$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
369 out of 369
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nick1s1h
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 11, 2014

good deal

Room on the first floor was comfortable except that all the noise in the hallway could easily be heard. Otherwise, the stay was very comfortable, and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Madame Matisse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Bee LV
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 17, 2014

Best kept secret in LA

I couldn’t sing the praises of this hotel more. Yes, the area that the location is in isn’t the best… but where in Hollywood is? Its about a 10 minute drive in any direction to get to the major hotspots (or a $8 Uber ride that are about a 4-min wait anywhere in LA). When we checked in, the staff was pleasant, helpful and prompt. The parking is additional, but thats typical too. But for the safety and the security, Ill gladly pay it. Its a large private lot that is lovely with fountains and plants… and a guard 24/7. The rooms were spacious and clean. It appears that they have all been renovated recently. Comfy beds, beautiful marble bathrooms. The hotel itself is pretty cool. The morning breakfast is a huge savings and really good. An omelet chef is there every morning making made-to-order omelets and scrambles. Waffles, sausage, fruit, pastries, cereal, juice, coffee and tea also available. There is an open-mic comedy show in the evenings thats kind of fun too at the bar. But above all else, the courtyard is straight out of a movie. Twinkle lights, wicker furniture, a nice breeze and fountains, its a little slice of heaven. There is a pool as well but we did not partake. I have already told all my friends, hands down, best hotel at the best cost you can find. I gambled and glad I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maggianos at The Grove is about 20 mins away. Great patio dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' Troy
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent overall experience

From the front desk staff to housekeeping staff to the quality breakfast each morning, this hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was clean, quiet, comfortable, with private balcony. Thanks for a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palmetto's restaurant just down the street is a hidden gem -- excellent food, service, portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaniLuxa
Business
Boulder CO
Mar 23, 2014

Great location

Perfect place to stay if you want to be close to Los Felix, Silver Lake, or Echo Park. Very nice breakfast, great pool, and comfortable rooms. My room had a small balcony that faced an open patio area with fountain -- charming! I come to LA often, and I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Batra
Business
Manchester
Apr 6, 2014

Hotel

Good hotel near to metro and convenient to move around. Breakfast lacked varieties although contentinental was being served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quintell
Business
New York, NY
Feb 8, 2008

Far away from Home!

I thought it was located in West Hollywood which would place me in walking distance to many things I needed to attend. This Hotel is Miles away from Universal Studio. I'm a New Yorker and don't like being coup up in a car. So the location is important but Vermont/Stanta Monica Blvd left something to b desired. In its favour the matress provided me with good sleep and was as comfortable as being home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2007

Good for business travelers

This Hollywood Ramada was very business friendly. The room was very clean and ample amount of space. However the internet service in the hotel was poor. I was only allowed to log on about half of the time and I was usually kicked off the internet with in 15 minutes. This was very frustrating. The area was not very clean or safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Close to disneyland and other LA attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, N.V.
Jun 8, 2009

Good affordable price

I like the stay. it was quite and cline. the only thing that i didnt like was that they charge for the Parking $14.00 and i considered that was wrong. in Vegas Hotel parkings are free and part off the Hotel frto the guests. other then that breakfest was verry good and i enjoy staying the night. and its close to almost all the atractions, hospitals in case off emergency. i will recomended in a fiture to a friends and family to stay in Ramada Hotel. thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evan of Corvallis
Business
Corvallis, OR
Aug 10, 2009

good value & location, expensive parking

Great value and location very near the Pantages Theater (where we saw Fiddler on the Rooff). Free parking for registered guests would be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, Ontario
Oct 25, 2009

Very happy with our stay

This hotel is perfect for the savvy traveler. Our room was quiet, spotless, fairly new and we found having a fridge, an in-room safe and a microwave very handy. Toiletries were nice. Not having to worry about breakfast was a bonus. The only downside is that the hotel is not in the nicest neighbourhood. That said, it is close to two subway stations and many bus stops. May of LA's attractions are easily reachable from the metro stations. Overall a worthwhile stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top