$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Temecula
Apr 29, 2011

Nice Hotel

For this trip we just needed something close to Hollywood. Even though the hotel says Hollywood Hotel it's not in Hollywood, but close enough :-) The staff was nice and professional. The room was clean. The bathroom was a bit small/cramped but served it's purpose. There was a vanity in the room that worked well for my girlfriend. The breakfast was very good with your standard cold items. Hot items included silver dollar style scrambled eggs, sausage links, and fresh made waffles. We weren't there long enough to use the pool. The beds were nice but firm. All in all a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shar bear
Business
Seattle, wa
Mar 24, 2011

A ridiculous experience

A group of friends and I stayed here during the Pac-10 tournament. It was semi-close to Staples Center. It was in an okay location with a couple of bars, restaurants, and grocery stores around. However, it is 40 minutes away from the airport. So if you are not willing to pay $80 for a cab ride, find other transportation. The staff was non-informative from check-in to check-out. The lady at the desk took our money and gave us our keys. She did not inform us about the pool hours, sauna, fitness center, or breakfast. Nothing. Our hotel keys took at least 10 swipes to enter in our room, so we had to get new keys. And the same lady gave a big stink about it. The wi-fi. . . forget it, don't expect to connect and stay on for very long. Not great tv channels (maybe 30 channels) with a bad, fuzzy picture (even on a flatscreen tv). Overall, customer service was horrible. However, the room was clean enough and the free, continental breakfast was a plus. Also, the room had a fridge and a microwave. If this hotel wasn't clean, I would want my money back and find another hotel. So if you are looking for great customer service, this hotel is not the place for you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Affordable, you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GingerNinja
Business
U.K
Jan 20, 2011

Good hotel

A good clean room and a nice hotel. Although it says Hollywood its not. However the Metro is on the same block so its a couple of stops to Hollywood and 2 more to Universal. Nothing around the hotel at night and I was disappointed to see that the hotel bar was closed during my stay as going out local isn't an option

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
no nickname thanks.
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 14, 2011

Hollywood Hotel has no wifi

The hotel was clean, quiet, comfortable and centrally located. The price was right and the linens were nice, cotton duvets and not shiny polyester bedspreads. The wifi was very very slow however, practically useless for anything other than checking email and not even very good at that. Technical support was no help either. I would probably recommend, but with the caveat that you will get no business done while there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Docajb
Business
Palm Harbor, Fl
Dec 21, 2010

Bad Bad Bad

All rooms are supposed to be non smoking, but the smell of the room is terrible. The area is not so safe unfortunately. Small breakfast buffet but it's alright. Parking is NOT FREE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Pasadena old city and Americana plaza in Glendale are both a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madera, CA
Dec 15, 2010

Perfect Stay

The staff was professional and friendly. The rooms looked newly upgraded and in good order, spacious and had little extras like big screen TV, microwave and refridgerator. The parking ($20/night) was in a gated lot, well lit and, like the hotel, in beautiful condition. The breakfast (included) was suprisingly good and featured waffles hot off the griddle, eggs, sausage, muffins, toast, bagels, cereal, fruit and much more. We were really pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Central location to many attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pullman, WA
Nov 25, 2010

Comfortable Trip

Its really a comfortable hotel, and I spent 5 days there with my friends, fantastic experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GameShowLoser
Business
Buena Park, Ca
Nov 21, 2010

Beautiful, clean hotel

I had free tickets to be on a game show in Hollywood, so we decided to stay here. The employees could have been a bit more cheerful, but other than that, it was a beautiful, clean hotel. It was decorated nicely, had great smelling amenities, and was just overall a very pleasant stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Nov 20, 2010

Great Little Hotel

This is a clean, updated, centrally located hotel. Carpeting and rooms were very clean. They all have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee service, etc. Also free internet. The parking does cost $18 per night, but the lot is very secure. This neighborhood is not bad, it's rather normal for L.A.. The staff was really nice and helpful. All in all it's not the Hyatt, but it's very comfortable and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Nov 9, 2010

th hollywood hotel

have stayed at this propperty many times. It is very convient for my needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top