$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
349 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (349)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
349 out of 349
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

I will definately come back

I really liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly and a free continental breakfast was better than what i thought. The location is perfect for thos who are planning to visit Hollywood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Hollywood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glen Allen
Oct 14, 2008

My review of Ramada Hollywood near Universal Studios

Nice room - the Internet connect gave me difficulty but it was my first try with a new laptop and was probably me. Great beds - very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 14, 2008

excellent and comfortable hotel

Staff were very helpful and friendly. The amenities were excellent, fitness room had high standard of equipment although limited. Pool area was very nice and clean. Location was not an exccellent area but was good to have a metro station on the door step to enable easy access to torist areas. Lack of good restaurants in the immediate area so you need to eat whilst you are out. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable, lacked adequate comfortable seating in room or for balcony. Good choice of TV facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond
Sep 26, 2008

Use Caution

The card key did not work most of the time.The security guard locked the entrance gate to the parking lot and we had to drive around to the front gate to get in which is the exit gate. It was late at nite. They really should do something with their card key system because it was very inconvenient. Even the key to the hot tub room did not work which was a sauna room. We still enjoyed the time away from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

interesting street reall close to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth
Sep 18, 2008

Tourist Friendly

From the time we arrived, we felt comfortable and welcomed. The staff was ever so helpful in arranging transportaion help and we were thankful for the guidence for tours of the area. The lady at the desk, was very personable and pleasant. I would reccomend this hotel for anyone. The rooms were very clean and quiet..GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Sep 17, 2008

Not Bad

The Ramada Hollywood was in a good location and the price for the time considering the emmys were about to happen was reasonable, however, there was a mustyness in the room that was undeniable after the second day. The room was newly renovated and in the beginning we were very satisfied but the shower was not for anyone who is claustrophobic. It is enclosed by a partial wall and there is no tub. Also, the vent seemed to have black dust or mold around it. After taking a closer look the second night of our stay. Good for a two night stay anything longer don't do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach
Sep 12, 2008

Nice hotel, a pleasant surprise

Check-in was a breeze. They have a large secure parking lot for $15 a day, which is, again, cheap for Hollywood. The hotel and the room were kept very clean and well-maintained, the staff was friendly, there was a sufficient amount of electrical outlets, and the other guests appeared to be respectable business people and tourists. I would have loved wi-fi in the rooms, but at that price I won't complain. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This section of Vermont Ave is not the greatest but it's not unsafe either. Koreatown, Los Feliz, Silver Lake and a short drive away. There is shopping and dining within walking distance, along with several large hospitals (Children's, Kaiser Permanente, Hollywood Presbyterian) and there's a subway stop practically across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 11, 2008

Good option if not picky about location

I stayed here due to the relatively inexpensive cost per night. It's worth checking out if you need a decent hotel in LA but exact location is not a key factor (it is not close to Universal Studios or any other particular LA location for that matter). Overall, a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rogersville, AL
Jul 14, 2008

My review of Ramada Hollywood near Universal Studios

This is an older hotel very close between many of the Hollywood sites and downtown LA. The price was very favorable. You could shop for less pricey but it would be hard to find. The room was generally clean and the bath area was old style (early 80's) but well maintained. The parking was 15 a day and had an attendant full-time. It is a gated area offering security and needed it. The neighborhood had a few eating establishments (Mexican food) two and three blocks south and was very good neighborhood places. I do not recommend spending time strolling the streets after dark. Although I did not see and problems occurring. LA traffic is bad on most freeways on most every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is a great place to stay for the price and close commute to Griffith Observatory, Hollywood and Sunset Boulevards and theaters (movies and plays). My wife and I felt save and many European visitors stayed in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

My Experience

The Hotel standard was awful, hence why I checked out after one night. The room was damp, old and in great need of some TLC. The fllor was soaking wet, a leak from somewhere.The name of the hotel does not match the location. I stay in hotels all the time as I am a flight attendant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 24, 2008

Hollywood Hotel NO GO!

The Ramada Hollywood Near Universal is a no go. First of all it does not live up to Ramada standards in any way. Our room was filthy at check in. Dust everywhere, holes in the carpet and a thick gray layer of consolidated dust on the baseboards in the bathroom. The shower head was filthy, covered in gray and reddish what I assume was mold. I know cleaning staffs have very little time to clean rooms but this was ridiculous. The towels were stained and several had holes in them. The balcony was connected to the room next doors balcony and our security separator was a piece of wooden lattice. The cleaning staff did not vacuum once during our five day stay! It seemed to me they just took the towels and put new ones, adjusted the bedcovers and left. I know I have high standards but I really felt unsafe and unclean. The man at the drug store down the street told my husband he better be careful out there. This is really sad because geographically this hotel could not have been more perfect for our travel plans. I know it seems like a deal but trust me you get what you pay for and that is NO DEAL!!!! Oh I almost forgot, our room had no closet/coat rack just a tiny little armoire with space for the ironing board. There really were no restaurants within walking distance and the kicker they don't tell you until you check in is that you can have animals at this hotel AND they charge $15 a day to park. The parking lot is NOT SECURE. There is an attendant during the day but at night NOBODY was there. Ridiculous. This place should not be a Ramada for long. AVOID!!!!!! Oh I almost forgot this hotel is also under construction and the heating/cooling system is a joke! There was a space heater and a fan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top