$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doug and Anthony
Business
Visalia, CA
Jun 9, 2013

Just an Average Experience

I wouldn't say that I was impressed. We stayed at another similar rated hotel in the same vicinity only a month earlier and I would say the prior experience was more positive. This is an older upgraded hotel done tastefully. The pic of the hotel is from the gated parking lot in the rear. Don't expect to see this pic from the street. Parking is extra and you're not going to want to leave your car outside on the street. Room had tile flooring, no carpet. I prefer carpet. Bathroom is entirely Ecoflow regulated, so don't expect a blastful shower. Bathroom remodel could have been better, and shower head was at chest level. The price is on the higher side considering the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hollywood Blvd, Universal Studios, Pantages Theatre, Griffith Park and several great shopping and entertainment venues are within 15-20 minutes driving distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristineF
Business
San Bruno, Ca
Jul 29, 2013

Expected a little more

The room was nice size, but the toilet ran all night, bathroom needs some work, and looked like they were half way done mounting the tv to the wall, then just stopped. Breakfast was good, but hard to find a clean table to eat at, we ended up clearing dishes ourselves. Thought it was a little pricey for what we actually got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kellsey
Business
NYC
Sep 30, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

The room was spacious and relatively clean. The staffs were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Grumpy
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2013

Meh.

The hotel was near where I had to be, but not really in a location that most tourists would choose. It was clean enough, but I didn't like the dim hall lights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duke Cameron Crazie
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Nov 26, 2013

An Oldie but Goodie

The neighborhood on Santa Monica Blvd is a little dumpy but the hotel itself is AOK. The desk clerk was pleasant and helpful, the room was very comfortable with plenty of space, and the breakfast was good. We were there for a brief overnight stay: we attended an all-day event in Hollywood and left to drive home early the next morning, so we did no exploring around the hotel. We were surprised there was a $20 parking fee for our overnight stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It's convenient to anything in the Hollywood area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhotogCrystal
Business
Fresno, Ca
Dec 11, 2013

Fine for the price

This hotel was fine for the price. It isn't in the nest area, but still feels safe with the gated parking. The room central air was broken so they had a stand alone heater in the room that didn't produce much heat, even on full blast. The toilet ran constantly, and loudly. The tv did not work. All that said, the hotel and room looked exactly like the photographs, which is why I was surprised about some of the challenges. I am hoping my experience was an anomaly. Also, breakfast was really good. For the price, despite the challenges, I would give the hotel a second chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeanoandJayde
Business
Hollywood
Dec 10, 2013

Convenient hotel

Good experience, just a few beefs: the room was very small, probably the smallest hotel room I've ever had. Had to pay $22 per day for parking, and was only parked there during the evening hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
no nickname thanks.
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 14, 2011

Hollywood Hotel has no wifi

The hotel was clean, quiet, comfortable and centrally located. The price was right and the linens were nice, cotton duvets and not shiny polyester bedspreads. The wifi was very very slow however, practically useless for anything other than checking email and not even very good at that. Technical support was no help either. I would probably recommend, but with the caveat that you will get no business done while there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jdfletcher
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 20, 2009

Beautiful!

over all this was a great experience. the hotel is beautiful and the staff is very courteous. The area is a little dicey but easy access to the freeways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GingerNinja
Business
U.K
Jan 20, 2011

Good hotel

A good clean room and a nice hotel. Although it says Hollywood its not. However the Metro is on the same block so its a couple of stops to Hollywood and 2 more to Universal. Nothing around the hotel at night and I was disappointed to see that the hotel bar was closed during my stay as going out local isn't an option

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top