$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susie F.
Business
Riverside
Apr 2, 2014

Our Stay

The employees were very friendly, Loved the ladies at the front desk, all employees were very helpful. Was very clean for as old as the hotel was. The breakfast was very good, loved that there was a chef making omelets per your request. The only complaint was that the fan in the room was either off or on did work as a thermostat. So we would have to turn it off and on, was not convenient:( Also the towels could have been nicer, very old and not soft. Bed was very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Leave your car at hotel and take public transportation, the parking anywhere you go is $20.00-$25.00 very high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MasterG
Business
NJ
Apr 25, 2014

Great for visiting Hollywood

If you plan to spend most of your time visiting Hollywood, Universal, etc. this is perfect. The Metro is 2 blocks away and you can easily get anywhere. If you want to go to the beach, plan an hour drive. The hotel is nice for a place to crash and breakfast is good. The picture is actually the back of the hotel so don't look for that when you're pulling in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

My review of Ramada Hollywood near Universal Studios

Staff was not friendly. Hotel did not have an indoor pool or hot tub. Breakfast choices were limited and repetitive 5 days in a row. Our hotel room door was left open after maid service. It had been left that way for an entire day. Hotel bar was not open from Thursday to Saturday. Rain kept us indoors more, so a friendly hotel bar to socialize at would have been nice. Good hotel location for accessing Hollywood's sites. Parking too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything on our to-see list was only a short drive from this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Richarson, TX
Dec 25, 2008

Surprised

We were surprised to fine out they charge $16.00 per night to park your car there. The rooms have NO air-conditioning. So it was hot in the rooms. Not happy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking up your old address
Business
Colorado
Jul 30, 2009

Very good!

Two of my older children flew in from Hawaii and stayed at the hotel with us. The accommodations at the hotel were prefect (rooms that were side-by-side). However, the only draw back to our stay at the hotel was that we are avid coffee drinkers. The coffee provided in our rooms was insufficient and we were not permitted, by the staff to take coffee from breakfast area. We asked for more coffee to be put in ours rooms, but it was a hit or miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob from SF
Business
San Francisco
Nov 29, 2009

just acceptable for the cheap price

Breakfast very bad (only bread, jam and eggs). Rooms are small. Bad Location, you need a car. There is a good parking (you need to pay for that)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You must have a GPS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ShoSha
Business
New Jersey
Apr 16, 2010

Not in the heart of Hollywood !

For a Three stars hotel it was a good one but Our room was at the main street side which was very noisy and I could hardly sleep. I wanted to ask for another room but my daughter liked to see the Hollywood sign from the balcony!! Overall good hotel but not close to the attractions except the Universal and Paramount studioes and at night there was nothing to see there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Paramount picture studio is at a long walking distance as well as the Raleigh Studio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beverly Hills, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Okay, nothing special

There was nothing really wrong with the hotel, but there is nothing to really recommend it either. It is overpriced: you can stay at Motel 6 for half the price and the only thing you would have to give up is a greasy breakfast. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is iffy and I wouldn't risk it after dark. As for amenities: the remote control for the tv didn't work (so I couldn't turn on the tv) and it took 3 1/2 hours for maintenance person to come by with a replacement remote control. I could now turn on the tv, but had to manually change the volume and channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Aug 25, 2010

Clean, not the best neighborhood

Good hotel for the price. However, we booked through [...] and they only reserved one queen bed for 3 adults! We had to pay an extra $40/night to upgrade to two queen beds once we arrived at the hotel. The price of our package was misleading. We also thought that the hotel staff was very unfriendly and unaccomodating. I would most likely try out a different hotel closer to Hollywood for my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
serenabon
Business
long island, ny
Sep 3, 2010

good value,comfortable stay

Nice, clean,comfortable stay. Wasn't a 5-star hotel or luxorious...but it was a good price and good location for hollywood. We would stay there again if in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

hollywood boulevard, universal studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top