$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Race Babe
Family
Dresher, PA
Jun 15, 2009

The Ramada is no where near Universal

The location for good for me as I was visiting Los Angeles. If I were interested in Universal studios or Disney, this is not a good location. This hotel is in a residential neighborhood, trendy neighborhood, but not near any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelvin kobbs
Friends
on a plane
Jun 10, 2009

ghetto

not within walking distance from anything fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Wisconsin
Jun 9, 2009

Review Ramada Hollywood

No problems very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jun 3, 2009

The good the bad and the really ugly!!

It was close to all of the sights that we wanted to see. Upon check in they only have one place for a car to park to check in and we were parked in it and a driver from the shuttle company drove up and started honking his horn for us to move our car. Well until you are checked in there is no where to park your car. No one came out to tell the driver to lay off the horn until we go into an ultercation with the driver. Then we find out that it costs $16.50 per day to park there when we are registered as a guest. All the girl up at the desk said well it is cheaper then some other places. Well, I know for a fact that last summer we stayed at the Best Western Hollywood and they did not charge for parking. When you are paying that much to stay in a hotel, parking should be included or at the very least should be a min cost not a premium. The rooms were very small, in fact when we put out our suit cases to unpacke there wasn't room to walk around. The bathroom ceiling has mold on it and stood so high that my husband couldn't even stand under the shower head to get wet. We were there with another couple and they ran out or shampoo, it was not replenished every day. The continental breakfast was good but boring, there was no change to it. when you are staying for 4-5 days it would be nice to have a little change even if it is from sausage to bacon or real fruit instead of canned peaches and pears. I will say that on the first day the day manager on sight did come and talk to my husband and said that the driver of the shuttle was out of line and that they would be talking to the company and for our inconvience he did not charge us for parking. That is what he told us on that day, however, we will see when our bill comes in. Alot of things happened that shouldn't have. I will definelty think twice about another trip to LA if that is the way the industry is there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
missmary59
Family
surprise,arizona
May 31, 2009

fair

room was not ready when we got in. they were late. they did put us in another room but it was set up for handy cap. no bath tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Florida
May 15, 2009

Nice people

The front desk staff is extremely helpful. The breakfast is good (included)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Hollywood
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
May 13, 2009

Ramada Hollywood

This hotel is NOT real close to Universal. One of the receptionists was smug and rude. The rest were good. Falsely advertised free HBO on your website. Nice pool. Decent workout room. Not the best location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of restaurants up and down Sunset and Hollywood Blvds. Not too much within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doremi
Family
Sharon, MA
May 13, 2009

Wonderful family reunion

Very adequate hotel. Towels pretty thick. Only bathroom floor and room rug could have been cleaner. Breakfast good, but the SAME every single day, quite plentiful though. Great location - near our son's apt. Easy to get to all freeways & to all major attractions and venues. Wonderful restaurants of many types close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of things to do that are either free or relatively inexpensive. Lots of food stands - don't always have to have "sit-down" meals in fancy restaurants.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mama Schaef
Business
Temple, NH
May 11, 2009

Not worth the price

Key card had to be reissued every time I used it. Room was old, bed not comfortable. "Free" breakfast was awful! Powdered coffee creamer, canned fruit (this is California, Right???), could not take coffee back to room. Expensive daily parking fees. No towels at pool. Pool was across the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants on Hillhurst St. were fantastic! Lots to choose from all Great!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Halle, Germany
May 9, 2009

Solid hotel

Good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top