$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

I will definately come back

I really liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly and a free continental breakfast was better than what i thought. The location is perfect for thos who are planning to visit Hollywood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Hollywood

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, Ontario
Oct 25, 2009

Very happy with our stay

This hotel is perfect for the savvy traveler. Our room was quiet, spotless, fairly new and we found having a fridge, an in-room safe and a microwave very handy. Toiletries were nice. Not having to worry about breakfast was a bonus. The only downside is that the hotel is not in the nicest neighbourhood. That said, it is close to two subway stations and many bus stops. May of LA's attractions are easily reachable from the metro stations. Overall a worthwhile stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brentwood, ca
Oct 22, 2009

Hmmmm

For the price it was acceptable. But they were doing construction near our room until about 10 PM which I found very disrespectful. Then had the joy of waking up around 7 to more construction. There was equipment piled all over the hallways including in front of our door as well. There's a $15 parking fee per day which I can understand. The staff wasn't very informative or friendly and didn't seem to be too enthusiastic or helpful about any questions I had. For the price it was reasonable for the location, but not worth the amount we paid. I would not recomend it or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ant Man
Business
Midwest
Oct 20, 2009

Dive, dive, dive

You walk out the door, you go left your in a scary area, you go right go a couple blocks not bad. The place is a nightmare. I woke up my 1st night, with ants crawling up my arm, then moved to a room where they were doing consturction on the room above me, then to the 3rd floor room with a shared balconey.In my 3 moves i lost a shoe. They couldnt find it, how do you not find a shoe? The free breakfast is a joke, you expect these breakfasts but the eggs, coffee they didnt even do that well. The eggs were these cookie cutter round discs and the toast was just wonder bread. it wasnt a zero, but I ate a great breakfast at a mexican diner for 5 dollars and that was much better then their breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go north or left out the fron door about a mile (we walked it) and you will find some great restraunts and nive bars.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jdfletcher
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 20, 2009

Beautiful!

over all this was a great experience. the hotel is beautiful and the staff is very courteous. The area is a little dicey but easy access to the freeways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 19, 2009

Great location; close to everything

We were close to everything....very handy. Breakfast was free and good. One of our two rooms had air conditioning issues. It was fixed the second night, but the refrigerator broke down after that. Staff was very friendly and helped us with our Metro plans to Universal studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Oct 14, 2009

A Great Place to Stay in Hollywood

Don't know why, but we were given a "handicapped" room. When we took our showers, water was everywhere in the bathroom floor. Had to use all the towels to mop up the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WaR
Business
Fremont
Oct 14, 2009

good hotel

very nice hotel good location good breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

sizzlers subway bowling vons etc etc!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
Oct 13, 2009

average

It is not near Universal studio but you can get the subway 5 min walk to Vermont Stanta Monica subway station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aquarium is too expensive
Business
Coachella, CA
Oct 10, 2009

Horrible experience

I went here for my hollywood trip, they gave us a room. we walked in the bed cheats had stains and the carpet was real black very soiled, and the rug was loose, i could literally move it with my feet. i went to change rooms, they did, but never apologized for the inconvenience. staff was kinda rude, the second room was ok, but the area rug was still kinda dirty, i wasent to comfortable sleeping there. they charge 16.50 for parking!! way to much for a hotel like this. the only good thing was the free breakfast & free wifi. other than that, proly the worst hotel i have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

hollywood boulevard is real close

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Oct 8, 2009

?

I believe when you make a reservetion thru an agency, they treat you diffently, and they give you the worst room available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top