic
Single
Seattle
Nov 13, 2011

A decent place to stay

I was traveling to LA for the USC-UW game and spent Thursday and Friday night (Nov. 10-11) at this hotel. The check-in was smooth and there were no problems with my reservation. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. My room was 103, just off the entry lobby. This was a convenient location for coming and going, and also to take the elevator down to the complimentary breakfast each morning. It was somewhat noisy, as I could easily hear louder voices in the lobby (partly because of the tile floor in the lobby and hallway), but it quieted down at night, so it was never a nuisance. The surrounding neighborhood is not the greatest, but the hotel is on a main thoroughfare and there are plenty of people out and about, so I walked around both days- including at night - and never feared for my personal safety. There is a Metro station just a couple blocks down Vermont, which is handy. There is also a huge neighborhood flea market on weekends (which appeared to be 100% Latino; having a little Spanish-speaking ability comes in handy), just a couple blocks south of the Metro station. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was excellent. The people serving you are very friendly and attentive. The maid stafff was also very accommodating. The room itself was clean and comfortable. It's a 3-star type hotel; it's older and shows its age here and there (VERY slow elevator, among other things). The guy who checked me out in the morning was not friendly at all, but he was the only person on the hotel staff I dealt with who was not. Overall a good value for the price I paid ($96 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Paul's is one of the best little local finds you could encounter anywhere. It's run by a real "mom & pop" (Paul is the "pop") who have been operating it for 46 years. The food is delicious (fresh ingredients), the pizza is thin crust (unless you ask for it differently) and made to perfection. They have more than just pizza, too. Excellent pasta dishes, sandwiches, and more. Go south from the hotel down Vermont past LA City College to Melrose Ave., turn right (west) and go 2-1/2 blocks and Pizza Paul's is on your left. You'll be glad you did.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjmjmjmj
Family
merced, ca
Nov 16, 2011

Good stuff

Hotel and room was beautiful, staff was minimal but friendly. Breafast was fantastic and comes with the hotel room. Rooms were very nice and were clean. Location is not great but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jstuck
Single
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Nice Hotel in slightly rough neighborhood

I don't ever travel, so it's hard for me to compare my hotel with others, but I'll try. This hotel is really pretty nice in spite of the neighborhood it's in. I arrived to a real shock when I was informed they charge $20 per day (after taxes) for parking, but you need to have it due to the slightly rough neighborhood. As the desk clerk put it, "you can park on the street, but I wouldn't". And he's right ! I got a really good deal on a rental car from FOX rental, so I didn't mind paying this added fee. The location is pretty good - near Universal Studios, Kodak Theater, Jimmy Kimmel Live, Sunset & Vine, Hollywood Blvd, Griffith Observatory, Burbank, Studio City, etc. Clean rooms (and Hotel) with a nice breakfast. I'd recommend it to friends, but warn them about the parking situation and to not wander after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dona from iowa
Family
Bayard, IA
Sep 25, 2012

L.A. visiting daughter

We stayed at the Hollywood Hotel and it was great. Our rooms were clean, beds were really comfortable, complimentary breakfast was great, with someone making eggs, omelets, etc. and the regular cereal, toasts, fruit, etc. Parking is an extra $20/day, which we didn't know, but was gated and we felt extremely safe in the neighborhood. No problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northwest Jim
Couples
Puyallup, Washington
Nov 15, 2012

Great Stopover

Used our stay while travel to family members in the LA area. We were impressed by the hotel ambience, had the the desired amenities such as continental breakfast (great staff), a well equipped workout room and a very effiecient, helpful and courteous room service team. We will use the Hollywood Hotel again and would recommend it to any traveler to the LA area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed retired traveler
Couples
Hollywood California
Dec 3, 2012

Good value

Everything was very nice...room was clean and comfortable . The breakfast was excellent .. Choice of omlets, waffles or eggs cooked your way. The front desk was very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franco2
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 10, 2012

A Surprising Gem!

The Hollywood Hotel was a surprisingly comfortable hotel. The room was rather large -- really nice bathroom. The design was modern and updated, the staff were quick and efficient, and the breakfast (included) was a real treat. My only complaint: my air con. did not work and the room got rather warm and stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston dynamo
Family
Houston, texas
Dec 8, 2012

Mls cup

I thought the hotel staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very good with a wide variety. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. It is not is the best part of town but the gated parking lot is a plus and it was a central location to all sites we visited. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shawnkim
Couples
Los Angeles
Dec 31, 2012

Clean and comfort.

Hotel was quite comfort and good. Staffs are very kind. Good accessibility for visiting Hollywood(almost 15 minutes far).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have Van Will Travel
Family
San Jose, CA
Feb 13, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

Room was ok, clean, a bit close to the hospital. Best breakfast for the price. Staff very helpful. Parking charge. Overall a good value for Hollywood. Many updates in progress. Microwave and fridge in room. Easy to highway. Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top