$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom O
Family
Middletown, NY
Jun 15, 2009

Really not near Univerisal Studios

Good continental breakfast in the remodeled restaurant. Location wasn't bad, but not really near Universal Studios. Relatively clean - we found a pizza box in back of our refrigerator. Bubbles in rugs - no attention to detail. Glad I got a good rate from Orbitz - not worth it if you had to pay full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat continental breakfast here - great waffles

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hip Thrifter
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 15, 2009

Nice Stay In LA

This Ramada was a good value for the money. The rooms were relatively spacious and the location was centralized. It wasn't the best experience but I would stay at this hotel again no question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 29, 2009

Not bad hotel

It was kind of ordinary hotel.Nothing special about it.Some small issues, the TV remote was not working etc.I could have got better deal than this.But still I will say it was fine for 1-2 days. Again I was disappointed with [...] for giving me this option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
US-traveller
Friends
Mexico df
Dec 28, 2009

worst breakfast but close to metro

The hotel is close to the metro and bus lines, but the breakfast is worst!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vitaman
Family
Wellington, FL
Feb 2, 2010

My Experience

This was a family visit for a baptism. Upon arrival I was informed that parking my car would cost an extra $16.50 per day. [...]. If you took a shower after 6:30AM, the hot water was only warm - even in the late afternoon. It was only hot very early. If you are 6'4" tall, you'll have to bend down in the tub, which for some reason was elevated about 5". You also have to bend down to wash your hair, as the plumber must have thought everyone was under 5' tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New Jersey
May 23, 2010

The Ramada that was not a Ramada

Breakfast was adequate but average. Parking lot was secure (a plus) but the gate to get into the parking lot was annoying and they charged $25 a night to park which I found surprising. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Hotel was very quiet. We needed to be in this neighborhood and this was the nicest hotel around. Great location if you're visiting someone in the Medical Center. Elevators were very slow. Another big surprise is that the name of the hotel changed during our stay and we were never informed! We came back one night and the sign and brand had changed so it was not longer a Ramada!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doremi
Family
Sharon, MA
May 13, 2009

Wonderful family reunion

Very adequate hotel. Towels pretty thick. Only bathroom floor and room rug could have been cleaner. Breakfast good, but the SAME every single day, quite plentiful though. Great location - near our son's apt. Easy to get to all freeways & to all major attractions and venues. Wonderful restaurants of many types close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of things to do that are either free or relatively inexpensive. Lots of food stands - don't always have to have "sit-down" meals in fancy restaurants.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
rio rancho new mexico
Sep 22, 2009

good but hidden fee

staff was very helpful.the room was clean and hotel was located very close to all the places i wanted to go.my only negative was the fact that there was a daily charge for parking,which i was not aware of going in and this was not mentioned anywhere prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hungry Travelers
Friends
Sacramento, CA
Aug 15, 2009

Nice Hotel in Rough Location

We were concerned about the safety of the location and were uncomfortable walking in the area. There are no nearby restaurants within sight. While the parking area is gated for security, it cost an extra $15 a day. The room was large, nicely decorated, clean, and everything worked. The price was reasonable for Los Angeles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
darthalvaro
Couples
Irvine, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Not all that impressive

We stayed there for Valentine's Day and we had a terrible experince with the noise. The downstairs ballroom had a party until 2 am. The walls were too think and we could hear the party. I asked the front desk for a room change but the hotel was at capacity. It was not a magical night, that's for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top