$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 23, 2010

Good value but can be noisy

The good: friendly staff; free, hot breakfast; located one block away from the metro subway system; clean; gated parking; many good and cheap eats within walking distance. The not so good: parking costs $16.50/night; hotel is clean but can use updates. The bad: our room was facing Vermont Street, and was noisy because it is a busy street and a bus stop was right in front. Overall, it's a simple, clean and inexpensive place to stay. Just ask for a room that's not facing Vermont Street when you check in and you should be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to a subway station and take the train ($1.25) to all the Hollywood Blvd attractions and Universal City without worrying about parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CONCERNED CUSTOMER
Business
RAMADA HOLLYWOOD
Feb 22, 2010

THE UNFORGETABLE EXPERIENCE

Every morning I wake up very upset, the toilet bowl was wiggling when you sit, the room was hot we even request for electric fan but according to the staff they dont have, no A/C only heater was working so, we sleep naked and no blanket at all but still uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Feb 17, 2010

Juat ok

The room was just okay. Very small. Not dirty but not the cleanest. Staff was OK. BREAKFAST WAS REALLY GOOD FOR COMPLIMENTARY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east coast
Feb 15, 2010

Good value for money

I've stayed in high-end hotels, mid-range hotels and low-end motels in this area, and the Ramada is squarely in the mid-range... a good value for the money. Staff was helpful, room (toward the back) quiet and reasonably clean, wi-fi worked, parking cost $16.50/day but was convenient. There's a free continental breakfast including waffles or eggs (at least I think the prepared patty was eggs!); the motels give you a sticky bun sealed in cellophane. There's even a comedy club in the lounge on some nights. Perfectly fine for the money. Look online for room sales.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John and Maria
Business
Vancouver Canada
Feb 14, 2010

Good Value and Location

Good hotel! Reasonably priced, good location, quiet and clean. Decent free breakfast. Good location in Hollywood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollywood, CA
Feb 9, 2010

Great location for the price

Best bang for your buck! it's best to rent a car if you're going to stay more than 2 days. Room were clean, Good continental breakfast. Front desk staff seemed to be a little tired but overall, this is a great deal! I recommended . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheaper to rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, De
Feb 4, 2010

Good location, price & helpful staff

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would return to it if we were coming back to LA area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Desmans restuarant was very good food and not very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boris's mom
Business
Temecula
Feb 3, 2010

Dives, dopes, and desperation

We were there for a trip for surgery for my wife at Kaiser. It was far from ideal for the circumstances ..the handicap was not so handicap..the noise made rest difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vitaman
Business
Wellington, FL
Feb 2, 2010

My Experience

This was a family visit for a baptism. Upon arrival I was informed that parking my car would cost an extra $16.50 per day. [...]. If you took a shower after 6:30AM, the hot water was only warm - even in the late afternoon. It was only hot very early. If you are 6'4" tall, you'll have to bend down in the tub, which for some reason was elevated about 5". You also have to bend down to wash your hair, as the plumber must have thought everyone was under 5' tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NJ Fireman
Business
Hamilton, NJ
Jan 31, 2010

Rude staff great room other then no AC

The staff was very rude and short upon checking. The room was beautiful, update and very clean. When asking a question instead of taking the time to answer it for me the staff member turned a sign my way and pointed at it acting as if it was to hard to answer. Other then the rude staff and lack of attention to details such as paying 16$ a day for parking on the premises I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Great places to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top