$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beauty
Couples
Uk
Jun 1, 2012

Fabulous family getaway

I really enjoyed my holidays with my parents. The hotel is located in a very convenient location close to most of the major attractions in LA.The hotel staff was very friendly and room cleanliness was up to the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doug and Anthony
Couples
Visalia, CA
Jun 9, 2013

Just an Average Experience

I wouldn't say that I was impressed. We stayed at another similar rated hotel in the same vicinity only a month earlier and I would say the prior experience was more positive. This is an older upgraded hotel done tastefully. The pic of the hotel is from the gated parking lot in the rear. Don't expect to see this pic from the street. Parking is extra and you're not going to want to leave your car outside on the street. Room had tile flooring, no carpet. I prefer carpet. Bathroom is entirely Ecoflow regulated, so don't expect a blastful shower. Bathroom remodel could have been better, and shower head was at chest level. The price is on the higher side considering the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hollywood Blvd, Universal Studios, Pantages Theatre, Griffith Park and several great shopping and entertainment venues are within 15-20 minutes driving distance of the hotel.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nezzii
Family
Orange, NJ
May 28, 2013

First Trip to LA

The hotel was really nice and clean. The only thing that I wasn't crazy about was the area where it was located. There was a homeless man who slept on the ground across the street from the hotel every night but that didn't bother me much unless I was going out on the small balcony. Nonetheless I did feel safe. And its relatively close to the metro and Hollywood Blvd. The staff is extremely nice and pleasant. The pool closed at 8pm which was kind of a downer but the free breakfast was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel refers you to a starline tour which was awesome! They pick you up from the hotel and bring you back after the 6 1/2 hour tour. Our tour guide was Bruce and he knows his stuff. The tour included the star's homes, hollywood sign, walk of fame, santa monica pier, venice & muscle beach, and downtown LA.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Llou lou
Friends
Atlanta
Apr 19, 2013

Nice place

Good location, clean, no full time restaurant, but great free breakfast and free internet. Very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M.J.V.
Single
* * * * * * *
Apr 9, 2013

Unwelcome to the Hotel California

Actually, the hotel is called "Hollywood Hotel" and I would NOT recommend it to any one. Why? >>> - <<< 1. Bad location. I would not stay at this hotel again. 2. I was made to pay for parking. When booking the room, there was no indication that parking must be paid for. ($22.00 per night) 3. Breakfast was, at most, fair. You were asked for your room number to receive a single small omelet and/or waffles. Breads were either stale and/or editable. Coffee? The coffee was horrible, no cream and or half-and-half. 4. The front desk staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. (However, the maids were great) 5. Automobile street noise was excessive - including police & rescue sirens every night. 6. Computer WiFi ? ? ? The signal is so weak that it is not an effective amenities. 7. The front desk (lobby) computer is better but you are NOT able to print boarding passes, etc. 8. This hotel is NOT in North Hollywood as directed in my computer search. (My recommendation is find your next hotel by zip code only. 9. This hotel is, at most, worth $50.00 to $75.00 per night. 10. All of these things combined amounted to a less than comfortable stay at the "Unwelcome to the Hotel California" (Hollywood Hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Before booking your hotel, make sure you are in the zip code you want to be in.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
htarllovlrac
Couples
Vermount Avenue
Mar 16, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

The staff was very friendly and took care of all our needs. The breakfest was more then we expected. Located near the Metro gave us easy travel connections to many parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Metro near by to dowtown LA. Buy one day card and travel as much as you like.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deceived traveler
Couples
San Diego
Feb 28, 2013

Obscene parking fee for the ghetto

An additional $22 parking fee, which is not stated even in the small print on this travel booking site. The wallpaper is coming off the walls in the bathroom. Holes in the bathroom ceiling from previous leaks. Ultra-ultra- low flow showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJWAG
Couples
Bath, New York
Feb 25, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is within walking distance of so many attractions. The breakfast was GREAT!! Made to order omlets & waffles, fresh fruit, cold cereal and bakery items. The staff went out of their way to help with anything we needed. The only complaint I have is: The room was very hot & stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBranch
Family
Bay Area, California
Feb 19, 2013

Nice spot to visit surrounding area/Convenient to nearby hospitals

The room was very clean, and I loved the complimentary breakfast. They made eggs fresh to order, including omlettes. I liked that it has a gated parking area, because parking is mostly permit/hard to come by in the surrounding area, and I felt secure coming and going each day, including very late at night. But, be prepared to pay $20 plus per day for parking, which I was not aware of at booking. Also very conveniently close to the three hospitals (just 3 blocks away) if you are visiting for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a CVS three blocks away, and a grocery store if you need to purchase basics.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Warrioress
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 14, 2013

Not for business

Made a last minute reservation in a hurry and to my fault, didn't do homework on the location. Arriving late at night, neighborhood scared me. There is locked parking area which lets into back door of hotel so that is safe. Didn't work well for a business traveler, not comfortable. The tile floor (no carpet in room) made me think of a beach condo, not an LA hotel. Problems with internet service that were ultimately solved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have Van Will Travel
Family
San Jose, CA
Feb 13, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

Room was ok, clean, a bit close to the hospital. Best breakfast for the price. Staff very helpful. Parking charge. Overall a good value for Hollywood. Many updates in progress. Microwave and fridge in room. Easy to highway. Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top