$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

I will definately come back

I really liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly and a free continental breakfast was better than what i thought. The location is perfect for thos who are planning to visit Hollywood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Hollywood

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

I've enjoyed staying at this hotel!

I've read many reviews on this hotel andrealized that reviews are different depending on their expectation. I agree with so many reviews.. This is not the greatest, luxurious, fancy hotel... But this is the great for its location, service and room size. I would definately come back and stay at this hotel if I have a chance to visit Hollywood, Downtown or Korea Town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Korea town- BBQ Chiken

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hyunbbayi
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Awesome place

This is an awesome place. I totally recommend this place for travelers with family and freids visiting hollywood!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bbq chiken

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RogerC
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Very tired hotel. NOT 3 star.

I have stayed here a few times in the past, under different management. Unfortunately the new ownership hasn't invested a dime in this place; it is still 30 to 40 year old room decor and baths. Even in a "junior suite" there wasn't even a desk located where the internet jack was, so to do any computer work you have to sit on the floor. Totally NOT a 3-star property. If this hotel was $89, then you'd get what you paid for. Very much NOT worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAdo
Business
Texas
Jan 8, 2012

Dream trip

Hotel room was great and breakfast was great! Very clean! But I hated being charged 19 dollars a day for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CareWat
Business
Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Great Experience

Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was inlcuded and the location was about a black from the metro. Great for people who are new to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the metro to your advantage! It is so much cheaper than a cab or renting a car.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jstuck
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Nice Hotel in slightly rough neighborhood

I don't ever travel, so it's hard for me to compare my hotel with others, but I'll try. This hotel is really pretty nice in spite of the neighborhood it's in. I arrived to a real shock when I was informed they charge $20 per day (after taxes) for parking, but you need to have it due to the slightly rough neighborhood. As the desk clerk put it, "you can park on the street, but I wouldn't". And he's right ! I got a really good deal on a rental car from FOX rental, so I didn't mind paying this added fee. The location is pretty good - near Universal Studios, Kodak Theater, Jimmy Kimmel Live, Sunset & Vine, Hollywood Blvd, Griffith Observatory, Burbank, Studio City, etc. Clean rooms (and Hotel) with a nice breakfast. I'd recommend it to friends, but warn them about the parking situation and to not wander after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjmjmjmj
Business
merced, ca
Nov 16, 2011

Good stuff

Hotel and room was beautiful, staff was minimal but friendly. Breafast was fantastic and comes with the hotel room. Rooms were very nice and were clean. Location is not great but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Bombastic
Business
Seattle
Nov 13, 2011

A decent place to stay

I was traveling to LA for the USC-UW game and spent Thursday and Friday night (Nov. 10-11) at this hotel. The check-in was smooth and there were no problems with my reservation. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. My room was 103, just off the entry lobby. This was a convenient location for coming and going, and also to take the elevator down to the complimentary breakfast each morning. It was somewhat noisy, as I could easily hear louder voices in the lobby (partly because of the tile floor in the lobby and hallway), but it quieted down at night, so it was never a nuisance. The surrounding neighborhood is not the greatest, but the hotel is on a main thoroughfare and there are plenty of people out and about, so I walked around both days- including at night - and never feared for my personal safety. There is a Metro station just a couple blocks down Vermont, which is handy. There is also a huge neighborhood flea market on weekends (which appeared to be 100% Latino; having a little Spanish-speaking ability comes in handy), just a couple blocks south of the Metro station. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was excellent. The people serving you are very friendly and attentive. The maid stafff was also very accommodating. The room itself was clean and comfortable. It's a 3-star type hotel; it's older and shows its age here and there (VERY slow elevator, among other things). The guy who checked me out in the morning was not friendly at all, but he was the only person on the hotel staff I dealt with who was not. Overall a good value for the price I paid ($96 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Paul's is one of the best little local finds you could encounter anywhere. It's run by a real "mom & pop" (Paul is the "pop") who have been operating it for 46 years. The food is delicious (fresh ingredients), the pizza is thin crust (unless you ask for it differently) and made to perfection. They have more than just pizza, too. Excellent pasta dishes, sandwiches, and more. Go south from the hotel down Vermont past LA City College to Melrose Ave., turn right (west) and go 2-1/2 blocks and Pizza Paul's is on your left. You'll be glad you did.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
avgandrew
Business
Atlantic City, NJ, USA
Nov 13, 2011

hollywood hotel

large clean hotel/rooms centrally located near hollywood blvd. twenty dollar fee to park in gated lot a necessity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

head ne to glendale area for dining in a more upscale area

Back to menu Return to top