Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Jul 10, 2010

good & easy

easy location, friendly staff, good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jun 28, 2010

Hollywood Hotel

Location was very close to the Red Line. Minutes away by car from Walk of Fame, Kodak Theater. Excellent restaurants in Los Feliz several blocks away. No attractions in walking distance, but short trip by car or subway.Parking rate of $18 a bit stiff[...].Good complimentary breakfast choices of eggs, sausage, croissants, fruits, cereal, bagels, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time LA traveller
Business
New Jersey
Jun 27, 2010

I was nervous, but it was not that bad..

I was nervous when I looked up the hotel on Google Maps, but was pleasantly surprised when I checked in and parked my rental car in the safe, locked parking lot. The room was small and it was facing the main road (which was noisy), but I overlooked all that because of the location of the hotel. Every major attraction was reachable within minutes. The cleaning staff as great- room was thoroughly cleaned every day of our stay. The breakfast is very basic, but was enough to get us by till lunchtime. It was an overall good experience staying at the Hollywood Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try to plan and reserve for an early dinner- there were not many options, other than junk food after 9 PM...

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pm5166
Business
Merced, CA
Jun 24, 2010

Allow for traffic

We had 2 rooms. One room had been remodled and was perfect, the other room had not been remodled yet. The Hotel was beautiful and the staff was great. We were located near everything we wanted to do and see. The breakfast was yummy but they wouldn't let you eat it in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The 23 mile drive to Medieval times took 2 hours with 5:00 traffic.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brazillian Girls
Business
Michigan
Jun 16, 2010

We recomend because the location

We really liked of location. We didn't need a car to visit the main points of Los Angeles, like the walk of fame, Madame Tussaud, Kodak Theatre, Universal Studios, it was just some metro stations from there. The hotel is clean, the breakfast is good, the only problem was one of the attendent who wasn't friendly, but the other staff was good. We truly recomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NH
Jun 14, 2010

Just fine

We were there to attend our son's graduation, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. We picked the hotel for its location near his apartment, for its reasonable price (including breakfast), and for its heated outdoor pool. The room was great--quiet and comfortable. The staff folks were helpful and pleasant. Our only complaint was that the pool was not heated, and it was too cold to swim in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebelteacher
Business
Newton, MS
Jun 10, 2010

Good price, GREAT stay

My family and I really liked this hotel and our stay there thanks to a very friendly staff, small but very clean rooms, and great extras. It is an older hotel that shows minor signs of wear, but it is SUPER clean. There were always members of the housekeeping staff working throughout the hotel. Our rooms were immaculately clean and we had the most comfortable beds. As I was getting into my room one day a member of the housekeeping staff, who was making some kind of final check for the day, stopped me in the hall and asked me if I was satisfied with the cleaning of my room. Wow! I've never had a member of a five-star hotel do that. Every desk clerk was super friendly, even the poor young man that had to check us in after 10 p.m. He had all the confirmation information together and got us through the check in process in less than 10 minutes, but we probably spent 20 minutes with my children chatting with him about their first trip to LA. Even the gift shop manager stayed AFTER the shop's closing time one day to help us map out a quick sightseeing trip. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best I've had. It offers a great variety of croissants, bagels, toast and fresh waffles as well as sausage, eggs and cereal. Also the breakfast space was large enough that, even at the busiest of times, my party of five could always find a place to sit together. While the pool was small I liked its gated privacy, babbling water fountain, and landscaping. It was a nice oasis in the concrete jungle surrounding it. I think the best compliment I can give the Hollywood Hotel is that I will definitely try to book there again on my next trip to LA. It's a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metro!!! It's one block from the hotel and will get you to all the sightseeing places quickly without the hassle of trying to park a car. Also, if you like to venture out on your own, you can walk to Santa Monica Blvd. and Melrose from the hotel but the staff can help you with all types and prices on tours.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeidiM
Business
Munich, Germany
Jun 1, 2010

nice place to stay

great rooms, very comfy, free complementary breakfest, helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2010

The Ramada that was not a Ramada

Breakfast was adequate but average. Parking lot was secure (a plus) but the gate to get into the parking lot was annoying and they charged $25 a night to park which I found surprising. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Hotel was very quiet. We needed to be in this neighborhood and this was the nicest hotel around. Great location if you're visiting someone in the Medical Center. Elevators were very slow. Another big surprise is that the name of the hotel changed during our stay and we were never informed! We came back one night and the sign and brand had changed so it was not longer a Ramada!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robbin and Kids
Business
San Francisco Ca
May 10, 2010

My Stay

The pictures were nothing like the hotel it self. I would not stay here ever again it was one of the worse hotels I have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top