$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnyside boy
Business
Lansing, NY 14850, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Good value

Very nice staff, we also had fun going to the comedy shows at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob's Big Boy
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Weekend Trip

Checked in at 10pm and gentleman at desk was helping guests set up a tour. No problem except he did not acknowledge my presence until he finished with the other guests. The room was very small and not that special for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the LA County Museum of Art.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
greenway gal
Business
nj
Jul 18, 2011

would definitey recommend

This hotel is in a great location for everything, beach, mountains, Hollywood, downtown LA etc. The actual street was a bit shabby and run down, I was glad we had locked parking facilities. However, that did cost $18 per day but I booked knowing that. there are gas stations, rite aid and grocery stores all very close. just a shirt drive from Griffith observatory. The was a great selection for brekfast and there was laundry facilities which was useful for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Within a couple of blocks there was lots of places to eat. We enjoyed the Mongolian BBQ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
greenway gal
Business
nj
Jul 18, 2011

would definitey recommend

This hotel is in a great location for everything, beach, mountains, Hollywood, downtown LA etc. The actual street was a bit shabby and run down, I was glad we had locked parking facilities. However, that did cost $18 per day but I booked knowing that. there are gas stations, rite aid and grocery stores all very close. just a shirt drive from Griffith observatory. The was a great selection for brekfast and there was laundry facilities which was useful for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Within a couple of blocks there was lots of places to eat. We enjoyed the Mongolian BBQ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 7, 2011

50/50

We were there for play and for work, and needed a place that was clean, had some activity and close to where we needed to be.Some of the staff was friendly and some just didnt care. The room was nice, clean bed, but in the bathroom there was left over q-tips and used razor and foot scrapper...pretty nasty. I explained and front desk stated they will have someone clean it....they never came and when I contacted a room attendant on my own she came, made the bed, but never cleaned the previous persons stuff..so it is still there! I advised Front desk manager, he said he was sorry, and nothing else. I was charged twice for my room, and could not get the monies reversed till I checked out.The pool was nice and clean, the breakfast buffet was ok. Area was a little shady, but I did enjoy the recommendations for restaurants which were great. I would go back...at a discount and only through [...], safer to pay that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would drive if you ahve family jsut due to area, but it was great to see other parts of LA. Yuca tacos shop GREAT!, the Big Mama & Pappa pizza great, close to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
middle class traveler
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 26, 2011

Good value and secure

Parking ($20 a day but worth it) and hotel were secure which was nice after driving by other hotels we viewed in this price range. Breakfast area was excellent. Room so-so. Bathroom small. Basically no closet. No table or chairs (no room). No in room safe. Nice bedding and TV. Nice to have fridge and micro. Location pretty convenient to all Hollywood attractions. Take Metro to Hollywood Blvd and Universal Studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

TV studios (CBS, NBC, Warner Bros) all short drive. Tonight Show was great experience. Price is Right not so good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewiston, ID
Jun 25, 2011

Watch Out!

The hotel itself is very nice...the service and attitude is terrible! The main problem that everyone should be aware of is that your sheets are not changed! We wouldn't mind not having the sheet changed BUT they flip the sheets from head to toe so that it appears they've changed them ....that's just WRONG! When I said this to the front desk I was told "sorry". To conserve or save money is fine...just make the bed or not..but don't flip the sheets ...ICK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Restaurants in Los Feliz (about 3/4 mile walk) are great...especially Palermo Italian :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Temecula
Apr 29, 2011

Nice Hotel

For this trip we just needed something close to Hollywood. Even though the hotel says Hollywood Hotel it's not in Hollywood, but close enough :-) The staff was nice and professional. The room was clean. The bathroom was a bit small/cramped but served it's purpose. There was a vanity in the room that worked well for my girlfriend. The breakfast was very good with your standard cold items. Hot items included silver dollar style scrambled eggs, sausage links, and fresh made waffles. We weren't there long enough to use the pool. The beds were nice but firm. All in all a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shar bear
Business
Seattle, wa
Mar 24, 2011

A ridiculous experience

A group of friends and I stayed here during the Pac-10 tournament. It was semi-close to Staples Center. It was in an okay location with a couple of bars, restaurants, and grocery stores around. However, it is 40 minutes away from the airport. So if you are not willing to pay $80 for a cab ride, find other transportation. The staff was non-informative from check-in to check-out. The lady at the desk took our money and gave us our keys. She did not inform us about the pool hours, sauna, fitness center, or breakfast. Nothing. Our hotel keys took at least 10 swipes to enter in our room, so we had to get new keys. And the same lady gave a big stink about it. The wi-fi. . . forget it, don't expect to connect and stay on for very long. Not great tv channels (maybe 30 channels) with a bad, fuzzy picture (even on a flatscreen tv). Overall, customer service was horrible. However, the room was clean enough and the free, continental breakfast was a plus. Also, the room had a fridge and a microwave. If this hotel wasn't clean, I would want my money back and find another hotel. So if you are looking for great customer service, this hotel is not the place for you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Affordable, you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GingerNinja
Business
U.K
Jan 20, 2011

Good hotel

A good clean room and a nice hotel. Although it says Hollywood its not. However the Metro is on the same block so its a couple of stops to Hollywood and 2 more to Universal. Nothing around the hotel at night and I was disappointed to see that the hotel bar was closed during my stay as going out local isn't an option

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top