$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beauty
Uk
Jun 1, 2012

Fabulous family getaway

I really enjoyed my holidays with my parents. The hotel is located in a very convenient location close to most of the major attractions in LA.The hotel staff was very friendly and room cleanliness was up to the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cspencer Styles
Business
Marina Del Rey
Nov 18, 2013

Misleading

I was really mislead about where i was staying based off the website. I even attempted to leave when i got there but since i prepurchased i was obgliated to stay with no refund. The website said that there was a heated pool, steam room sauna, hot tub and non of those were available. My intent was to reach out to the company the next morning but I was sick all weekend and just stayed in the bed. I am hoping that I can get a credit for another room or some type of compensation for my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Grumpy
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2013

Meh.

The hotel was near where I had to be, but not really in a location that most tourists would choose. It was clean enough, but I didn't like the dim hall lights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VincentG
Business
warsaw
Oct 20, 2013

Scam! Beware of onCommand Movies!

My fiancee and I were zapping the channels on the TV when the screen displayed a message like "Movie onCommand accepted ." We immediately alerted the reception which told us we just enabled the viewing of two films costing 10 dollars each ! We explained that we did not want to have these movies on command , that it was a mistake and it was stated anywhere that we could activate such films. The reception desk officer did not want to hear us and did not want to give me my credit card back if I do not pay ! So I protested that this procedure was not legal, but he showed me the invoice were it was written down and in small print that we committed to pay any further charges without the possibility of complaint or protest u_u A bad experience that marred our WE ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamecorn
Business
Long beach ca
Oct 19, 2013

Great getaway

Pool is great, location is great, staff was friendly , parking is awesome! Good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
balangzi1973
Business
Shanghai
Oct 14, 2013

Th worst hotel that I ever stayed in

One guest changed his plan and did not showed up and his wife showed up. the room was booked under My credit card. But the reception staff did not allow the lady guest check in even though we showed a lot evidence documents. The reception staff asked me to call agent to change the booking. It took me 2-3 hours to call agent and agent called the reption. But the recption still did not allow us to check in waiting for confirmation email from agent. In the following days, we stayed in another 6 hotels, no one asked us to do this. I highly recommend you remove this hotel from your service list. If you need more details, give me an email address, I will provide details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kellsey
Business
NYC
Sep 30, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

The room was spacious and relatively clean. The staffs were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gazadder
Business
Halifax UK
Sep 8, 2013

good central location

Excellent stay. Only negative is the expense of parking. May well be on a level of what other hotels charge in Hollywood however from UK we are not used to being charged for parking when a customer of hotel. They said they could only offer a discount if we had booked direct with hotel. But as stopping there for 7 nights a discount on parking would have been nice anyway. Also one night we went to the hotel bar where it was comedy night. we only stayed for one drink as the comedy was very poor taste and amateur at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristineF
Business
San Bruno, Ca
Jul 29, 2013

Expected a little more

The room was nice size, but the toilet ran all night, bathroom needs some work, and looked like they were half way done mounting the tv to the wall, then just stopped. Breakfast was good, but hard to find a clean table to eat at, we ended up clearing dishes ourselves. Thought it was a little pricey for what we actually got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
absolutislove
Business
Singapore
Jul 17, 2013

LA for cheap!

Our room was HUGE for four people. It really made our stay very comfortable because we had a ton of luggage. The hotel is a short 3 minute walk away from the Metro. The breakfast provided was quite yummy. Centrally located near key landmarks like Hollywood. Beds were comfortable as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garyswan
Business
Las vegad, nevada
Jul 16, 2013

Great breakfast and clean room

The breakfast was the best I have had at any complimentary hotel. The chefs were very nice The room was clean but not cozy due to wooden floors the bead was very nice and clean and comfortable. The desk service told us not to use the vending machines and the pool was closed at 8:00 pm That was the down side. We had to go out of the hotel for pop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top