$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom O
Business
Middletown, NY
Jun 15, 2009

Really not near Univerisal Studios

Good continental breakfast in the remodeled restaurant. Location wasn't bad, but not really near Universal Studios. Relatively clean - we found a pizza box in back of our refrigerator. Bubbles in rugs - no attention to detail. Glad I got a good rate from Orbitz - not worth it if you had to pay full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat continental breakfast here - great waffles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hip Thrifter
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 15, 2009

Nice Stay In LA

This Ramada was a good value for the money. The rooms were relatively spacious and the location was centralized. It wasn't the best experience but I would stay at this hotel again no question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Race Babe
Business
Dresher, PA
Jun 15, 2009

The Ramada is no where near Universal

The location for good for me as I was visiting Los Angeles. If I were interested in Universal studios or Disney, this is not a good location. This hotel is in a residential neighborhood, trendy neighborhood, but not near any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed LA traveller
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2009

Ramada Hollywood is all talk

When we booked the Ramada online, it sounded as if you could see the Hollywood sign from the hotel, which you absolutely cannot. When being dropped off by a cab driver from downtown Hollywood Blvd, the driver asked, "Why are you staying here?" He also told us not to walk outside at night where our hotel was located. The location is terrible. It is in the ghetto and there is a lot of gang violence and prostitution going on in that neighborhood according to many people we talked to. The service was terrible - they forgot to clean our room two days in a row and then did not comp us at all for forgetting. The parking fee is outrageous at sixteen dollars a night to park your car. The single queen bedroom is so small that when you open the bathroom door, you pull the curtains to the side. The only thing good about this place is that it was a place to stay during the night. I do not recommend anyone to stay here. Stay somewhere nice, like in Pasadena. Do your research, because we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelvin kobbs
Business
on a plane
Jun 10, 2009

ghetto

not within walking distance from anything fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 9, 2009

Review Ramada Hollywood

No problems very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, N.V.
Jun 8, 2009

Good affordable price

I like the stay. it was quite and cline. the only thing that i didnt like was that they charge for the Parking $14.00 and i considered that was wrong. in Vegas Hotel parkings are free and part off the Hotel frto the guests. other then that breakfest was verry good and i enjoy staying the night. and its close to almost all the atractions, hospitals in case off emergency. i will recomended in a fiture to a friends and family to stay in Ramada Hotel. thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fl
Jun 3, 2009

old and carpets smell very bad

the hotel is very bad, and had to pay for parking for $15 a day , is a hotel so it should include the parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 3, 2009

The good the bad and the really ugly!!

It was close to all of the sights that we wanted to see. Upon check in they only have one place for a car to park to check in and we were parked in it and a driver from the shuttle company drove up and started honking his horn for us to move our car. Well until you are checked in there is no where to park your car. No one came out to tell the driver to lay off the horn until we go into an ultercation with the driver. Then we find out that it costs $16.50 per day to park there when we are registered as a guest. All the girl up at the desk said well it is cheaper then some other places. Well, I know for a fact that last summer we stayed at the Best Western Hollywood and they did not charge for parking. When you are paying that much to stay in a hotel, parking should be included or at the very least should be a min cost not a premium. The rooms were very small, in fact when we put out our suit cases to unpacke there wasn't room to walk around. The bathroom ceiling has mold on it and stood so high that my husband couldn't even stand under the shower head to get wet. We were there with another couple and they ran out or shampoo, it was not replenished every day. The continental breakfast was good but boring, there was no change to it. when you are staying for 4-5 days it would be nice to have a little change even if it is from sausage to bacon or real fruit instead of canned peaches and pears. I will say that on the first day the day manager on sight did come and talk to my husband and said that the driver of the shuttle was out of line and that they would be talking to the company and for our inconvience he did not charge us for parking. That is what he told us on that day, however, we will see when our bill comes in. Alot of things happened that shouldn't have. I will definelty think twice about another trip to LA if that is the way the industry is there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
missmary59
Business
surprise,arizona
May 31, 2009

fair

room was not ready when we got in. they were late. they did put us in another room but it was set up for handy cap. no bath tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top