$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aria 0862
Business
Hollywood
Dec 24, 2012

average place to stay

it was pretty ordinary and i will say the free breakfast is ordinary and i don't see special food to eat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeighBee
Business
Fresno, California
Jan 2, 2013

Average experience

Great location and friendly staff, but the air conditioning in the room was not good. Despite being cold outside, our room was extremely warm. We tried turning the thermostat down, but even that did not help much. Had we not been on the first floor facing Vermont Avenue, we would have opened our window. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenna11
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 13, 2013

Great place to get away for a nice weekend.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. Staff is friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ezdraz
Business
Nogales, Sonora, Mexico
Jan 16, 2013

Average Hotel

I was a nice stay but what I really hated is that you have to pay 20 dlls to use the parking lot...after all the hotel is kind of old and paying about a 100 a night the least you would expect is free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt Rob
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 12, 2013

Great location, good food, uncomfortable beds

This location was great for our stay (we had a conference at LA City College). Neighborhood is a little rough, I didn't mind paying for gated parking. The breakfast was outstanding, made to order eggs and waffles by friendly chefs. Biggest complaint was the bed: the mattress was hard and pillows were all lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leonia
Business
Glendale, California
Feb 11, 2013

ok

I paid average $$ for a queen bed room + $20 parking fee per a day. If I need to pay $$$, I would not choose. Location is good. but, bathroom walls were dirty with lots of black mold spots and mattress springs made creaking sound. Shared balcony with next rooms seems little weird. My room was in a corner so I can see a next room when its curtain was open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
htarllovlrac
Business
Vermount Avenue
Mar 16, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

The staff was very friendly and took care of all our needs. The breakfest was more then we expected. Located near the Metro gave us easy travel connections to many parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Metro near by to dowtown LA. Buy one day card and travel as much as you like.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garyswan
Business
Las vegad, nevada
Jul 16, 2013

Great breakfast and clean room

The breakfast was the best I have had at any complimentary hotel. The chefs were very nice The room was clean but not cozy due to wooden floors the bead was very nice and clean and comfortable. The desk service told us not to use the vending machines and the pool was closed at 8:00 pm That was the down side. We had to go out of the hotel for pop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doug and Anthony
Business
Visalia, CA
Jun 9, 2013

Just an Average Experience

I wouldn't say that I was impressed. We stayed at another similar rated hotel in the same vicinity only a month earlier and I would say the prior experience was more positive. This is an older upgraded hotel done tastefully. The pic of the hotel is from the gated parking lot in the rear. Don't expect to see this pic from the street. Parking is extra and you're not going to want to leave your car outside on the street. Room had tile flooring, no carpet. I prefer carpet. Bathroom is entirely Ecoflow regulated, so don't expect a blastful shower. Bathroom remodel could have been better, and shower head was at chest level. The price is on the higher side considering the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hollywood Blvd, Universal Studios, Pantages Theatre, Griffith Park and several great shopping and entertainment venues are within 15-20 minutes driving distance of the hotel.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristineF
Business
San Bruno, Ca
Jul 29, 2013

Expected a little more

The room was nice size, but the toilet ran all night, bathroom needs some work, and looked like they were half way done mounting the tv to the wall, then just stopped. Breakfast was good, but hard to find a clean table to eat at, we ended up clearing dishes ourselves. Thought it was a little pricey for what we actually got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top