$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Hollywood
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 13, 2009

Ramada Hollywood

This hotel is NOT real close to Universal. One of the receptionists was smug and rude. The rest were good. Falsely advertised free HBO on your website. Nice pool. Decent workout room. Not the best location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of restaurants up and down Sunset and Hollywood Blvds. Not too much within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doremi
Business
Sharon, MA
May 13, 2009

Wonderful family reunion

Very adequate hotel. Towels pretty thick. Only bathroom floor and room rug could have been cleaner. Breakfast good, but the SAME every single day, quite plentiful though. Great location - near our son's apt. Easy to get to all freeways & to all major attractions and venues. Wonderful restaurants of many types close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of things to do that are either free or relatively inexpensive. Lots of food stands - don't always have to have "sit-down" meals in fancy restaurants.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mama Schaef
Business
Temple, NH
May 11, 2009

Not worth the price

Key card had to be reissued every time I used it. Room was old, bed not comfortable. "Free" breakfast was awful! Powdered coffee creamer, canned fruit (this is California, Right???), could not take coffee back to room. Expensive daily parking fees. No towels at pool. Pool was across the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants on Hillhurst St. were fantastic! Lots to choose from all Great!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Halle, Germany
May 9, 2009

Solid hotel

Good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PHoenix,Az
May 8, 2009

Blah to Hollywood

Well I did'nt like the hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. The rooms where small and the location was not good at all. The price for parking was outrageous $17 a night and the staff was very unfriendly. They have no internet available to guest and if u need it it cost extra and its not cheap. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are very out dated. The shower/bathtub is like a foot then the bathroom floor so when you get u are about 3-4 inches from the ceiling. The room had a sour odor to it and the remote control to the tv worked half the time. I would not stay there again or recommend the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If u are first ime visitor to LA/ Hollywood I would recommend a GPS becuz its a very confusing city.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wonderlady
Business
Mexico
May 2, 2009

Comfortable and good location

parking rate is very expensive, otherwise the bed and pillows are fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galloway New Jersy
Apr 24, 2009

fun getaway for a fair price

When we arrived the room that they gave us was not ready, this was at 4pm, checkout is I think at noon. So they gave us another room which was beautiful. The bathroom has no locks, therefore a maid walked into the bathroom which was occoupied and there was a do not distub sign on bathroom door, kinda made the husband mad. The staff was friendly even though half of them didn't speak or understand english.Also the elevator took forever and you could not walk the stairs which I think was stupid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palermo's italian restaurant the veal was the best I have ever tasted!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
set
Business
Michigan
Apr 22, 2009

Hotel is not near anything everything wa

The hotel staff were unfriendly and unapproachable the first day they didn't even clean our room I had to ask someone to come and clean it at 6:00pm the front desk girls did not know directions to the Kodak Theatre one of the main attractions she was rude and short with me this hotel is not near anything everything is at least a 10 minute drive or like us a 30.00 taxi ride the hotel was nicely decorated and clean but that is it.Breakfast was included we stayed at this hotel 4 nights and the food was exactly the same everyday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lodi,calif.
Apr 22, 2009

great place had a great time

we had a great time the gentleman that serves your happy hour was really a nice a guy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston ,SC
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, great staff

The location was great, the staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was good, and I had a wonderful room the first two nights that I stayed there. I had to add a third night, and was moved to another room on the third floor. It was like night and day. The room was old and in need of repair. The A/C did not work and the noise on the street outside was deafening. I am not sure if the hotel is in the process of renovating rooms, but I would recommend that you ask for a renovated room when booking. All in all, this was an excellent hotel. The staff was very helpful and the overall experience was a good one. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel staff will help you with any attractions that you want to book and they will make arrangements for you to be picked up at the hotel. Very nice.

Back to menu Return to top