$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evan of Corvallis
Business
Corvallis, OR
Aug 10, 2009

good value & location, expensive parking

Great value and location very near the Pantages Theater (where we saw Fiddler on the Rooff). Free parking for registered guests would be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evan of Corvallis
Business
Corvallis, OR
Aug 10, 2009

good value & location, expensive parking

Great value and location very near the Pantages Theater (where we saw Fiddler on the Rooff). Free parking for registered guests would be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supportive Sisters
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 2, 2009

Affordable location

My sister and I were in LA for a family matter. So the Orbit deal seemed perfect. They had an excellant breakfast, friendly staff and it was a great location. The red line train was a block and half away. However, when we got there and they saw that we had booked our travel with orbit for 7 days and had requested a double, I heard the front desk clerks speaking and the man saying that they had to change our room because we had booked it on Orbit. It sort of was we got too much of a good deal so they had to put us in a single room. The room was probably the smallest they had. It was still pretty, nice and clean but small. And there seem to be a smell that would linger in the room because of the ventilation on occasion. It wasn't overbearing but when you first came into the room you couldn't help but smell it. But than I guess you got use to it. Other than it was a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking up your old address
Business
Colorado
Jul 30, 2009

Very good!

Two of my older children flew in from Hawaii and stayed at the hotel with us. The accommodations at the hotel were prefect (rooms that were side-by-side). However, the only draw back to our stay at the hotel was that we are avid coffee drinkers. The coffee provided in our rooms was insufficient and we were not permitted, by the staff to take coffee from breakfast area. We asked for more coffee to be put in ours rooms, but it was a hit or miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking up your old address
Business
Colorado
Jul 30, 2009

Very good!

Two of my older children flew in from Hawaii and stayed at the hotel with us. The accommodations at the hotel were prefect (rooms that were side-by-side). However, the only draw back to our stay at the hotel was that we are avid coffee drinkers. The coffee provided in our rooms was insufficient and we were not permitted, by the staff to take coffee from breakfast area. We asked for more coffee to be put in ours rooms, but it was a hit or miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester Hills, MI
Jul 25, 2009

Near is a relative term

The hotel discription states near Universal and the front desk said the hotel was the closest Ramada to universal. Our GPS said the hotel was 7.1 miles from universal. It's all relative: Chicago is near Detroit relative to L.A. The moon is near the eath relative to the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield CT
Jul 23, 2009

Dissapointing

The location was great as was the pool but I resented the $16.50/day parking fee and $10/day internet access fee. I don't like being nickle and dimed. At breakfast I reached for fruit and it was plastic. Canned peaches and pears in California right in the middle of the peach season! Inexcusable. Breakfast choices (inedible eggs and sausage, Wonder bread and fruit loops) were the same every day. The Coffee tasted like dishwater. Only the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Room 123 occupant
Business
Stockton, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and Breakfast Buffet

Certain rooms, like ours on the first floor, are roomy while others are small. Our daughters' first room (on the 3rd flr) was small and smelled wet, moldy. When the front desk staff was notified, staff said they would be given another room the next day at 11 am as soon as check outs made one available on our floor. Their new room was nicer like ours, but not as roomy (average size). Unlike other reviews the front desk staff were courteous and professional. But then again we requested, asked and expressed our appreciation in a regular, polite voice; while others walked up and demanded immediate service/answers/directions in loud voices (lots of international clients, but the ugly ones were good old USA born). I used to live in LA and know about finding parking and security. So the $16.50 per day fee was okay with me given the convenience and security of parking staff. The disabled doors in the back open very quickly and could knock you down if you approach to fast and too close. There isn't too much room between you and the doors before the sensor opens the doors. We really liked the the breakfast buffet but even though there are two elevators only one takes you to the restaurant (no signs that we saw). We took the wrong one that took us to the laundry room floor. The Supervisor was kind enough to escort us all the way to the right elevator and to the breakfast room. There were six in our party so the free breakfast buffet saved us alot of money (6 at $8 for food, $2 for drinks and $2 for tip, totals at least $72 per day), not to mention the time in the car looking for a restaurant, place to park, and then waiting in line to be seated. Yes we would stay there again and request the same room (or on the first floor) again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 19, 2009

Great Location

This is a good, economy class hotel in a great location of Hollywood. Clean and good service. A full breakfast, very, very safe, decent pool and on site parking for only $16.00/night. Within walking distance to the metro and many good restaurants in the area. We have stayed here twice and would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short, easy drive to Dodger Stadium.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Restless Employee
Business
Tempe, AZ
Jul 15, 2009

Less then great

The staff member that checked us in was not very accommodating to say the least. My staff member that booked this hotel through Orbitz was not aware of the if it's not in the reservation when you booked it through Orbitz you can't ask for it rule. But when we arrived the unfriendly staff member asked me for my reaservation info and went over the room with me and said "you you have reserved 2 rooms with one queen bed each" and I said "oh, i'm sorry we need 2 queen beds in each room please this is a buisness trip" she replied you need to specify that type of request when booking through Orbitz and the best we can do is offer you a roll away bed "cot" and that there was a $15 charge per cot. I told her could she please check the reservations and see if there was anything available with two beds in each room. She replied we are booked and would not even check there reservations. Needless to say we paid for the cots and had a very restless 3 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top