$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

I will definately come back

I really liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly and a free continental breakfast was better than what i thought. The location is perfect for thos who are planning to visit Hollywood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Hollywood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vegas
Dec 19, 2009

ok... staffs are NOT friendly/useful!

Staffs were not friendly and when I asked them about different locations in the hotel area, the lady at the front desk told me "You won't be able to get anywhere if you can't read the map/dunno the area!!!" .....................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 17, 2009

Horrible

Had to pay to park, pay to use the wifi. Cracks in the ceiling let in all the traffic noise on the busy street outside. Remote control didn't work. People fighting in the hall in the middle of the night. Uncomfortable bed and pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Dec 9, 2009

Long term stay

I was very upset with this hotel. I have been here over nine days due to a great rate from [...]. The second day I was here I received a phone call at 8:00am saying that they were renovating the room they just checked me into the night before and had to move me by 11am. I moved to a room, which they upgraded to a junior suite that hadn't been cleaned so I had to wait for an hour before I could be settled. The next week up until today, they were removing carpet next door, upstairs, the ENTIRE hallway outside my room early in the morning so all I heard was the constant hammering and banging and talking of the workers. The elevators kept breaking down therefore one must wait for 5 minutes or so to crowd into the only operable elevator that was shared by guests, housekeeping, carpet debris ect. Housekeeping kept coming in my room even though my do not disturb sign was up on the door outside. I was at one point exiting the shower and thought someone was breaking in because the door was opening without any knock saying "housekeeping. " I had to open my door with my towel on to tell them to stop. They then never refilled the coffee, creamers, cups or the counters, all they did was vacuum and change the sheets/towels. Yesterday, I was preparing for my departure and had all my clothes and personal items sprawled all over the floor, bed, couch and bathroom. I said to one of the housekeepers after I placed the do not disturb card on the door , "please do not clean my room I will be back in an hour and I have my stuff everywhere," she nodded and I went on my way. I arrived to find my clothes and personal items moved into piles, the floor vacuumed, the sheets changed with my clothes now on the floor that were originally on the bed, my personal bar of expensive organic soap gone (thrown out im sure.) I told the front desk and their defense was housekeeping may have thought I left the do not disturb sign up by mistake. What makes me most upset was that there was no warning downstairs in the lobby or on the website that there would be renovations and noise, as well as no compensation for all these problems I was having at the hotel. I came here for a relaxing time and left with a pounding headache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

down the street on n vermont towards Hollywood Blvd is a cluster of bars, and resteraunts and a theater that is very nice. there is a diner called house of pies that has breakfast, lunch, dinner and all sorts of desserts. The Dresdon which is a very classic bar/resteraunt, great steaks, where the movie Swingers had filmed some scenes. Also a sushi resteraunt and other outdoor cafes. I didnt know about this area until i was almost ready to leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peluza
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 9, 2009

L.A. Trip

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The employees were very polite. The only thing that was a negative was the cold rooms. The room i had stayed in, had a plug in heater, which wasnt much help. Other than that, i had a good time staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Subway was down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc, ny
Dec 9, 2009

hollywood

nice hotel- reasonable-great continental buffet breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to small mall with staples,rite aid, pizza hut, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob from SF
Business
San Francisco
Nov 29, 2009

just acceptable for the cheap price

Breakfast very bad (only bread, jam and eggs). Rooms are small. Bad Location, you need a car. There is a good parking (you need to pay for that)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You must have a GPS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RRLF
Business
North Hollywood
Nov 21, 2009

Average at best, price OK

Average,Ok for low end business trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam Holland
Nov 15, 2009

NOT room 102

To noice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg, SC
Nov 14, 2009

Nice Hotel

Visited son's school and rental options. It cost $16.95 per day to park our car at this hotel!!! Outrageous!!! The maid kept forgetting to give us washcloths. Privacy sign was not allowed to be put on our door to prevent maid entry (to protect our belongings). They said they would enter no matter what. It wasn't the best looking room (decorated cold) ... but was clean. The bathroom was very small ... no room to put our toiletries on the counter. Very small television. People were very friendly and hospitable. The hallways were very upscale. They were very good about wake-up calls. Continental Breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Look for parking under buildings on side streets. There are no parking areas along main streets ... and if you do find an occasional parking lot, it costs at least $15.00!! If you park under buildings, you can usually get your parking ticket validated and only pay $2.00 for parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. A. Visitor
Business
NJ
Nov 9, 2009

Adequate accomdations; dicey neigborhood

The hotel was clean, free breakfast good, secure parking area, but in a dicey part of L.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top