$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
567 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (567)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
567 out of 567
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking up your old address
Colorado
Jul 30, 2009

Very good!

Two of my older children flew in from Hawaii and stayed at the hotel with us. The accommodations at the hotel were prefect (rooms that were side-by-side). However, the only draw back to our stay at the hotel was that we are avid coffee drinkers. The coffee provided in our rooms was insufficient and we were not permitted, by the staff to take coffee from breakfast area. We asked for more coffee to be put in ours rooms, but it was a hit or miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester Hills, MI
Jul 25, 2009

Near is a relative term

The hotel discription states near Universal and the front desk said the hotel was the closest Ramada to universal. Our GPS said the hotel was 7.1 miles from universal. It's all relative: Chicago is near Detroit relative to L.A. The moon is near the eath relative to the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester Hills, MI
Jul 25, 2009

Near is a relative term

The hotel discription states near Universal and the front desk said the hotel was the closest Ramada to universal. Our GPS said the hotel was 7.1 miles from universal. It's all relative: Chicago is near Detroit relative to L.A. The moon is near the eath relative to the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfield CT
Jul 23, 2009

Dissapointing

The location was great as was the pool but I resented the $16.50/day parking fee and $10/day internet access fee. I don't like being nickle and dimed. At breakfast I reached for fruit and it was plastic. Canned peaches and pears in California right in the middle of the peach season! Inexcusable. Breakfast choices (inedible eggs and sausage, Wonder bread and fruit loops) were the same every day. The Coffee tasted like dishwater. Only the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfield CT
Jul 23, 2009

Dissapointing

The location was great as was the pool but I resented the $16.50/day parking fee and $10/day internet access fee. I don't like being nickle and dimed. At breakfast I reached for fruit and it was plastic. Canned peaches and pears in California right in the middle of the peach season! Inexcusable. Breakfast choices (inedible eggs and sausage, Wonder bread and fruit loops) were the same every day. The Coffee tasted like dishwater. Only the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Room 123 occupant
Stockton, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and Breakfast Buffet

Certain rooms, like ours on the first floor, are roomy while others are small. Our daughters' first room (on the 3rd flr) was small and smelled wet, moldy. When the front desk staff was notified, staff said they would be given another room the next day at 11 am as soon as check outs made one available on our floor. Their new room was nicer like ours, but not as roomy (average size). Unlike other reviews the front desk staff were courteous and professional. But then again we requested, asked and expressed our appreciation in a regular, polite voice; while others walked up and demanded immediate service/answers/directions in loud voices (lots of international clients, but the ugly ones were good old USA born). I used to live in LA and know about finding parking and security. So the $16.50 per day fee was okay with me given the convenience and security of parking staff. The disabled doors in the back open very quickly and could knock you down if you approach to fast and too close. There isn't too much room between you and the doors before the sensor opens the doors. We really liked the the breakfast buffet but even though there are two elevators only one takes you to the restaurant (no signs that we saw). We took the wrong one that took us to the laundry room floor. The Supervisor was kind enough to escort us all the way to the right elevator and to the breakfast room. There were six in our party so the free breakfast buffet saved us alot of money (6 at $8 for food, $2 for drinks and $2 for tip, totals at least $72 per day), not to mention the time in the car looking for a restaurant, place to park, and then waiting in line to be seated. Yes we would stay there again and request the same room (or on the first floor) again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Room 123 occupant
Stockton, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and Breakfast Buffet

Certain rooms, like ours on the first floor, are roomy while others are small. Our daughters' first room (on the 3rd flr) was small and smelled wet, moldy. When the front desk staff was notified, staff said they would be given another room the next day at 11 am as soon as check outs made one available on our floor. Their new room was nicer like ours, but not as roomy (average size). Unlike other reviews the front desk staff were courteous and professional. But then again we requested, asked and expressed our appreciation in a regular, polite voice; while others walked up and demanded immediate service/answers/directions in loud voices (lots of international clients, but the ugly ones were good old USA born). I used to live in LA and know about finding parking and security. So the $16.50 per day fee was okay with me given the convenience and security of parking staff. The disabled doors in the back open very quickly and could knock you down if you approach to fast and too close. There isn't too much room between you and the doors before the sensor opens the doors. We really liked the the breakfast buffet but even though there are two elevators only one takes you to the restaurant (no signs that we saw). We took the wrong one that took us to the laundry room floor. The Supervisor was kind enough to escort us all the way to the right elevator and to the breakfast room. There were six in our party so the free breakfast buffet saved us alot of money (6 at $8 for food, $2 for drinks and $2 for tip, totals at least $72 per day), not to mention the time in the car looking for a restaurant, place to park, and then waiting in line to be seated. Yes we would stay there again and request the same room (or on the first floor) again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Jul 19, 2009

Great Location

This is a good, economy class hotel in a great location of Hollywood. Clean and good service. A full breakfast, very, very safe, decent pool and on site parking for only $16.00/night. Within walking distance to the metro and many good restaurants in the area. We have stayed here twice and would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short, easy drive to Dodger Stadium.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Jul 19, 2009

Great Location

This is a good, economy class hotel in a great location of Hollywood. Clean and good service. A full breakfast, very, very safe, decent pool and on site parking for only $16.00/night. Within walking distance to the metro and many good restaurants in the area. We have stayed here twice and would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short, easy drive to Dodger Stadium.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Restless Employee
Business
Tempe, AZ
Jul 15, 2009

Less then great

The staff member that checked us in was not very accommodating to say the least. My staff member that booked this hotel through Orbitz was not aware of the if it's not in the reservation when you booked it through Orbitz you can't ask for it rule. But when we arrived the unfriendly staff member asked me for my reaservation info and went over the room with me and said "you you have reserved 2 rooms with one queen bed each" and I said "oh, i'm sorry we need 2 queen beds in each room please this is a buisness trip" she replied you need to specify that type of request when booking through Orbitz and the best we can do is offer you a roll away bed "cot" and that there was a $15 charge per cot. I told her could she please check the reservations and see if there was anything available with two beds in each room. She replied we are booked and would not even check there reservations. Needless to say we paid for the cots and had a very restless 3 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top