$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
565 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOTEL of HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS provides affordable luxury in the heart of Hollywood. This 100% NONSMOKING hotel is near all major Los Angeles attractions and Hollywood studios and clubs. THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOTEL of HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS multi-lingual staff serves a varied and colorful international clientele. Recipient of the prestigious Three Diamond AAA Award 1995-2008 from the American Automobile Association, this hotel has been recognized for demonstrating high levels of excellence in every area.

THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS centrally located with West Hollywood and Beverly Hills to the west, Burbank, Pasadena and Glendale to the northeast, Downtown Los Angeles to the south, and North Hollywood and Studio City to the north. THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS is on Vermont Ave between Santa Monica, and Sunset and Hollywood Boulevards. The hotel is just south of Los Feliz Village which boasts trendy restaurants, shops, and cinema, and is also just south of Griffith Park, Griffith Observatory and the Greek Theatre. Kaiser Permanente Hospital, Children's Hospital of Los Angeles, Hollywood Presbyterian Hospital, and Ronald McDonald House are all nearby. Church of Scientology and Self Realization Fellowship also have facilities near the hotel.

At THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS Studies all rooms feature a coffeemaker, free Wireless HSIA, microwave and refrigerator and the Sealy Posturepedic Plush Bed. Bathrooms are all equipped with the curved shower with Moen Revolution Showerhead, and Citrus Ginger Spa Amenities. In room safes are available in some rooms.

Our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am - 10:30am in the Dining Room. Please note: The restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner. However, there are many fine restaurants within walking distance or short drive. 1160 Bar and Lounge open from 6:00pm - 11:00pm. Hours can vary for special events.

The sparkling New Pool Area with surrounding garden, is typically open year-round, however hours of operation or closures vary according to season, weather or maintenance. Please contact the hotel directly for updates on the pool area status.

39 channel Satellite TV, with Encore, CNN, FOX NEWS, Classic ESPN, CNBC and more. Hundreds of Pay Per View movies, music, WEB TV, HBO & Showtime series selections are available for a fee.

There is also 5000 square feet of Beautiful Banquet and Meeting space with A/V equipment and internet access. The central courtyard is adorned by a meditative atrium garden and fountain which is also available for wedding ceremonies. Concierge and Guideline Tours desk on Site, Fitness center with Nautilus Fitness Machines and Free Weights, Property Accepts Pets (Dogs and Cats only) under 50 pounds, Daily pet fee = $35.00 per day per pet, Pets must be leashed at all times in public spaces. Ample gated parking. Parking fee is $22.00 per day for guest cars; $29 per day for guest trucks and/or RV's and $59 per day for buses. Half a block from the Metro Redline Subway station. City buses stop at the corner in front of the hotel.

121 beautifully appointed guest rooms with one or two queen size beds, Six suites with King Size Beds, All beds are Sealy Posturepedic Plush, Coffeemaker in all rooms, All guest rooms are designated as Non Smoking, Smoking is permitted on guest room outdoor balconies, Wired and/or Wireless High Speed Internet access available in all Guest Rooms, WebTV is also available in Guest Rooms for a fee, Refrigerators and Microwaves in all rooms, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet for all guests, Hundreds of Hollywood latest movies available via the On Command Pay-per-view movie system, On Command also provides WebTV Music Workout Videos HBO and Showtime series and much more.

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (565)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
565 out of 565
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duke Cameron Crazie
Santa Barbara, CA
Nov 26, 2013

An Oldie but Goodie

The neighborhood on Santa Monica Blvd is a little dumpy but the hotel itself is AOK. The desk clerk was pleasant and helpful, the room was very comfortable with plenty of space, and the breakfast was good. We were there for a brief overnight stay: we attended an all-day event in Hollywood and left to drive home early the next morning, so we did no exploring around the hotel. We were surprised there was a $20 parking fee for our overnight stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It's convenient to anything in the Hollywood area.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cspencer Styles
Marina Del Rey
Nov 18, 2013

Misleading

I was really mislead about where i was staying based off the website. I even attempted to leave when i got there but since i prepurchased i was obgliated to stay with no refund. The website said that there was a heated pool, steam room sauna, hot tub and non of those were available. My intent was to reach out to the company the next morning but I was sick all weekend and just stayed in the bed. I am hoping that I can get a credit for another room or some type of compensation for my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Grumpy
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2013

Meh.

The hotel was near where I had to be, but not really in a location that most tourists would choose. It was clean enough, but I didn't like the dim hall lights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VincentG
warsaw
Oct 20, 2013

Scam! Beware of onCommand Movies!

My fiancee and I were zapping the channels on the TV when the screen displayed a message like "Movie onCommand accepted ." We immediately alerted the reception which told us we just enabled the viewing of two films costing 10 dollars each ! We explained that we did not want to have these movies on command , that it was a mistake and it was stated anywhere that we could activate such films. The reception desk officer did not want to hear us and did not want to give me my credit card back if I do not pay ! So I protested that this procedure was not legal, but he showed me the invoice were it was written down and in small print that we committed to pay any further charges without the possibility of complaint or protest u_u A bad experience that marred our WE ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamecorn
Business
Long beach ca
Oct 19, 2013

Great getaway

Pool is great, location is great, staff was friendly , parking is awesome! Good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
balangzi1973
Shanghai
Oct 14, 2013

Th worst hotel that I ever stayed in

One guest changed his plan and did not showed up and his wife showed up. the room was booked under My credit card. But the reception staff did not allow the lady guest check in even though we showed a lot evidence documents. The reception staff asked me to call agent to change the booking. It took me 2-3 hours to call agent and agent called the reption. But the recption still did not allow us to check in waiting for confirmation email from agent. In the following days, we stayed in another 6 hotels, no one asked us to do this. I highly recommend you remove this hotel from your service list. If you need more details, give me an email address, I will provide details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kellsey
NYC
Sep 30, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

The room was spacious and relatively clean. The staffs were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gazadder
Halifax UK
Sep 8, 2013

good central location

Excellent stay. Only negative is the expense of parking. May well be on a level of what other hotels charge in Hollywood however from UK we are not used to being charged for parking when a customer of hotel. They said they could only offer a discount if we had booked direct with hotel. But as stopping there for 7 nights a discount on parking would have been nice anyway. Also one night we went to the hotel bar where it was comedy night. we only stayed for one drink as the comedy was very poor taste and amateur at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristineF
San Bruno, Ca
Jul 29, 2013

Expected a little more

The room was nice size, but the toilet ran all night, bathroom needs some work, and looked like they were half way done mounting the tv to the wall, then just stopped. Breakfast was good, but hard to find a clean table to eat at, we ended up clearing dishes ourselves. Thought it was a little pricey for what we actually got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
absolutislove
Singapore
Jul 17, 2013

LA for cheap!

Our room was HUGE for four people. It really made our stay very comfortable because we had a ton of luggage. The hotel is a short 3 minute walk away from the Metro. The breakfast provided was quite yummy. Centrally located near key landmarks like Hollywood. Beds were comfortable as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top