$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NE
Oct 28, 2009

Good location

Near freeway. close to lots of great tourist destinations. On-site car rental was very convenient. Found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Had read bad reviews about the staff and didn't experience any of that ourselves. Hotel was clean. Beds were luxurious, rooms were clean. Fridge in room, though ours didn't work for 2 days before it was fixed. Our room wasn't huge, but we were barely there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOTSOPICKY
Business
RANCHO CUCAMONGA,CA
Oct 26, 2009

Terrible with a capital T

Upon arrival the staff was very rude, so rude in fact that people cancelled their reservations as they arrived. First of all aside from the ignorant and unhospitable staff, you have to pay $16.50 aside from the cost of the room to park in the parking lot that the hotel obviously doesn't own. This dump especially the location where it wasn't a surprise that we saw prostitutes roaming the streets. One guest that I conversed with on the elevator, by the way the main elevator wasn't working, said he would rather stay at Motel 6 and that's pretty sad. The only reason we stayed there is because the show we had bought tickets for was going to start in an hour otherwise we would have gladly relocated. Last but not least we had to look at 3 differnt rooms before staying in the one we chose. The other two rooms smelled like paint as the painters were still on site painting the room and the other one smelled like someone died in it. There are too many other hotels around the area to not have to deal with this place. It definately put a dark cloud over our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, Ontario
Oct 25, 2009

Very happy with our stay

This hotel is perfect for the savvy traveler. Our room was quiet, spotless, fairly new and we found having a fridge, an in-room safe and a microwave very handy. Toiletries were nice. Not having to worry about breakfast was a bonus. The only downside is that the hotel is not in the nicest neighbourhood. That said, it is close to two subway stations and many bus stops. May of LA's attractions are easily reachable from the metro stations. Overall a worthwhile stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brentwood, ca
Oct 22, 2009

Hmmmm

For the price it was acceptable. But they were doing construction near our room until about 10 PM which I found very disrespectful. Then had the joy of waking up around 7 to more construction. There was equipment piled all over the hallways including in front of our door as well. There's a $15 parking fee per day which I can understand. The staff wasn't very informative or friendly and didn't seem to be too enthusiastic or helpful about any questions I had. For the price it was reasonable for the location, but not worth the amount we paid. I would not recomend it or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ant Man
Business
Midwest
Oct 20, 2009

Dive, dive, dive

You walk out the door, you go left your in a scary area, you go right go a couple blocks not bad. The place is a nightmare. I woke up my 1st night, with ants crawling up my arm, then moved to a room where they were doing consturction on the room above me, then to the 3rd floor room with a shared balconey.In my 3 moves i lost a shoe. They couldnt find it, how do you not find a shoe? The free breakfast is a joke, you expect these breakfasts but the eggs, coffee they didnt even do that well. The eggs were these cookie cutter round discs and the toast was just wonder bread. it wasnt a zero, but I ate a great breakfast at a mexican diner for 5 dollars and that was much better then their breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go north or left out the fron door about a mile (we walked it) and you will find some great restraunts and nive bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jdfletcher
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 20, 2009

Beautiful!

over all this was a great experience. the hotel is beautiful and the staff is very courteous. The area is a little dicey but easy access to the freeways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 19, 2009

Great location; close to everything

We were close to everything....very handy. Breakfast was free and good. One of our two rooms had air conditioning issues. It was fixed the second night, but the refrigerator broke down after that. Staff was very friendly and helped us with our Metro plans to Universal studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Oct 14, 2009

A Great Place to Stay in Hollywood

Don't know why, but we were given a "handicapped" room. When we took our showers, water was everywhere in the bathroom floor. Had to use all the towels to mop up the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WaR
Business
Fremont
Oct 14, 2009

good hotel

very nice hotel good location good breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

sizzlers subway bowling vons etc etc!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
Oct 13, 2009

average

It is not near Universal studio but you can get the subway 5 min walk to Vermont Stanta Monica subway station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top