$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
350 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beauty
Uk
Jun 1, 2012

Fabulous family getaway

I really enjoyed my holidays with my parents. The hotel is located in a very convenient location close to most of the major attractions in LA.The hotel staff was very friendly and room cleanliness was up to the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brentwood, ca
Oct 22, 2009

Hmmmm

For the price it was acceptable. But they were doing construction near our room until about 10 PM which I found very disrespectful. Then had the joy of waking up around 7 to more construction. There was equipment piled all over the hallways including in front of our door as well. There's a $15 parking fee per day which I can understand. The staff wasn't very informative or friendly and didn't seem to be too enthusiastic or helpful about any questions I had. For the price it was reasonable for the location, but not worth the amount we paid. I would not recomend it or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ant Man
Business
Midwest
Oct 20, 2009

Dive, dive, dive

You walk out the door, you go left your in a scary area, you go right go a couple blocks not bad. The place is a nightmare. I woke up my 1st night, with ants crawling up my arm, then moved to a room where they were doing consturction on the room above me, then to the 3rd floor room with a shared balconey.In my 3 moves i lost a shoe. They couldnt find it, how do you not find a shoe? The free breakfast is a joke, you expect these breakfasts but the eggs, coffee they didnt even do that well. The eggs were these cookie cutter round discs and the toast was just wonder bread. it wasnt a zero, but I ate a great breakfast at a mexican diner for 5 dollars and that was much better then their breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go north or left out the fron door about a mile (we walked it) and you will find some great restraunts and nive bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jdfletcher
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 20, 2009

Beautiful!

over all this was a great experience. the hotel is beautiful and the staff is very courteous. The area is a little dicey but easy access to the freeways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 19, 2009

Great location; close to everything

We were close to everything....very handy. Breakfast was free and good. One of our two rooms had air conditioning issues. It was fixed the second night, but the refrigerator broke down after that. Staff was very friendly and helped us with our Metro plans to Universal studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Oct 14, 2009

A Great Place to Stay in Hollywood

Don't know why, but we were given a "handicapped" room. When we took our showers, water was everywhere in the bathroom floor. Had to use all the towels to mop up the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WaR
Business
Fremont
Oct 14, 2009

good hotel

very nice hotel good location good breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

sizzlers subway bowling vons etc etc!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
Oct 13, 2009

average

It is not near Universal studio but you can get the subway 5 min walk to Vermont Stanta Monica subway station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aquarium is too expensive
Business
Coachella, CA
Oct 10, 2009

Horrible experience

I went here for my hollywood trip, they gave us a room. we walked in the bed cheats had stains and the carpet was real black very soiled, and the rug was loose, i could literally move it with my feet. i went to change rooms, they did, but never apologized for the inconvenience. staff was kinda rude, the second room was ok, but the area rug was still kinda dirty, i wasent to comfortable sleeping there. they charge 16.50 for parking!! way to much for a hotel like this. the only good thing was the free breakfast & free wifi. other than that, proly the worst hotel i have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

hollywood boulevard is real close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Oct 8, 2009

?

I believe when you make a reservetion thru an agency, they treat you diffently, and they give you the worst room available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M.L.R.
Business
San Diego, Calif.
Oct 6, 2009

Cust Service & information not given.

Level 1 floor room was tile. 2 Qn bds, with only a small area rug between the beds. Cold on the feet. Parking $16.50 !! Not informed of the parking charge. Their "cab" referal OVER CHARGED us, dont take the business card on the counter. Hotel employee handed it to me. Bathtub did not drain (rm 130). Nice shower standing in 10" of dirty water. I informed the desk upon check out. The next guest will have a nicer stay. Ramada did not offer to soften my horrible stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top