$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

I will definately come back

I really liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly and a free continental breakfast was better than what i thought. The location is perfect for thos who are planning to visit Hollywood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Hollywood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tim SD
Business
San Diego
Jan 9, 2014

One night hotel stay

Passing through for one night so the experience wasn't a big deal, but the quality left a lot to be desired. The bed was overly firm, tiles in the bathroom were cracked, water wasn't hot enough most of the time, staff was friendly, for some reason you can't bring any food whatsoever from the continental breakfast to your room which was a little frustrating since the other person in my party couldn't make it downstairs and I hadn't encountered that problem before. Just passing through, but wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shivam
Business
Chicago
Dec 24, 2013

Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but after review and all I decided to go with this hotel (Finger Crossed), and believe me nothing better than this can happen with me in Hotel selection. Really nice and helping staff, clean rooms, and perfect location (Near to metro station, as we were depends upon public transportation) , too good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cafarlofos2
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Dec 16, 2013

Great Hotel, Recommended

very recommended this hotel; the price is good, they have personal that speaks also spanish; at the restaurant, we were very satisfied with the services of Oralia and Elvira, they cook for us each morning and it was a good way to start our day. The only thing to be perfect is the Parking; take care because is very expensive, it's not included and you will have to pay for each day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hot breakfast is included and the service from the kitchen is great!! Ask for Oralia or Elvira, both are very kind!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhotogCrystal
Business
Fresno, Ca
Dec 11, 2013

Fine for the price

This hotel was fine for the price. It isn't in the nest area, but still feels safe with the gated parking. The room central air was broken so they had a stand alone heater in the room that didn't produce much heat, even on full blast. The toilet ran constantly, and loudly. The tv did not work. All that said, the hotel and room looked exactly like the photographs, which is why I was surprised about some of the challenges. I am hoping my experience was an anomaly. Also, breakfast was really good. For the price, despite the challenges, I would give the hotel a second chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don Actor
Business
Fredericksburg Virginia
Dec 10, 2013

Great Hotel with great ammenities

when I arrived at the hotel Gisel with Guest services could not have been more professional as were all of the staff during my stay.was very impressed with the hotel amenities from the delicious breakfast bar everyday with an omelette bar which I was not expecting. Bar in the hotel, beautiful courtyard outside of my room with a very comfortable bed, the room was keep very clean through my stay and I especially liked the clean marble floors. Also was pleased with the fitness room which had everything I needed during my stay and also the private sauna was very clean. Also the hotel has a very beautiful pool with nice greenery surrounding it. Felt tucked away in this hotel very quiet and great location. Would absolutely stay at this hotel again.Great Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Central location to the best of LA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeanoandJayde
Business
Hollywood
Dec 10, 2013

Convenient hotel

Good experience, just a few beefs: the room was very small, probably the smallest hotel room I've ever had. Had to pay $22 per day for parking, and was only parked there during the evening hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katherine in Virginia
Business
Northern Virginia
Dec 9, 2013

Charming hotel, very nice staff

This hotel is charming, clean and comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but nicely decorated with excellent amenities. I loved the balcony overlooking the beautiful courtyard. The breakfast, which was included, was terrific - just about the best I've ever had in a hotel. It is a bit noisy, however. Sound carries from the hallways into the rooms, and it is near a hospital, so there are sirens and an ocassional helicopter. The neighborhood is not the best (poor, not dangerous) but it is very convenient to Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krystal martin
Business
los angeles, ca
Dec 9, 2013

good stay

Good experience..didn't wanna leave. Breakfast was great. And staff was awesome.. eooms are beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maninbox
Business
Mountain View, California
Dec 2, 2013

Good

very good hotel, good stuff, but price is lil bit higher!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duke Cameron Crazie
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Nov 26, 2013

An Oldie but Goodie

The neighborhood on Santa Monica Blvd is a little dumpy but the hotel itself is AOK. The desk clerk was pleasant and helpful, the room was very comfortable with plenty of space, and the breakfast was good. We were there for a brief overnight stay: we attended an all-day event in Hollywood and left to drive home early the next morning, so we did no exploring around the hotel. We were surprised there was a $20 parking fee for our overnight stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It's convenient to anything in the Hollywood area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top