$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flo to Go With
Business
Portland, CT
Aug 16, 2009

A little glitzy, but great ammenities

Very comfortable room (nice beds), great breakfast, small pool. Convenient location-wise to get trains to tourist attractions (Grumman Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, etc.) Guest parking limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Didn't get to attend, but there is live entertainment at the hotel, as well as full-scale dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hungry Travelers
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 15, 2009

Nice Hotel in Rough Location

We were concerned about the safety of the location and were uncomfortable walking in the area. There are no nearby restaurants within sight. While the parking area is gated for security, it cost an extra $15 a day. The room was large, nicely decorated, clean, and everything worked. The price was reasonable for Los Angeles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
darthalvaro
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Not all that impressive

We stayed there for Valentine's Day and we had a terrible experince with the noise. The downstairs ballroom had a party until 2 am. The walls were too think and we could hear the party. I asked the front desk for a room change but the hotel was at capacity. It was not a magical night, that's for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ramada- hollywood hotel 11650 vermont
Aug 14, 2009

great place to stay

very clean hotel and friendly staff..... great rooms ...good location ...near metro line

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

metro line local shops are geat as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CA Travelers
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 13, 2009

The good, the bad, and the ugly

We booked this hotel with our friends. We each had our own rooms and they were extremely small. After getting back to our rooms one day our friends walked into their room that housekeeping had cleaned only to find a pair of balled up boxer shorts and a toothbrush that did not belong to them. All the employees did was fill out and incident report, no apologies. ALSO, we unknowingly found out parking was $16.00 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Metuchen New Jersey
Aug 12, 2009

Great location for the price

The location of this hotel is great, however I hated having to pay for parking while I spend a week there we had booked a king size bed they gave us a queen size.They did apologize but they could not help. Breakfast is great.Staff very friendly. Would use it again while visiting my son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Hollywood walk of fame, and other local L.A. attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NWA
Aug 11, 2009

Okay...I guess...

Had my privacy tag out so no one would enter my room...roomservice did anyway and decided they would clean up my laundry as well...this resulted in a missing T-shirt, wouldn't be that big a deal except the room tag is there for a reason, and this T-shirt was of special importance. No one seemed to care when I asked about it either...no attempt was made to rectify the situation AT ALL. The room itself was decent, dated, ant trail, but okay. Breakfast was good. Fitness center was excellent. Didn't swim. I would consider staying here again, if I ever have to go back to God forsaken LA...located next to subway which will take you anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway travel rules.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evan of Corvallis
Business
Corvallis, OR
Aug 10, 2009

good value & location, expensive parking

Great value and location very near the Pantages Theater (where we saw Fiddler on the Rooff). Free parking for registered guests would be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supportive Sisters
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 2, 2009

Affordable location

My sister and I were in LA for a family matter. So the Orbit deal seemed perfect. They had an excellant breakfast, friendly staff and it was a great location. The red line train was a block and half away. However, when we got there and they saw that we had booked our travel with orbit for 7 days and had requested a double, I heard the front desk clerks speaking and the man saying that they had to change our room because we had booked it on Orbit. It sort of was we got too much of a good deal so they had to put us in a single room. The room was probably the smallest they had. It was still pretty, nice and clean but small. And there seem to be a smell that would linger in the room because of the ventilation on occasion. It wasn't overbearing but when you first came into the room you couldn't help but smell it. But than I guess you got use to it. Other than it was a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking up your old address
Business
Colorado
Jul 30, 2009

Very good!

Two of my older children flew in from Hawaii and stayed at the hotel with us. The accommodations at the hotel were prefect (rooms that were side-by-side). However, the only draw back to our stay at the hotel was that we are avid coffee drinkers. The coffee provided in our rooms was insufficient and we were not permitted, by the staff to take coffee from breakfast area. We asked for more coffee to be put in ours rooms, but it was a hit or miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top