$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
564 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (564)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
564 out of 564
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shivam
Chicago
Dec 24, 2013

Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but after review and all I decided to go with this hotel (Finger Crossed), and believe me nothing better than this can happen with me in Hotel selection. Really nice and helping staff, clean rooms, and perfect location (Near to metro station, as we were depends upon public transportation) , too good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cafarlofos2
Mexico City, Mexico
Dec 16, 2013

Great Hotel, Recommended

very recommended this hotel; the price is good, they have personal that speaks also spanish; at the restaurant, we were very satisfied with the services of Oralia and Elvira, they cook for us each morning and it was a good way to start our day. The only thing to be perfect is the Parking; take care because is very expensive, it's not included and you will have to pay for each day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hot breakfast is included and the service from the kitchen is great!! Ask for Oralia or Elvira, both are very kind!!!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhotogCrystal
Business
Fresno, Ca
Dec 11, 2013

Fine for the price

This hotel was fine for the price. It isn't in the nest area, but still feels safe with the gated parking. The room central air was broken so they had a stand alone heater in the room that didn't produce much heat, even on full blast. The toilet ran constantly, and loudly. The tv did not work. All that said, the hotel and room looked exactly like the photographs, which is why I was surprised about some of the challenges. I am hoping my experience was an anomaly. Also, breakfast was really good. For the price, despite the challenges, I would give the hotel a second chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeanoandJayde
Hollywood
Dec 10, 2013

Convenient hotel

Good experience, just a few beefs: the room was very small, probably the smallest hotel room I've ever had. Had to pay $22 per day for parking, and was only parked there during the evening hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don Actor
Business
Fredericksburg Virginia
Dec 10, 2013

Great Hotel with great ammenities

when I arrived at the hotel Gisel with Guest services could not have been more professional as were all of the staff during my stay.was very impressed with the hotel amenities from the delicious breakfast bar everyday with an omelette bar which I was not expecting. Bar in the hotel, beautiful courtyard outside of my room with a very comfortable bed, the room was keep very clean through my stay and I especially liked the clean marble floors. Also was pleased with the fitness room which had everything I needed during my stay and also the private sauna was very clean. Also the hotel has a very beautiful pool with nice greenery surrounding it. Felt tucked away in this hotel very quiet and great location. Would absolutely stay at this hotel again.Great Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Central location to the best of LA

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katherine in Virginia
Business
Northern Virginia
Dec 9, 2013

Charming hotel, very nice staff

This hotel is charming, clean and comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but nicely decorated with excellent amenities. I loved the balcony overlooking the beautiful courtyard. The breakfast, which was included, was terrific - just about the best I've ever had in a hotel. It is a bit noisy, however. Sound carries from the hallways into the rooms, and it is near a hospital, so there are sirens and an ocassional helicopter. The neighborhood is not the best (poor, not dangerous) but it is very convenient to Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krystal martin
Business
los angeles, ca
Dec 9, 2013

good stay

Good experience..didn't wanna leave. Breakfast was great. And staff was awesome.. eooms are beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maninbox
Mountain View, California
Dec 2, 2013

Good

very good hotel, good stuff, but price is lil bit higher!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duke Cameron Crazie
Santa Barbara, CA
Nov 26, 2013

An Oldie but Goodie

The neighborhood on Santa Monica Blvd is a little dumpy but the hotel itself is AOK. The desk clerk was pleasant and helpful, the room was very comfortable with plenty of space, and the breakfast was good. We were there for a brief overnight stay: we attended an all-day event in Hollywood and left to drive home early the next morning, so we did no exploring around the hotel. We were surprised there was a $20 parking fee for our overnight stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It's convenient to anything in the Hollywood area.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cspencer Styles
Marina Del Rey
Nov 18, 2013

Misleading

I was really mislead about where i was staying based off the website. I even attempted to leave when i got there but since i prepurchased i was obgliated to stay with no refund. The website said that there was a heated pool, steam room sauna, hot tub and non of those were available. My intent was to reach out to the company the next morning but I was sick all weekend and just stayed in the bed. I am hoping that I can get a credit for another room or some type of compensation for my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top