$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 15, 2007

great location

two minutes walking distance to Metro rail station and DASH/metro bus station, as well as Rite Aid, Subway and several food express with different tastes. It is very suitable for someone who prefer public transportation rather than driving by his/herself on the horrible LA road. BTW, its breakfast is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

near hollywood

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 2, 2007

OK FOR HOLLYWOOD

THE HOTEL WAS WELL LOCATED. A LOT OF CONSTRUCTION WAS GOING ON IN THE REAR OF THE HOTEL. WHEN WE CHECKED IN THEY PROVIDED US WITH THE LAST AVAILABLE ROOM, WHICH WAS RIGHT NEXT TO THE FRONT LOBY AREA. THE ROOM LOOKED AS IF IT USE TO BE A STORAGE CLOSET! THE SLIDDING DOOR WENT OUT TO THE FRONT ENTRANCE WHERE PEOPLE WERE COMING AND GOING. I COULD HERE THE SALSA NIGHT MUSIC GOING ON DOWNSTAIRS IN THE NIGHT CLUB FROM MY ROOM. THIS WAS VERY UPSETTING DUE TO THE FACT WE JUST ARRIVED FROM A LONG DRIVE. THE STAFF WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE US ANOTHER ROOM DUE TO BEING SOLD OUT. WORD OF ADVISE DO NOT STAY ON THE FIRST FLOOR, CALL AHEAD AND INSURE THAT. THE OTHER THREE NIGHTS THEY MOVED US TO THE THIRD FLOOR WHERE IT WAS MUTCH QUIETER AND RELAXING. IF YOUR PLANNING ON SWIMMING, THE POOL IS OUTSIDE NEXT TO THE PARKING LOT. THE POOL IS NOT HEATED AND KIND OF OUT OF DATE. OH, THE TOILETS ARE VERY, VERY, VERY, LOW FLOW TOILETS SO IF YOU USE MORE THAN 2 SQUARES IT MAY GET CLOGGED. WE HAD TO PLUNGER OUR TOILET SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE STAY. YOU HAVE TO CALL THE PLUNGER GUY TO COME TO YOUR ROOM. YES I SAID PLUNGER GUY CUZ THAT ALL HE DOES, BECAUSE THE TOILETS GET CLOGGED SO OFTEN. ITS A DECENT HOTEL IF YOU DONT PLAN ON STAYING IN THE ROOM FOR MORE THAN JUST SLEEPING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Sep 24, 2007

Great to rest your Head

My stay at The Ramada Hollywood was a relaxing one. The rooms could be a bit larger however it was comfortable. The roomservice was timely and quick. I was able to keep myself entertained with TV most of the time. The hotel was located off of Sunset, which was the idea location in relation to the event I was there for. It was not to busy and it was quiet. My overall stay was a very pleasant one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Right across the street they give fabulous massages, you should check them out. The name is Thai Massage....

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 18, 2007

Hotel under renovation

My stay at this hotel left a bit to be desired. There was a renovation going on, the elevator to the breakfast was not working, and the shower head hit me in the neck. (I'm tall, but not that tall.) Also, the parking fee seemed a bit excessive since the close spaces were taken up by reovation equiment, and there were few cars in the parking lot. On checkout, the staff asked how my stay was, and when I expressed a bit of dissatisfaction they did refund the parking fee. There are plenty of other hotels in the area, and on my next stay I will try one of them. I was just not comfortable here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 13, 2007

Great value

Stayed overnight to be on the Dr. Phil Show the next morning. Location is great; close to the studios (Universal and Paramount), spacious room with refrigerator, great breakfast buffet. Would definately stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Melrose for shopping and restaurants

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Estanislao
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 10, 2007

Worst service we have ...

Worst service we have ever had in a long long time and we travel a lot. Housekeeping service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a nice nightclub called Vanguard like 5 minutes away driving.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevon
Business
New York, NY
Sep 1, 2007

Convienience For you Buck

It was a pretty clean and neat hotel, the meditation fountain area is very relaxing and private. For those without cars, LA rail system is only a block or two away, and that takes you right into hollywood and many other areas of LA. A nice place to stay if your in LA on a budget. Not the greatest of neighborhoods, but if your from new york, it's no big deal. Besides....Palm trees make everything look and feel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway resturant....as well as the actual subway, are really really close. So are many other wholesome mexican food places.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Decent place to stay

The Ramada was quite comfortable and well located, although the room faced a busy street. No pool at this hotel but a small fitness room was well knept. Hotel staff were helpful making the stay worht the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Good jazz club (Catalina's) nearby.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 2, 2007

Pleasant Surprise

I appreciated that the shower was actually a shower and not a tub/shower combo. The shower head was higher that average and didn't have to bend over to wash hair. Offstreet parking was a breeze and close to rooms. Our rooms were quiet and had little outside noise even on second floor. Would stay again when in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaurant delivered late dinner to us in lounge. Affordable and tasted good.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jul 31, 2007

Great Location

The Ramada Hollywood was nice. It seemed that the Fitness center was under renovation and the pool was a little smaller than I anticipated. Luckily there is so much to do, you dont have much time for swimming. Continental breakfast was less than par, but the staff was very friendly. The location is great for recreation and shopping. Just a short drive, and you will be on Hollywood Blvd, Sunset Blvd, or Santa Monica Blvd. They all have great attractions like the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Dining, and Shopping. If you dont want to spend a lot on a holtel, it is a very nice place. Refrigerator and microwave in each room, decent TV, comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are interested in the nightlife, I would suggest checking out the bars just up the street. It's only a short walk to the Vermont and the Dresden. Try Palermos for dinner (very friendly and reasonably priced)

Back to menu Return to top