$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
261 reviews
nice hotel in hollywood

It was great, not a lot around it really within walking distance of interest but central enough to... See full review

  • Jennapples
  • Jul 25, 2014
Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was... See full review

  • Amy in Hollywood
  • Mar 27, 2014
The Hollywood Historic Hotel opened in 1927 at the beginning of the early glamour days of Hollywood. Recently restored, the hotel honors the Old Hollywood Era and style. Built by acclaimed architect S. Charles Lee, The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a historic landmark of the "Golden Era". The hallways and rooms adorn black and white photos of the 1920's and 30's Hollywood and the celebrities of it's time. Hollywood Historic Hotel is located on the famous Melrose Ave. and is just ONE block away from Paramount Pictures/ Paramount Studios and 10 minutes away from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The rooms offer nostalgic views of the Hollywood Sign, Griffith Observatory and Downtown Los Angeles Skyscrapers. A landmark property in the heart of Hollywood. The Hollywood Historic Hotel rooms offer state of the art card key locks, LCD TV's with premium channels,stainless steel refrigerators, coffee makers with coffee and condiments,high quality linens,towels,amenities and spacious Eastern King beds. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Parking is Free. Must be 18 or older to check in. Please note that the deposit policy is $100 due upon check in per room per stay.

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 261
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelingScorpion
London, UK
Jan 15, 2011

Terrible hotel!

Well was expecting a bit more out of this hotel for what was advertised, they basically have one staff member watching door day and night with no security what so ever, people are free to park and enter the hotel as they please. Signs around the hotel advising you not to leave valuables in your room doesnt help the situation either, good job it was just a place for me and my wife to lay our heads for two nights. Any longer and i may have started to feel a little nervous, esspecially with some of the characters walking around locally. Best o pay a bit more and book somewhere near or on the Hollywood Boulevard, you will be better of for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Also Hollywood boulevard is about 10 minute drive there you can park you car for roughly about $10 for the whole day, so your free to go and explore!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A very concerned citizen.
DSM, IA.
May 20, 2013

THE MOST HORRENDOUS EXPERIENCE

I had to stay at this hotel and i checked in with my daughter. It had only one guy at the front desk, no security, nothing! Rooms are HOT, NOISY and UNSAFE! No women, mothers or families should stay here. It is fit to stay for hooligans, drug addicts and gamblers/gangsters. No phones in the room, no fans(which can be turned on without having to turn on the light, if the fan is on the light has to be on??). NOBODY helps you if you need help. I had to leave my room in the middle of the night because I felt my safety threatened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Laguna Beach, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Hollywood Historic Hotel

I went with my sister. It was worn down and didn't have an elevator, ice machine or phone in the room. The room smelled like body odor and didn't feel very clean. When we came home the evening we were staying there, our tv had been turned on, and we didn't do it. And the topping on the experience was finding a roach the size of a mouse scurrying from my luggage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CASHG
ORNAGE COUNTY, CA
Oct 13, 2012

HOLLYWOOD HISTORIC HOTEL, LOS ANGELS

I HAD BOOKED 3 STAR HOTEL, BUT IT HARDLY DESERVES 1 STAR. NO PHONE IN ROOM, NO RESTAURANT, NO HOTEL SECURITY AT NIGHT, NOISY EVEN AT 11 PM, CONSTRUCTION WORK GOING ON UNTIL MIDNIGHT. AT 10 PM , HOTEL MANAGER SAYS THAT NOISE FROM MOVING / CONSTRUCTION WILL STOP IN 15 MINUTES, BUT IT CONTINUED UNTIL MIDNIGHT. IT STOPPED ONLY AFTER 3 CALLS FROM MY CELL. THE MANAGER HANGED UP THE PHONE INSTEAD OF STOPPING NOISE FROM THE ROOM ABOVE US. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. WORST HOTEL EVER STAYED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
menainsb
santa barbara
Dec 1, 2013

Old but okay

The place is really old and its good for people who likes to stay in places where are ancient. But I think I'd rather go places where are more modern. The hallways are full of old pictures. The lobby looks very magnificent. Yet the equipments arent very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
TX
Jan 16, 2011

does not live up to a three-star hotel.

pros: good location, reasonable price.cons: poor management, amateur service, noisy room.We reserved two rooms four nights for our recent trip in LA. On the evening we arrived, the guy at the front desk looks like a part-time worker, and he said there was only one room reserved in the system. We were given two rooms at that night but it took us a hour or two the next morning talking with [...]and the hotel about the error. [...]did not gave us feed back in 24 hours, though they promised to. We called in the hotel in the afternoon and the manager told us he corrected the mistake, but did not apologize.There is no elevator in the hotel. The room on the Melrose side is quite noisy in the evening and early morning. The bathroom is very small. One evening, we returned the hotel discovering the room was not cleaned with the tip gone! Again, the front desk guy did not apologize.Overall, we will not visit this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Korean town not far, maybe 10-15 minutes walk. If you like Korean BBQ, you will enjoy a lot of restaurants there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
notav
oakland ca
Jun 20, 2011

Not so great but not so bad

The hotel is quiet in side noisy out front, needs new carpet and few other amenities. No phones, no extra power outlets, no shelves in med cabinet in sink, lower water pressure than expected, slow drains. Staff was very nice, housekeeping accidentally picked up kids pjs and never found them again due to sending laundry off site. Nice ample parking, not a good area to be walking around, nothing to do in the hotel at all except be in your room and watch tv - would stay there again if i did not have family with

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
LI.
Jun 23, 2010

Just a stay

All it was was 2 nite stay there was nothing else there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brinkstrucks
Kentwood, MI
Jan 28, 2014

You get what you pay for

Hollywood is expensive; this hotel is well located, but definitely not top of the line. Electrical outlets did not work; room temp. could not be controlled. Did have very nice staff however, and we felt secure as women in the hotel and the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and her High School Graduate
Spokane, WA
Jun 9, 2011

Great Location

Can't beat the location, price and free parking. The rooms are clean, we felt safe, but is a typical old building. Do not stay here if you are looking for continental breakfast, hair dryers, room service or even elevators. Staff is nice and helpful. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a Denny's about 2.0 miles away for breakfast, and you can find anything you want on Sunset Blvd, which is also less than 2.0 miles from the hotel. I recommend renting a car if you stay here (free parking) then your options are unlimited. If you do not have a car, you might not be too happy, not much within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search