$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
midwest
Jan 19, 2010

hotel looks better on the site.

if considering to rent or drive your car you might consider another place parking is 15$ a day. all in all it was clean. apart from the neighborhood in which you would prefer to be back before dark.elevators are slow and you can not use the stairs only for emergency. all in all not a bad place. consider also checking out at exact time no extensions at all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

use the metro which is less than a block and also bus station to go to universal studios and hollowood

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Sacramento, CA
Jan 19, 2010

Nice Room

The location was not that close to Universal Studios; it was in a somewhat rundown neighborhood. However, the hotel was fairly nice, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel staff will help with directions to various attractions.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boston, MA
Jan 15, 2010

Great value....but missing a lot

I stayed 3 days at a great rate, which is why I picked the hotel. Best value for a hotel near Universal Studios. Front desk staff were not at all friendly and check in was slow. The maids were friendly and cheerful. Be prepared to pay $16.50 per night to park your car in the gated and secure parking lot at the back of the hotel (I would NOT recommend parking on the street). Breakfast was typical continental breakfast of starches and tasteless egg patties....although the hot waffles were tastey. Small TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
SAN FRANCISCO,CA
Jan 15, 2010

very gOOD

SPOTLESS ROOMS AND HOTEL COZY AND QUITE , AND THE MOST IMPORTANT VERY CONFORTABLE BEDS ONE OF THE NICEST I HAD IN A LONG TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Seattle,WA
Jan 9, 2010

good enough ,nothing special

Complementary breakfast sucks, remote controls for the t.v don;t work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
NYC
Jan 4, 2010

Great value.. and stay

Great hotel, price and location. The maids just need a quick refresher on what the 'do not disturb' sign on the door means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffy the traveler
Friends
Detroit, MI
Jan 4, 2010

Near Metro

The staff was helpful finding local restaurants that were great. The metro is a block away, which is convenient, clean and inexpensive. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Metro if you stay at this hotel. It will get you most places you would want to go for a $5 all day pass. Parking at the hotel is expensive!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Magelyn
Family
Litchfield Park, AZ
Jan 2, 2010

Ramada Hollywood Hotel

Hotel was close to the Red Line (subway) which we took to Universal Studios. I was not pleased with finding pubic hair on the bathroom floor and the ice bucket was dirty. The TV wouldn't turn on without a remote, and our remote didn't work. The front desk staff did take care of the remote thing, and the maintenance man cleaned the ice bucket for me, but I was still not very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway to Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Cost: $1.25 each way or $5 day pass. Very convenient for avoiding traffic and parking problems. We left our car at the hotel for the parking cost of $16.50.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shari D
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 1, 2010

Perfect getaway

Staff was friendly, helpful and attentative. Felt me and my belonging were safe during my stay. [...] fixed the light fixture right away. Will definitely stay there again and so will my family. Even though the hotel was busy, it was very peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Dec 30, 2009

A very mixed picture here

This review system requires that I say I would or would not recommend this Ramada. So I said yes, but the best answer is ... maybe. Here's why: The neighborhood's really blah. For an out-of-the-way Ramada, parking's kind of high: $15 a night. The room (a junior suite) was plenty spacious, although could have been cleaner (it saw only occasional vacuuming). Limited air flow control in the room. Balconies on the inside plaza aren't private, believe it or not (they're shared), which raises security concerns if you leave your door open to increase the air flow. The breakfast buffet is limited: no omelets or pancakes or hot cereal. Instead: waffles or cold cereal and bread or canned peaches and pears or a strange egg-like thing. The staff was nice enough. International clientele, which is kind of interesting. Not sure if we'd go back; it's definitely cheaper than its (nicer) competition. You pay for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top