$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Room 123 occupant
Business
Stockton, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and Breakfast Buffet

Certain rooms, like ours on the first floor, are roomy while others are small. Our daughters' first room (on the 3rd flr) was small and smelled wet, moldy. When the front desk staff was notified, staff said they would be given another room the next day at 11 am as soon as check outs made one available on our floor. Their new room was nicer like ours, but not as roomy (average size). Unlike other reviews the front desk staff were courteous and professional. But then again we requested, asked and expressed our appreciation in a regular, polite voice; while others walked up and demanded immediate service/answers/directions in loud voices (lots of international clients, but the ugly ones were good old USA born). I used to live in LA and know about finding parking and security. So the $16.50 per day fee was okay with me given the convenience and security of parking staff. The disabled doors in the back open very quickly and could knock you down if you approach to fast and too close. There isn't too much room between you and the doors before the sensor opens the doors. We really liked the the breakfast buffet but even though there are two elevators only one takes you to the restaurant (no signs that we saw). We took the wrong one that took us to the laundry room floor. The Supervisor was kind enough to escort us all the way to the right elevator and to the breakfast room. There were six in our party so the free breakfast buffet saved us alot of money (6 at $8 for food, $2 for drinks and $2 for tip, totals at least $72 per day), not to mention the time in the car looking for a restaurant, place to park, and then waiting in line to be seated. Yes we would stay there again and request the same room (or on the first floor) again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NH
Jun 14, 2010

Just fine

We were there to attend our son's graduation, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. We picked the hotel for its location near his apartment, for its reasonable price (including breakfast), and for its heated outdoor pool. The room was great--quiet and comfortable. The staff folks were helpful and pleasant. Our only complaint was that the pool was not heated, and it was too cold to swim in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slawek
Business
Wallington, NJ
Jul 7, 2009

5 nights stay in Ramada Hollywood 7/4/09

My wife and me we went for our friends wedding, and used this hotel for stay. Very good location, nice continental breakfast, friendly staff, very very slow elevators, need to wait for it so long, parking fee is $16.50 per night!!!, at least for hotel guests it schould be free. I paid just for park spot over $80 for my 5 days stay... not fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Sunset Blv and Hollywood Blv, and easy access to rt 101.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 8, 2009

Great location with a few glitches

The location of this hotel is great -- just a few blocks away from Sunset Blvd. and Hollywood Blvd. It's easy to get to the Hollywood Sign, the Walk of Fame, downtown LA, and, of course, Universal Studios. What's odd is this hotel is not particularly close to Universal Studios -- it's over 7 miles away. Parking is not included and is $15 per night (plus tax). I had one significant glitch to my stay: I put the "do not disturb" sign on the door in the morning, then came back later to find my room cleaned, with the "do not disturb" sign on the inside of the door. According to the front desk (verified by the cleaning crew manager), you have to call the front desk EVERY DAY to tell them you don't want your room cleaned. I've traveled literally around the world and have never had a hotel do this to me. The cleaning crew manager said that people would complain that their rooms weren't cleaned when they had the "do not disturb" sign on their door, so they just ignore the sign now. What?! I'm still waiting to hear from the Ramada district manager about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celebrity Photographer
Business
Columbia, SC
Feb 25, 2010

Very clean hotel

Our experience at the hotel was GREAT....Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean rooms, and secured parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Purchase your trip souveniours from the hotel store, as their prices are about half the price downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aly
Business
New Jersey
Jan 28, 2010

Good place to stay

The hotel has good bed, nice bathroom and clean sheets and towels. The price is good and it has a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GameShowLoser
Business
Buena Park, Ca
Nov 21, 2010

Beautiful, clean hotel

I had free tickets to be on a game show in Hollywood, so we decided to stay here. The employees could have been a bit more cheerful, but other than that, it was a beautiful, clean hotel. It was decorated nicely, had great smelling amenities, and was just overall a very pleasant stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelvin kobbs
Business
on a plane
Jun 10, 2009

ghetto

not within walking distance from anything fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 9, 2009

Review Ramada Hollywood

No problems very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Nov 9, 2010

th hollywood hotel

have stayed at this propperty many times. It is very convient for my needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top