$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach
Sep 12, 2008

Nice hotel, a pleasant surprise

Check-in was a breeze. They have a large secure parking lot for $15 a day, which is, again, cheap for Hollywood. The hotel and the room were kept very clean and well-maintained, the staff was friendly, there was a sufficient amount of electrical outlets, and the other guests appeared to be respectable business people and tourists. I would have loved wi-fi in the rooms, but at that price I won't complain. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This section of Vermont Ave is not the greatest but it's not unsafe either. Koreatown, Los Feliz, Silver Lake and a short drive away. There is shopping and dining within walking distance, along with several large hospitals (Children's, Kaiser Permanente, Hollywood Presbyterian) and there's a subway stop practically across the street.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Jul 15, 2007

Great Customer Service and Location!

This was our first time staying at this Ramada Inn. It was very easy to get to and close to local attractions. Rooms are very nice and comfy very romantic as well! I will definately come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a one day pass for the train and it was take you to the local attractions. Saves on the hassle to parking and traffic jam especially at night.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bari, BA
Oct 24, 2008

Great amenities and food

The Ramada Hollywood near Universal Studios was very comfortable. My room was large enough and well furnished. The sauna, the pool and the fitness room very useful to relax anytime. The breakfast very good, the food various and tasty. At the front desk and at the parking the staff has always been very kind. For sure I'll like to stay again here the next time I'll be in L.A. with a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrhocus
Family
tucson,az
Sep 28, 2009

Great Hotel

From beginning to end our visit was great. All relaxing and wonderful. This hotel was super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, MN
Mar 29, 2008

A Great Family Hotel

The RAMADA has avery nice staff that helped out whenever yo needed them. Directions and recommendations for places to eat were very helpful. Very peaceful for a good night sleep s well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores close for easy shopping.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland, OR
May 4, 2007

Clean and Updated

The hotel itself was well maintained, clean and updated. The complimentary breakfast was great. I was dissappointed that the Ramada Universal was not close to Universal Studios as it's name may indicate. It was about 6-7 miles away, but easily assessable by subway. The neighborhood was less than desirerable, but I never felt unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were serveral local Mexican and Asian resurants nearby.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
SAN FRANCISCO,CA
Jan 15, 2010

very gOOD

SPOTLESS ROOMS AND HOTEL COZY AND QUITE , AND THE MOST IMPORTANT VERY CONFORTABLE BEDS ONE OF THE NICEST I HAD IN A LONG TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Oct 14, 2008

excellent and comfortable hotel

Staff were very helpful and friendly. The amenities were excellent, fitness room had high standard of equipment although limited. Pool area was very nice and clean. Location was not an exccellent area but was good to have a metro station on the door step to enable easy access to torist areas. Lack of good restaurants in the immediate area so you need to eat whilst you are out. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable, lacked adequate comfortable seating in room or for balcony. Good choice of TV facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Feb 18, 2008

Great Location and Amenities!

The Ramada on Vermont is located very close to the trendy Los Feliz district of Los Angeles, and just 2 blocks from the Metro Red Line (Very convenient if you don't have wheels, which we did not). If you do have a car they charge $12/day to park in their parking-lot. It is on a busy street and located within walking distance to Santa Monica, Hollywood, and Sunset Blvds. If you walk to the Von's Supermarket (5 minute walk)you can see the Hollywood Sign and the Griffith Observatory! They also had tours to Universal Studios, Disneyland, to name a few, leaving daily. Although there is no on-site restaurant, there are many taquerias, asian, and a supermarket all with-in a 5-minute walking distance. The hotel provides a free Hot Breakfast, free-wi-fi/Ethernet Internet, a pool, and a Sauna. Although it is a smoke-free hotel, they have an adorable courtyard that permits smoking. There is also a comedy club downstairs. It was a great value for the money. We did arrive quite early, so we had to wait some time for our room to get ready, but other than that, the stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Von's supermarket is a short walk up Vermont. There is off-street parking in the neighborhood! Otherwise, you'll end up paying $12/day to park in their lot!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Apr 24, 2007

Very Family Friendly

the Ramada Hollywood was very clean and comfortable. Even though I was there for business, what I noticed was how many families seemed to be booked there. Check in and out was extremely quick and the staff was knowledgable when it came to directions and helpful when cashing traveler's cheques. For me, being near Santa Monica Blvd was great since that is a street I use as a focal point when visiting. Affordable, I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Well, being near Santa Monica Blvd, there are so many bars, clubs, and restaurants. Canter's was a yummy 24 hour Jewish deli with those big sandwhiches you crave. Across the street was a small pub called The Dime where we went for drinks one night. All you ahve to do is drive up and down the area and you can't miss the nightlife.

Back to menu Return to top