$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slawek
Business
Wallington, NJ
Jul 7, 2009

5 nights stay in Ramada Hollywood 7/4/09

My wife and me we went for our friends wedding, and used this hotel for stay. Very good location, nice continental breakfast, friendly staff, very very slow elevators, need to wait for it so long, parking fee is $16.50 per night!!!, at least for hotel guests it schould be free. I paid just for park spot over $80 for my 5 days stay... not fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Sunset Blv and Hollywood Blv, and easy access to rt 101.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HOLYWOOD
Business
TORONTO,CA
Jul 3, 2009

GOOD HOTEL

GOOD BECAUSE WE DECIDED TO RENT A CAR THE SECOND DAY AND IT WAS IN THE HOTEL WHERE WE COULD RENT THE CAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Jun 28, 2009

Nice Stay for the money

Great location. Not far from univeral, hollywood and the freeway to get to disneyland and whatever else we needed. Rooms where small but the price is just right. You had to pay for parking but believe me when i tell you you have to pay EVERYWHERE for parking. The breakfast was basic eggs, sausage, fruit, bread and waffles. You get sick of waffles after 3 days. Go to "cafe griddle" for lunch or breakfast you will not be dissapointed. HUge sandwhiches and breakfast. I will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cafe griddle for lunch. Hard rock at universal. Pinks for a hotdog And Coffee bean for coffee

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
onlysh
Business
omaha ne
Jun 18, 2009

It sucks!!!!

stink, small room, PARKING $17 so not worth trying to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom O
Business
Middletown, NY
Jun 15, 2009

Really not near Univerisal Studios

Good continental breakfast in the remodeled restaurant. Location wasn't bad, but not really near Universal Studios. Relatively clean - we found a pizza box in back of our refrigerator. Bubbles in rugs - no attention to detail. Glad I got a good rate from Orbitz - not worth it if you had to pay full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat continental breakfast here - great waffles

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hip Thrifter
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 15, 2009

Nice Stay In LA

This Ramada was a good value for the money. The rooms were relatively spacious and the location was centralized. It wasn't the best experience but I would stay at this hotel again no question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Race Babe
Business
Dresher, PA
Jun 15, 2009

The Ramada is no where near Universal

The location for good for me as I was visiting Los Angeles. If I were interested in Universal studios or Disney, this is not a good location. This hotel is in a residential neighborhood, trendy neighborhood, but not near any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed LA traveller
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2009

Ramada Hollywood is all talk

When we booked the Ramada online, it sounded as if you could see the Hollywood sign from the hotel, which you absolutely cannot. When being dropped off by a cab driver from downtown Hollywood Blvd, the driver asked, "Why are you staying here?" He also told us not to walk outside at night where our hotel was located. The location is terrible. It is in the ghetto and there is a lot of gang violence and prostitution going on in that neighborhood according to many people we talked to. The service was terrible - they forgot to clean our room two days in a row and then did not comp us at all for forgetting. The parking fee is outrageous at sixteen dollars a night to park your car. The single queen bedroom is so small that when you open the bathroom door, you pull the curtains to the side. The only thing good about this place is that it was a place to stay during the night. I do not recommend anyone to stay here. Stay somewhere nice, like in Pasadena. Do your research, because we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed LA traveller
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2009

Ramada Hollywood is all talk

When we booked the Ramada online, it sounded as if you could see the Hollywood sign from the hotel, which you absolutely cannot. When being dropped off by a cab driver from downtown Hollywood Blvd, the driver asked, "Why are you staying here?" He also told us not to walk outside at night where our hotel was located. The location is terrible. It is in the ghetto and there is a lot of gang violence and prostitution going on in that neighborhood according to many people we talked to. The service was terrible - they forgot to clean our room two days in a row and then did not comp us at all for forgetting. The parking fee is outrageous at sixteen dollars a night to park your car. The single queen bedroom is so small that when you open the bathroom door, you pull the curtains to the side. The only thing good about this place is that it was a place to stay during the night. I do not recommend anyone to stay here. Stay somewhere nice, like in Pasadena. Do your research, because we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelvin kobbs
Business
on a plane
Jun 10, 2009

ghetto

not within walking distance from anything fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top