$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 29, 2009

Not bad hotel

It was kind of ordinary hotel.Nothing special about it.Some small issues, the TV remote was not working etc.I could have got better deal than this.But still I will say it was fine for 1-2 days. Again I was disappointed with [...] for giving me this option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
US-traveller
Friends
Mexico df
Dec 28, 2009

worst breakfast but close to metro

The hotel is close to the metro and bus lines, but the breakfast is worst!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hope, VA
Dec 27, 2009

ramada

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

universal studios

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Jose, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Nice Hotel

Clean room and friendly staff. I like to stay here again next time i visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
vegas
Dec 19, 2009

ok... staffs are NOT friendly/useful!

Staffs were not friendly and when I asked them about different locations in the hotel area, the lady at the front desk told me "You won't be able to get anywhere if you can't read the map/dunno the area!!!" .....................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Modesto, CA
Dec 17, 2009

Horrible

Had to pay to park, pay to use the wifi. Cracks in the ceiling let in all the traffic noise on the busy street outside. Remote control didn't work. People fighting in the hall in the middle of the night. Uncomfortable bed and pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Connecticut
Dec 9, 2009

Long term stay

I was very upset with this hotel. I have been here over nine days due to a great rate from [...]. The second day I was here I received a phone call at 8:00am saying that they were renovating the room they just checked me into the night before and had to move me by 11am. I moved to a room, which they upgraded to a junior suite that hadn't been cleaned so I had to wait for an hour before I could be settled. The next week up until today, they were removing carpet next door, upstairs, the ENTIRE hallway outside my room early in the morning so all I heard was the constant hammering and banging and talking of the workers. The elevators kept breaking down therefore one must wait for 5 minutes or so to crowd into the only operable elevator that was shared by guests, housekeeping, carpet debris ect. Housekeeping kept coming in my room even though my do not disturb sign was up on the door outside. I was at one point exiting the shower and thought someone was breaking in because the door was opening without any knock saying "housekeeping. " I had to open my door with my towel on to tell them to stop. They then never refilled the coffee, creamers, cups or the counters, all they did was vacuum and change the sheets/towels. Yesterday, I was preparing for my departure and had all my clothes and personal items sprawled all over the floor, bed, couch and bathroom. I said to one of the housekeepers after I placed the do not disturb card on the door , "please do not clean my room I will be back in an hour and I have my stuff everywhere," she nodded and I went on my way. I arrived to find my clothes and personal items moved into piles, the floor vacuumed, the sheets changed with my clothes now on the floor that were originally on the bed, my personal bar of expensive organic soap gone (thrown out im sure.) I told the front desk and their defense was housekeeping may have thought I left the do not disturb sign up by mistake. What makes me most upset was that there was no warning downstairs in the lobby or on the website that there would be renovations and noise, as well as no compensation for all these problems I was having at the hotel. I came here for a relaxing time and left with a pounding headache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

down the street on n vermont towards Hollywood Blvd is a cluster of bars, and resteraunts and a theater that is very nice. there is a diner called house of pies that has breakfast, lunch, dinner and all sorts of desserts. The Dresdon which is a very classic bar/resteraunt, great steaks, where the movie Swingers had filmed some scenes. Also a sushi resteraunt and other outdoor cafes. I didnt know about this area until i was almost ready to leave.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peluza
Couples
Modesto, CA
Dec 9, 2009

L.A. Trip

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The employees were very polite. The only thing that was a negative was the cold rooms. The room i had stayed in, had a plug in heater, which wasnt much help. Other than that, i had a good time staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Subway was down the street

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
nyc, ny
Dec 9, 2009

hollywood

nice hotel- reasonable-great continental buffet breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to small mall with staples,rite aid, pizza hut, etc.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RRLF
Business
North Hollywood
Nov 21, 2009

Average at best, price OK

Average,Ok for low end business trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top