$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJ Texan
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 17, 2014

Excellent hotel, excellent location!

The rooms were very spacious and the balcony overlooked downtown LA. The hotel is located very close to a few great landmarks to see in LA such as the Observatory and Hollywood Walk of Fame. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The breakfast in the morning was AMAZING! Overall this is an excellent place to stay for anyone making their first trip out to LA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louiebear
Business
mountain view
Jan 22, 2014

I like this hotel

This is a great hotel and has great breakfast. Only down fall was that the shower didn't get too hot. But everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tim SD
Business
San Diego
Jan 9, 2014

One night hotel stay

Passing through for one night so the experience wasn't a big deal, but the quality left a lot to be desired. The bed was overly firm, tiles in the bathroom were cracked, water wasn't hot enough most of the time, staff was friendly, for some reason you can't bring any food whatsoever from the continental breakfast to your room which was a little frustrating since the other person in my party couldn't make it downstairs and I hadn't encountered that problem before. Just passing through, but wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shivam
Business
Chicago
Dec 24, 2013

Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but after review and all I decided to go with this hotel (Finger Crossed), and believe me nothing better than this can happen with me in Hotel selection. Really nice and helping staff, clean rooms, and perfect location (Near to metro station, as we were depends upon public transportation) , too good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cafarlofos2
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Dec 16, 2013

Great Hotel, Recommended

very recommended this hotel; the price is good, they have personal that speaks also spanish; at the restaurant, we were very satisfied with the services of Oralia and Elvira, they cook for us each morning and it was a good way to start our day. The only thing to be perfect is the Parking; take care because is very expensive, it's not included and you will have to pay for each day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hot breakfast is included and the service from the kitchen is great!! Ask for Oralia or Elvira, both are very kind!!!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhotogCrystal
Business
Fresno, Ca
Dec 11, 2013

Fine for the price

This hotel was fine for the price. It isn't in the nest area, but still feels safe with the gated parking. The room central air was broken so they had a stand alone heater in the room that didn't produce much heat, even on full blast. The toilet ran constantly, and loudly. The tv did not work. All that said, the hotel and room looked exactly like the photographs, which is why I was surprised about some of the challenges. I am hoping my experience was an anomaly. Also, breakfast was really good. For the price, despite the challenges, I would give the hotel a second chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don Actor
Business
Fredericksburg Virginia
Dec 10, 2013

Great Hotel with great ammenities

when I arrived at the hotel Gisel with Guest services could not have been more professional as were all of the staff during my stay.was very impressed with the hotel amenities from the delicious breakfast bar everyday with an omelette bar which I was not expecting. Bar in the hotel, beautiful courtyard outside of my room with a very comfortable bed, the room was keep very clean through my stay and I especially liked the clean marble floors. Also was pleased with the fitness room which had everything I needed during my stay and also the private sauna was very clean. Also the hotel has a very beautiful pool with nice greenery surrounding it. Felt tucked away in this hotel very quiet and great location. Would absolutely stay at this hotel again.Great Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Central location to the best of LA

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeanoandJayde
Business
Hollywood
Dec 10, 2013

Convenient hotel

Good experience, just a few beefs: the room was very small, probably the smallest hotel room I've ever had. Had to pay $22 per day for parking, and was only parked there during the evening hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katherine in Virginia
Business
Northern Virginia
Dec 9, 2013

Charming hotel, very nice staff

This hotel is charming, clean and comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but nicely decorated with excellent amenities. I loved the balcony overlooking the beautiful courtyard. The breakfast, which was included, was terrific - just about the best I've ever had in a hotel. It is a bit noisy, however. Sound carries from the hallways into the rooms, and it is near a hospital, so there are sirens and an ocassional helicopter. The neighborhood is not the best (poor, not dangerous) but it is very convenient to Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krystal martin
Business
los angeles, ca
Dec 9, 2013

good stay

Good experience..didn't wanna leave. Breakfast was great. And staff was awesome.. eooms are beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top