$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' Troy
Couples
Colorado Springs, CO
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent overall experience

From the front desk staff to housekeeping staff to the quality breakfast each morning, this hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was clean, quiet, comfortable, with private balcony. Thanks for a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palmetto's restaurant just down the street is a hidden gem -- excellent food, service, portions.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Bee LV
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 17, 2014

Best kept secret in LA

I couldn’t sing the praises of this hotel more. Yes, the area that the location is in isn’t the best… but where in Hollywood is? Its about a 10 minute drive in any direction to get to the major hotspots (or a $8 Uber ride that are about a 4-min wait anywhere in LA). When we checked in, the staff was pleasant, helpful and prompt. The parking is additional, but thats typical too. But for the safety and the security, Ill gladly pay it. Its a large private lot that is lovely with fountains and plants… and a guard 24/7. The rooms were spacious and clean. It appears that they have all been renovated recently. Comfy beds, beautiful marble bathrooms. The hotel itself is pretty cool. The morning breakfast is a huge savings and really good. An omelet chef is there every morning making made-to-order omelets and scrambles. Waffles, sausage, fruit, pastries, cereal, juice, coffee and tea also available. There is an open-mic comedy show in the evenings thats kind of fun too at the bar. But above all else, the courtyard is straight out of a movie. Twinkle lights, wicker furniture, a nice breeze and fountains, its a little slice of heaven. There is a pool as well but we did not partake. I have already told all my friends, hands down, best hotel at the best cost you can find. I gambled and glad I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maggianos at The Grove is about 20 mins away. Great patio dining.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GeorgeUK
Business
U.K.
Mar 17, 2014

Useful Location for metro into Los Angeles

I stayed at this hotel rather than a downtown hotel to attend a conference in downtown Los Angeles. It was certainly good value compared to downtown hotels. The location is excellent being only a short walk from the Metro Station. The area is safe but a little run down. Breakfast was good but there was no restaurant for the evening. "Room Service" consisted of adverts for local takeaways. I found only fast-food restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jayland
Couples
Indiana
Mar 16, 2014

Huge Parking fee!! / Can not print a page!

I thought it was an impressive deal when I found this hotel. It is an old 3 story hotel with some renovations here and there. When checked in, was shocked to find out $22/night parking fee. It was not disclosed anywhere on the website.They charged my card upfront for parking 5 nights. Room was clean but really small. Window opened to courtyard but I never opened the blinds because there was no privacy at all due to very small courtyard. Breakfast: They make your eggs to order. Omelet vs scrambled. You have to ask the staff for a small cup of yogurt. Small selection of items like cereal, bread, and bananas. I booked some activities online and wanted to print the vouchers. There was no printer and the only way out was to download the itineraries to their desktop computer, save the file and email to hotel staff so they can print it out for you. So your itinerary is saved in their computer and email folder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple seeking cheap room
Friends
Arcata, CA
Mar 13, 2014

Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nick1s1h
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 11, 2014

good deal

Room on the first floor was comfortable except that all the noise in the hallway could easily be heard. Otherwise, the stay was very comfortable, and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Madame Matisse

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JT4Min
Single
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2014

Decent economy choice

If you get a room rate under $100, this is a decent value. Rooms are small but nice. If you think this hotel is in "Hollywood" think again. It's a good 4-5 miles east of the Walk of Fame area and is not in a very nice neighborhood. Parking is $20 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NeshaBoo
Couples
fresno,ca
Mar 5, 2014

my hollywood hotel experiences

My overall stay was nice, my only problem was one of the guys at the front. Desk was absolutely rude for no apparent reason at all... but the rooms are nice i love the patio the beds are a little. Small but pther than that its a comfortable low key. Spot with private. Parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Its a place near by called "The kitchen" great food another little hide out in expensive comfortable delicious wine options and great customer service

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meeiu
Family
uk
Feb 24, 2014

meeiu

Good hotel very.pleasant hotel reception staff and.fantastic breakfast. Would.recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJ Texan
Friends
Houston, TX
Feb 17, 2014

Excellent hotel, excellent location!

The rooms were very spacious and the balcony overlooked downtown LA. The hotel is located very close to a few great landmarks to see in LA such as the Observatory and Hollywood Walk of Fame. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The breakfast in the morning was AMAZING! Overall this is an excellent place to stay for anyone making their first trip out to LA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top