$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
564 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (564)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
564 out of 564
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beauty
Uk
Jun 1, 2012

Fabulous family getaway

I really enjoyed my holidays with my parents. The hotel is located in a very convenient location close to most of the major attractions in LA.The hotel staff was very friendly and room cleanliness was up to the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston dynamo
Houston, texas
Dec 8, 2012

Mls cup

I thought the hotel staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very good with a wide variety. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. It is not is the best part of town but the gated parking lot is a plus and it was a central location to all sites we visited. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed retired traveler
Hollywood California
Dec 3, 2012

Good value

Everything was very nice...room was clean and comfortable . The breakfast was excellent .. Choice of omlets, waffles or eggs cooked your way. The front desk was very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northwest Jim
Puyallup, Washington
Nov 15, 2012

Great Stopover

Used our stay while travel to family members in the LA area. We were impressed by the hotel ambience, had the the desired amenities such as continental breakfast (great staff), a well equipped workout room and a very effiecient, helpful and courteous room service team. We will use the Hollywood Hotel again and would recommend it to any traveler to the LA area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aureliangary
Las Vegas
Oct 27, 2012

good time

It was a nice time this hotel has everything for a nice vacation.We will book again with this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nsab
San Diego, California
Oct 20, 2012

Bad Experience

This was one of the wost hotels we have stayed in. I won't be back. It ruined our stay in LA. The bed was terrible. It was a super cheap mattress. It was unacceptable. We both could not sleep & had back pains from it. It also made a horrible rattling sound like it had pots & pans under it. I told the front desk at the end of our stay but they did not offer any kind of refund. The courtyard & balconies were really brightly lit all night like a hospital. No one would want to sit on the balcony with that kind of lighting. The room was also really small and the TV didn't have many channels. The TV also had ghosting which means it is about to die. The remote hardly worked. The extra parking fee of $19 a day was really lame too. The breakfast & location were the only good things about the place. Overall it was a bad experience. I regret our stay at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dona from iowa
Bayard, IA
Sep 25, 2012

L.A. visiting daughter

We stayed at the Hollywood Hotel and it was great. Our rooms were clean, beds were really comfortable, complimentary breakfast was great, with someone making eggs, omelets, etc. and the regular cereal, toasts, fruit, etc. Parking is an extra $20/day, which we didn't know, but was gated and we felt extremely safe in the neighborhood. No problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beauty
Uk
Jun 1, 2012

Fabulous family getaway

I really enjoyed my holidays with my parents. The hotel is located in a very convenient location close to most of the major attractions in LA.The hotel staff was very friendly and room cleanliness was up to the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supermadre
los angeles, california
May 13, 2012

good

pretty average hotel, nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

I will definately come back

I really liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly and a free continental breakfast was better than what i thought. The location is perfect for thos who are planning to visit Hollywood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Hollywood

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Awesome place

This is an awesome place. I totally recommend this place for travelers with family and freids visiting hollywood!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bbq chiken

Back to menu Return to top