$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Nice Hotel

Clean room and friendly staff. I like to stay here again next time i visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewToLA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Nice Hotel, Good value

Great hotel for the deal I got. Not in the best neighborhood, but only two subway stops away from Hollywood. The staff was helpful, but not very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toowoomba, QLD, Australia
Sep 28, 2010

Price and location can't be beat

This hotel was great. It was exceptionally clean, the rooms were top class as was the friendly and helpful service of the hotel staff. The hotel was in a great location, 5min away from the metro station, and only 10min walk away from some really nice, quaint cafe's and restaurants. I have no complaints about this place whatsoever, would recommend it 100%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a small group of restaurants a short walk from the hotel. In particular an old 50's style cafe called Fred 62. This place has very good value for money food and drink. Nothing fancy, but the food is awesome and the staff there are really friendly and courteous. We went back there 3 times.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrs_m
Business
San Jose, CA
May 9, 2010

Good deal, nice room, convenient

Pros: Room was very clean and large. It had comfortable beds with nice bedding. Nice big flat-screen TV. Also had a microwave and small fridge which we stocked with bottled water and snack items from a Ralph's nearby. This was a good idea for late night noshing when we didn't want to drive anywhere out of the area (see Cons). Cons: I really didn't like paying for parking where I was already staying BUT the area is not the best so I strongly recommend doing so. They give you the option of paying a daily rate or a flat fee which we did which was a good deal for the length of our stay (4 days). Also, you'd have to drive at least a few miles to find services that are open after 11, but that's ok since the hotel was so decent. It can be a bit noisy if you are staying in one of the rooms facing the street since Vermont is such a busy street during the daytime. From around 11 pm to about 7:30 am it was really quiet. We were in a corner room near Vermont and the Metro runs through Vermont St quite frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

One great - free - entertainment idea is to get tickets to be part of a studio audience for one of the many shows that are filmed in Hollywood. We signed up for the Jimmy Kimmel show online. So fun! We made an evening of it by checking out all of the tourist attractions on Hollywood Blvd which where the show is taped. Most shows let you sign up for tickets the day of - so easy.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 30, 2009

Our stay....

Hotel set in great location....only thing is the parking is not free at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebelteacher
Business
Newton, MS
Jun 10, 2010

Good price, GREAT stay

My family and I really liked this hotel and our stay there thanks to a very friendly staff, small but very clean rooms, and great extras. It is an older hotel that shows minor signs of wear, but it is SUPER clean. There were always members of the housekeeping staff working throughout the hotel. Our rooms were immaculately clean and we had the most comfortable beds. As I was getting into my room one day a member of the housekeeping staff, who was making some kind of final check for the day, stopped me in the hall and asked me if I was satisfied with the cleaning of my room. Wow! I've never had a member of a five-star hotel do that. Every desk clerk was super friendly, even the poor young man that had to check us in after 10 p.m. He had all the confirmation information together and got us through the check in process in less than 10 minutes, but we probably spent 20 minutes with my children chatting with him about their first trip to LA. Even the gift shop manager stayed AFTER the shop's closing time one day to help us map out a quick sightseeing trip. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best I've had. It offers a great variety of croissants, bagels, toast and fresh waffles as well as sausage, eggs and cereal. Also the breakfast space was large enough that, even at the busiest of times, my party of five could always find a place to sit together. While the pool was small I liked its gated privacy, babbling water fountain, and landscaping. It was a nice oasis in the concrete jungle surrounding it. I think the best compliment I can give the Hollywood Hotel is that I will definitely try to book there again on my next trip to LA. It's a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metro!!! It's one block from the hotel and will get you to all the sightseeing places quickly without the hassle of trying to park a car. Also, if you like to venture out on your own, you can walk to Santa Monica Blvd. and Melrose from the hotel but the staff can help you with all types and prices on tours.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Halle, Germany
May 9, 2009

Solid hotel

Good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hope, VA
Dec 27, 2009

ramada

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

universal studios

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Metuchen New Jersey
Aug 12, 2009

Great location for the price

The location of this hotel is great, however I hated having to pay for parking while I spend a week there we had booked a king size bed they gave us a queen size.They did apologize but they could not help. Breakfast is great.Staff very friendly. Would use it again while visiting my son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Hollywood walk of fame, and other local L.A. attractions

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hermie
Business
Alice TX
Jan 20, 2010

Great place with affordable price

We had a great stay in the hotel,it's far from the airport but near to the heart of the city.I'm thankful because I've chosen the right hotel where everything is accessible.Metro rail is just a few blocks away and can bring you to the places you want to be with cheap fare.it's our first time to LA but the front desk staff made us feel at home,they are so friendly,helpful and courteous.We enjoyed our first day of stay,we were able to see downtown LA,Beverly Hills,Hollywood and Universal Studios it's raining but we enjoyed a lot especially our son.I strongly recomend this hotel to travelers and we would surely come back again.Good place with affordable price and with friendly staffs.High five!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top