$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tubeguy
Business
Palo Alto
Mar 3, 2009

Good location, price.

We went to LA to see the Kodak Theatre and Graumanns, which is only a few miles away, but traffic means this is a half hours drive. Once you get there, there is really cheap parking, and a lot to see. The noise was the kids in the next room, which is a random event, but maybe more frequent at a bargain hotel... The parking was nice, a secure lot with an attendant, required in this somewhat diverse neighborhood. Breakfast very nice, good selection and quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Mann theatre and try the Johnny Rocket burgers nearby.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Mar 3, 2009

location is good and price is affordable

went on red bus tour, covers a lot of Hollywood sites, and Hollywood homes and historic hollywood places. If you smoke, it might be a problem. Continental breakfast is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

you can take local buses to favorite destinations.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xander's aunt
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 27, 2009

Great value

VERY quiet! VERY firm mattress! GREAT value! Pretty clean. Very reasonable daily parking fee. Hairdryer & frig in room with shared balcony. Great water pressure with hot water. VERY close to Children's Hospital & another hospital, so quite convenient if family had patient there. Downsides were EXTREMELY strong smell of disinfectant/bleach in room, lobby, etc. Could not adjust themostat in room as it was considered cold in LA so heat stayed on. Very basic breakfast buffet options & understaffed but was included with room fee. Some peeling wallpaper in areas. Still could NOT beat the price!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted couple
Business
Ontario, OR
Feb 24, 2009

What a huge misrepresentation!

This place is totally misrepresented! The so-called internet access is slower than dial-up and part of the time was non-existent. The electronic door key didn't work part of the time. The bathroom has absolutely no counter space. And don't forget to factor in the $16.50 per night to park your car in the lot! The hallway carpets should have been replaced a decade ago. Someone is going to catch their toe on the open holes and end up with a lawsuit against this dump. The manager was a total jerk when there were problems. Frankly, I wouldn't stay there again unless it was the only place in all of Los Angeles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find a hotel that doesn't charge an arm to park your car at night!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Quinta, CA
Feb 24, 2009

Overall, not bad

There is a lounge in the hotel, but it was never open, even after the front desk told us twice that it would be open. One person told us 6:00 pm and another told us 7:00 pm. If you don't know what accomodations that you have.....find out! Room was clean and close to the theater. Front desk could have been more knowledgable about area resturants and how to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles california
Feb 23, 2009

great until the weekend came along

The hotel was fine until about early friday morning our toilet overflowed while we were all sleeping. They came in to clean and didn't even clean it up properly so our carpet in our room was wet for the next 2 days. The bathroom smelt moldy because they have no fans for when you take a shower. They had extra charges on parking!!! 15 dollars a day extra. That adds up! I had purchased a postcard from the little gift shop they have there and brought it up to the front desk to see if they could send it off to my fiance and we still have not received it 2 weeks later. The elevators are very slow, trust me you are better off taking the stairs. Saturday night was our last night there and we were on the 2nd of 3 floors and they had a band playing downstairs in the ballroom and it was soo loud that we were up until what time in the morning trying to get to sleep. It was rediculous. I realize its the weekend but its a hotel not a club. other than that the hotel itself was nice and the breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Novato
Jan 6, 2009

We had to make things happen

The first room assigned to us was uncleaned. The maid told us this when we started to enter the room. We had to go back to the front desk to get a different room. The second room was neat and clean. When I asked to use the computer which was in the lobby (for customer use) it was out of order. The desk clerk told me to go across the street and pay for computer use. Borderline rude by the tone and by the words.When we asked about tourist activities in the area, even though they were not busy, they just pointed us to the bochure rack and told us to look for what we wanted. We were charged $16.40 per night to park. We both have stayed at Ramada Hotels all over The United States. This is the first time either of us has been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington
Jan 6, 2009

My review of Ramada Hollywood near Universal Studios

The Ramada had a great breakfast. Clean rooms, good value. Had to pay extra for parking. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 4, 2009

Ramada @ Vermont

I didnt have acess to an ac unit. The wall unit only blew HOT air. Which meant I had to open the sliding door during HOT showers. I would have felt more secure if I didnt have to share a balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cute Taco shop 24 hrs...hmm hmm good.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 29, 2008

Value

The Ramada Hollywood was the best hotel value that I have seen in many years. We normally stay at a more upscale hotel, but because of the location and value we will continue to use the Ramada. The room was clean and well maintained, the hotel complimentary breakfast was very good and made the cost of each night closer to $50.00 rather than the $66.00 we paid. Two of our sons live in the area so the location saved us time and the need for a rental car. The fitness room was ver small but had good equipment, the weather was not appropriate for pool usage, so we did not see the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top