$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 10, 2010

Surprisingly Good

The rooms are newly remodeled and very clean, but the neighborhood is a little old and run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
May 9, 2010

good location

It's a good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrs_m
Business
San Jose, CA
May 9, 2010

Good deal, nice room, convenient

Pros: Room was very clean and large. It had comfortable beds with nice bedding. Nice big flat-screen TV. Also had a microwave and small fridge which we stocked with bottled water and snack items from a Ralph's nearby. This was a good idea for late night noshing when we didn't want to drive anywhere out of the area (see Cons). Cons: I really didn't like paying for parking where I was already staying BUT the area is not the best so I strongly recommend doing so. They give you the option of paying a daily rate or a flat fee which we did which was a good deal for the length of our stay (4 days). Also, you'd have to drive at least a few miles to find services that are open after 11, but that's ok since the hotel was so decent. It can be a bit noisy if you are staying in one of the rooms facing the street since Vermont is such a busy street during the daytime. From around 11 pm to about 7:30 am it was really quiet. We were in a corner room near Vermont and the Metro runs through Vermont St quite frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

One great - free - entertainment idea is to get tickets to be part of a studio audience for one of the many shows that are filmed in Hollywood. We signed up for the Jimmy Kimmel show online. So fun! We made an evening of it by checking out all of the tourist attractions on Hollywood Blvd which where the show is taped. Most shows let you sign up for tickets the day of - so easy.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
May 4, 2010

Pleasant

Over all the hotel was nice the location was great since it was walking distance to some things. The only think that sucked was some of the facilities listed were not available or permanently taken away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaTan
Business
Hayward, CA
May 2, 2010

Ramada Hollywood

I stayed in the suite room, which is very clean and comfortable. The price is very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east coast
May 1, 2010

expensive parking!

I like the housekeeping people friendly and you can trust them what you have in your room. But once you put the sign do not disturb... its means for them that they dont clean your room! which i think is wrong. And when i told them to clean the room they dont really clean them but they spray something to smell good, they dont even clean well the bath tub and toilet, i was even the one who clean it by myself! They dont refill the stuff at the bathroom! Same old breakfast EVERYDAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PAKOGERTE
Business
MEXICO
Apr 11, 2010

Ramada Holywood

IS AN OLD HOTEL BAD ELEVATORS BAD BREAKFAST

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thailand
Apr 5, 2010

Quiet Hotel

The room should provide drinking water supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy the LA to go ticket which will save lot of addmisions.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Daly City, CA (SF Bay Area)
Apr 3, 2010

Hotel stay

Attended a concert, location was not that far from the venue. It was definitely a better hotel than the one we stayed in the last time we visited the Hollywood area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Apr 1, 2010

just ok hotel

They charge $16.50 per night for parking and there is no street parking available. I thought that was outrageous. Also powdered eggs shaped like circles for their complementary breakfast was not my idea of a yummy breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top