$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PHoenix,Az
May 8, 2009

Blah to Hollywood

Well I did'nt like the hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. The rooms where small and the location was not good at all. The price for parking was outrageous $17 a night and the staff was very unfriendly. They have no internet available to guest and if u need it it cost extra and its not cheap. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are very out dated. The shower/bathtub is like a foot then the bathroom floor so when you get u are about 3-4 inches from the ceiling. The room had a sour odor to it and the remote control to the tv worked half the time. I would not stay there again or recommend the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If u are first ime visitor to LA/ Hollywood I would recommend a GPS becuz its a very confusing city.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wonderlady
Business
Mexico
May 2, 2009

Comfortable and good location

parking rate is very expensive, otherwise the bed and pillows are fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galloway New Jersy
Apr 24, 2009

fun getaway for a fair price

When we arrived the room that they gave us was not ready, this was at 4pm, checkout is I think at noon. So they gave us another room which was beautiful. The bathroom has no locks, therefore a maid walked into the bathroom which was occoupied and there was a do not distub sign on bathroom door, kinda made the husband mad. The staff was friendly even though half of them didn't speak or understand english.Also the elevator took forever and you could not walk the stairs which I think was stupid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palermo's italian restaurant the veal was the best I have ever tasted!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
set
Business
Michigan
Apr 22, 2009

Hotel is not near anything everything wa

The hotel staff were unfriendly and unapproachable the first day they didn't even clean our room I had to ask someone to come and clean it at 6:00pm the front desk girls did not know directions to the Kodak Theatre one of the main attractions she was rude and short with me this hotel is not near anything everything is at least a 10 minute drive or like us a 30.00 taxi ride the hotel was nicely decorated and clean but that is it.Breakfast was included we stayed at this hotel 4 nights and the food was exactly the same everyday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lodi,calif.
Apr 22, 2009

great place had a great time

we had a great time the gentleman that serves your happy hour was really a nice a guy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston ,SC
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, great staff

The location was great, the staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was good, and I had a wonderful room the first two nights that I stayed there. I had to add a third night, and was moved to another room on the third floor. It was like night and day. The room was old and in need of repair. The A/C did not work and the noise on the street outside was deafening. I am not sure if the hotel is in the process of renovating rooms, but I would recommend that you ask for a renovated room when booking. All in all, this was an excellent hotel. The staff was very helpful and the overall experience was a good one. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel staff will help you with any attractions that you want to book and they will make arrangements for you to be picked up at the hotel. Very nice.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HOUSTON,TX.
Apr 22, 2009

great central location

it was a great hotel for the price and it was located in a great central location! the subway was great and close to the hotel and tons of attractions were located nearby.... i would defintely stay here again if i ever go back to los angeles! oh and by the way, the breakfast in the hotel was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

you can either take the bus or use the subway to get you to all of the major attractions such as the hollywood walk of fame, mann's chinese theathre, universal theathers, etc... everything in is the area!!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JAGJR
Business
SAN DIEGO
Apr 22, 2009

It was nice

The carpets in the rooms and hallways are in bad shape. And TV recepion was bad. The location was good. Also you have to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of fast food places.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LAS VEGAS, NV
Mar 11, 2009

super location

At checking in on my first visit to the hotel some of the front desk agents seem to need more customer service skills...Overall my husband & i liked the hotel rite away...Great location..Very clean on the outside as it is on the inside..Breakfast hrs. just right..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T_Pi
Business
Hayward, CA
Mar 6, 2009

in the middle of everything

Staying at Ramada Inn is not that bad. It is near all major LA attractions so it does save a lot of driving time. BUT they do charge for in-hotel parking every single night, which makes the cheap hotel price bump up to a not so cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top