$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
564 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (564)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
564 out of 564
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spartanburg, SC
Nov 14, 2009

Nice Hotel

Visited son's school and rental options. It cost $16.95 per day to park our car at this hotel!!! Outrageous!!! The maid kept forgetting to give us washcloths. Privacy sign was not allowed to be put on our door to prevent maid entry (to protect our belongings). They said they would enter no matter what. It wasn't the best looking room (decorated cold) ... but was clean. The bathroom was very small ... no room to put our toiletries on the counter. Very small television. People were very friendly and hospitable. The hallways were very upscale. They were very good about wake-up calls. Continental Breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Look for parking under buildings on side streets. There are no parking areas along main streets ... and if you do find an occasional parking lot, it costs at least $15.00!! If you park under buildings, you can usually get your parking ticket validated and only pay $2.00 for parking.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spartanburg, SC
Nov 14, 2009

Nice Hotel

Visited son's school and rental options. It cost $16.95 per day to park our car at this hotel!!! Outrageous!!! The maid kept forgetting to give us washcloths. Privacy sign was not allowed to be put on our door to prevent maid entry (to protect our belongings). They said they would enter no matter what. It wasn't the best looking room (decorated cold) ... but was clean. The bathroom was very small ... no room to put our toiletries on the counter. Very small television. People were very friendly and hospitable. The hallways were very upscale. They were very good about wake-up calls. Continental Breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Look for parking under buildings on side streets. There are no parking areas along main streets ... and if you do find an occasional parking lot, it costs at least $15.00!! If you park under buildings, you can usually get your parking ticket validated and only pay $2.00 for parking.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. A. Visitor
NJ
Nov 9, 2009

Adequate accomdations; dicey neigborhood

The hotel was clean, free breakfast good, secure parking area, but in a dicey part of L.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. A. Visitor
NJ
Nov 9, 2009

Adequate accomdations; dicey neigborhood

The hotel was clean, free breakfast good, secure parking area, but in a dicey part of L.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AdamCali
San Francisco, CA
Nov 2, 2009

Unfortunate experience

Two of us were staying at the Ramada Inn for the weekend. We checked in on Friday and the person at the front desk was extremely friendly and polite and displayed extremely great service. I would have given the place a five based on him but it got much worse. We arrived in the room and it was right on the main strip so our room was directly outside the main street and was very loud. In fact, it was so loud that I had trouble sleeping and I can sleep through most things. They offer complimentary breakfast from 7:00-10:30. We woke up around nine and headed down around ten. I had forgotten my wallet so I went back to the room to grab it and then my friend went ahead of me. I was not sure if the restaurant was downstairs or up so I asked the man at the front desk if the restaurant was downstairs. He was extremely rude and told me that I could not go downstairs and that they had cut the elevator off because they were no longer serving breakfast. It was 10:10 at this point. I told him my friend was down there and I needed to get downstairs. He kept telling me I could not go downstairs and the elevator woudl not take me. So I went ahead and got on the elevator and sure enough, it did work. I guess all the people from the upper level were going down too. After breakfast, I was so dissatisfied with the service that I went to complain and the man was so rude when I complained, I checked out early. No questions about my stay, was I satisfied. Nothing. I would search around if you are staying in town in the area, not worth the hassle of dealing with bad service on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gina vacation bargin hunter
Salinas,Ca
Nov 2, 2009

Not what I expected

The hotel is close to Hollywood and Sunset Blvd for good shopping but the hotel had ants in my room, slow service when called not in the best neighborhood for families with children but hotel is quiet. Parking is ridiculously high priced to park in the hotel parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning is high priced

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gina vacation bargin hunter
Salinas,Ca
Nov 2, 2009

Not what I expected

The hotel is close to Hollywood and Sunset Blvd for good shopping but the hotel had ants in my room, slow service when called not in the best neighborhood for families with children but hotel is quiet. Parking is ridiculously high priced to park in the hotel parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning is high priced

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AdamCali
San Francisco, CA
Nov 2, 2009

Unfortunate experience

Two of us were staying at the Ramada Inn for the weekend. We checked in on Friday and the person at the front desk was extremely friendly and polite and displayed extremely great service. I would have given the place a five based on him but it got much worse. We arrived in the room and it was right on the main strip so our room was directly outside the main street and was very loud. In fact, it was so loud that I had trouble sleeping and I can sleep through most things. They offer complimentary breakfast from 7:00-10:30. We woke up around nine and headed down around ten. I had forgotten my wallet so I went back to the room to grab it and then my friend went ahead of me. I was not sure if the restaurant was downstairs or up so I asked the man at the front desk if the restaurant was downstairs. He was extremely rude and told me that I could not go downstairs and that they had cut the elevator off because they were no longer serving breakfast. It was 10:10 at this point. I told him my friend was down there and I needed to get downstairs. He kept telling me I could not go downstairs and the elevator woudl not take me. So I went ahead and got on the elevator and sure enough, it did work. I guess all the people from the upper level were going down too. After breakfast, I was so dissatisfied with the service that I went to complain and the man was so rude when I complained, I checked out early. No questions about my stay, was I satisfied. Nothing. I would search around if you are staying in town in the area, not worth the hassle of dealing with bad service on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
JERSEY CITY, NJ
Oct 29, 2009

BEST DEAL FOR THE LOCATION

EXCEPT FOR THE FIRST DAY WHEN ONE OF OUR ROOMS WAS OVERBOOKED AND WE HAD TO TRANSFER TO THE RQSTD. BOOKED ROOM THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE STAY WAS PLEASANT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
JERSEY CITY, NJ
Oct 29, 2009

BEST DEAL FOR THE LOCATION

EXCEPT FOR THE FIRST DAY WHEN ONE OF OUR ROOMS WAS OVERBOOKED AND WE HAD TO TRANSFER TO THE RQSTD. BOOKED ROOM THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE STAY WAS PLEASANT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top