$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
one night guest
Business
san diego, ca
Sep 14, 2009

Nothing great to Say

Nothing was great about our stay. The location isn't near Universal which is part of this Ramada's name. We did not get the room we paid for. The rooms are small and the amenities are dated. The pillows are not comfy. There were ants. We were there for one night and the house keeping staff woke us by walking in without even so much as a knock. I would have expected them to wait to clean our room after check out, so this shows me it's not managed well. The food was not very good, except the waffles. And I would expect free parking for guests, if I knew I'd have to pay for parking I wouldn't have chosen this hotel because for the money it's not worth it with parking. And they explain it's clearly stated on the orbitz website in the smallest fine print ever that they charge for parking. Overall I would give this place 2 stars instead of 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Female Exec
Business
New York
Aug 29, 2009

Staff is cold. Breakfastroom is creepy.

Checking in late, and the desk clerk asked me if I'd like someone to park my car and take my bags upstairs. In each case, I responded yes. He laughed delightedly and told me that there wasn't anyone to help me. This was an unseemly "joke." Next day I asked for a room transfer. Room was suffocatingly small. The unfriendly desk mgr. escorted me to a room on the same very large floor - one whole block, but said I would have to wait until later. I packed my bags, and took them to the new room. The maid let me in, as she saw me earlier, while speaking Spanish loudly with the young female desk mgr. Actually, the maid was very friendly, as she was delighted to be able to communicate in Spanish. (I gathered that none of them spoke English.) Hot and tired, with 90 degree weather in L.AI went back down to the desk to get a room key. The young female mgr. sternly stated that she would "prefer" I go back upstairs to get the bags and bring them downstairs. I said it was ridiculous since the bags were already in the room! Checking out the next day, I first took all bags to the car and returned the key to the front desk. I had called down earlier to tell them to print out the bill, but they had not done so. Another young female deskclerk demanded my credit card again. After some argument (making me late for my meeting), I said to use the one they already stamped when I came in. Someone needs to rethink the policies of this hotel and hire nicer, friendlier staff who who do not bark orders to guests. The young man on desk duty the evening of 8/27/09 was the only friendly person who had the cordial tone that you expect from hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver,Canada
Aug 28, 2009

Ramada Hollywood

hotel was clean. The breakfast could be little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazygirl16
Business
Norfolk, VA
Aug 25, 2009

Good location to see Hollywood

We enjoyed the hotel, but were unhappy to pay to park especially when the parking lot was not fully enclosed. The continental breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rtlntmre
Business
Salinas, CA.
Aug 22, 2009

Great place to stay!

This Hotel is even better than the reviews! We stayed there for a Hollywood Bowl show, and it was a great choice! Would stay there anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Late night Mexican food, street easy and good fun!Short walk, opposite direction of Wendy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
germany
Aug 18, 2009

Very central to everywhere

quiet big room. but didn't like the air cleaner/conditioner in the bath room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flo to Go With
Business
Portland, CT
Aug 16, 2009

A little glitzy, but great ammenities

Very comfortable room (nice beds), great breakfast, small pool. Convenient location-wise to get trains to tourist attractions (Grumman Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, etc.) Guest parking limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Didn't get to attend, but there is live entertainment at the hotel, as well as full-scale dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hungry Travelers
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 15, 2009

Nice Hotel in Rough Location

We were concerned about the safety of the location and were uncomfortable walking in the area. There are no nearby restaurants within sight. While the parking area is gated for security, it cost an extra $15 a day. The room was large, nicely decorated, clean, and everything worked. The price was reasonable for Los Angeles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
darthalvaro
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Not all that impressive

We stayed there for Valentine's Day and we had a terrible experince with the noise. The downstairs ballroom had a party until 2 am. The walls were too think and we could hear the party. I asked the front desk for a room change but the hotel was at capacity. It was not a magical night, that's for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ramada- hollywood hotel 11650 vermont
Aug 14, 2009

great place to stay

very clean hotel and friendly staff..... great rooms ...good location ...near metro line

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

metro line local shops are geat as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top