$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
349 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOTEL of HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS provides affordable luxury in the heart of Hollywood. This 100% NONSMOKING hotel is near all major Los Angeles attractions and Hollywood studios and clubs. THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOTEL of HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS multi-lingual staff serves a varied and colorful international clientele. Recipient of the prestigious Three Diamond AAA Award 1995-2008 from the American Automobile Association, this hotel has been recognized for demonstrating high levels of excellence in every area.

THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS centrally located with West Hollywood and Beverly Hills to the west, Burbank, Pasadena and Glendale to the northeast, Downtown Los Angeles to the south, and North Hollywood and Studio City to the north. THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS is on Vermont Ave between Santa Monica, and Sunset and Hollywood Boulevards. The hotel is just south of Los Feliz Village which boasts trendy restaurants, shops, and cinema, and is also just south of Griffith Park, Griffith Observatory and the Greek Theatre. Kaiser Permanente Hospital, Children's Hospital of Los Angeles, Hollywood Presbyterian Hospital, and Ronald McDonald House are all nearby. Church of Scientology and Self Realization Fellowship also have facilities near the hotel.

At THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS Studies all rooms feature a coffeemaker, free Wireless HSIA, microwave and refrigerator and the Sealy Posturepedic Plush Bed. Bathrooms are all equipped with the curved shower with Moen Revolution Showerhead, and Citrus Ginger Spa Amenities. In room safes are available in some rooms.

Our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am - 10:30am in the Dining Room. Please note: The restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner. However, there are many fine restaurants within walking distance or short drive. 1160 Bar and Lounge open from 6:00pm - 11:00pm. Hours can vary for special events.

The sparkling New Pool Area with surrounding garden, is typically open year-round, however hours of operation or closures vary according to season, weather or maintenance. Please contact the hotel directly for updates on the pool area status.

39 channel Satellite TV, with Encore, CNN, FOX NEWS, Classic ESPN, CNBC and more. Hundreds of Pay Per View movies, music, WEB TV, HBO & Showtime series selections are available for a fee.

There is also 5000 square feet of Beautiful Banquet and Meeting space with A/V equipment and internet access. The central courtyard is adorned by a meditative atrium garden and fountain which is also available for wedding ceremonies. Concierge and Guideline Tours desk on Site, Fitness center with Nautilus Fitness Machines and Free Weights, Property Accepts Pets (Dogs and Cats only) under 50 pounds, Daily pet fee = $35.00 per day per pet, Pets must be leashed at all times in public spaces. Ample gated parking. Parking fee is $22.00 per day for guest cars; $29 per day for guest trucks and/or RV's and $59 per day for buses. Half a block from the Metro Redline Subway station. City buses stop at the corner in front of the hotel.

121 beautifully appointed guest rooms with one or two queen size beds, Six suites with King Size Beds, All beds are Sealy Posturepedic Plush, Coffeemaker in all rooms, All guest rooms are designated as Non Smoking, Smoking is permitted on guest room outdoor balconies, Wired and/or Wireless High Speed Internet access available in all Guest Rooms, WebTV is also available in Guest Rooms for a fee, Refrigerators and Microwaves in all rooms, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet for all guests, Hundreds of Hollywood latest movies available via the On Command Pay-per-view movie system, On Command also provides WebTV Music Workout Videos HBO and Showtime series and much more.

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (349)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
349 out of 349
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta, Georgia
Sep 30, 2009

Bad

I checked out of the hotel early as I was suppose to stay for two weeks. The location is not that close to anything. The room was dirty. I found hair that didn't belong to me in the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrhocus
Business
tucson,az
Sep 28, 2009

Great Hotel

From beginning to end our visit was great. All relaxing and wonderful. This hotel was super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle R.
Business
San Jose,Ca.
Sep 26, 2009

My stay at the Ramada Hollywood!

My family & i enjoyed the stay. Staff was very friendly & complementry breakfast was great! I just didn't like that we had to pay a seperate fee for parking,I feel it should have been included with the hotel stay. Oh & the hotel was NOT near Universal Studios!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rio rancho new mexico
Sep 22, 2009

good but hidden fee

staff was very helpful.the room was clean and hotel was located very close to all the places i wanted to go.my only negative was the fact that there was a daily charge for parking,which i was not aware of going in and this was not mentioned anywhere prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flymom
Business
Eden Prairie,Mn.
Sep 15, 2009

Great hotel

Visited my daughter that lives in L.A Lots of sight seeing and fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
one night guest
Business
san diego, ca
Sep 14, 2009

Nothing great to Say

Nothing was great about our stay. The location isn't near Universal which is part of this Ramada's name. We did not get the room we paid for. The rooms are small and the amenities are dated. The pillows are not comfy. There were ants. We were there for one night and the house keeping staff woke us by walking in without even so much as a knock. I would have expected them to wait to clean our room after check out, so this shows me it's not managed well. The food was not very good, except the waffles. And I would expect free parking for guests, if I knew I'd have to pay for parking I wouldn't have chosen this hotel because for the money it's not worth it with parking. And they explain it's clearly stated on the orbitz website in the smallest fine print ever that they charge for parking. Overall I would give this place 2 stars instead of 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Female Exec
Business
New York
Aug 29, 2009

Staff is cold. Breakfastroom is creepy.

Checking in late, and the desk clerk asked me if I'd like someone to park my car and take my bags upstairs. In each case, I responded yes. He laughed delightedly and told me that there wasn't anyone to help me. This was an unseemly "joke." Next day I asked for a room transfer. Room was suffocatingly small. The unfriendly desk mgr. escorted me to a room on the same very large floor - one whole block, but said I would have to wait until later. I packed my bags, and took them to the new room. The maid let me in, as she saw me earlier, while speaking Spanish loudly with the young female desk mgr. Actually, the maid was very friendly, as she was delighted to be able to communicate in Spanish. (I gathered that none of them spoke English.) Hot and tired, with 90 degree weather in L.AI went back down to the desk to get a room key. The young female mgr. sternly stated that she would "prefer" I go back upstairs to get the bags and bring them downstairs. I said it was ridiculous since the bags were already in the room! Checking out the next day, I first took all bags to the car and returned the key to the front desk. I had called down earlier to tell them to print out the bill, but they had not done so. Another young female deskclerk demanded my credit card again. After some argument (making me late for my meeting), I said to use the one they already stamped when I came in. Someone needs to rethink the policies of this hotel and hire nicer, friendlier staff who who do not bark orders to guests. The young man on desk duty the evening of 8/27/09 was the only friendly person who had the cordial tone that you expect from hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver,Canada
Aug 28, 2009

Ramada Hollywood

hotel was clean. The breakfast could be little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazygirl16
Business
Norfolk, VA
Aug 25, 2009

Good location to see Hollywood

We enjoyed the hotel, but were unhappy to pay to park especially when the parking lot was not fully enclosed. The continental breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rtlntmre
Business
Salinas, CA.
Aug 22, 2009

Great place to stay!

This Hotel is even better than the reviews! We stayed there for a Hollywood Bowl show, and it was a great choice! Would stay there anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Late night Mexican food, street easy and good fun!Short walk, opposite direction of Wendy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top