$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
269 reviews
Wonderful Hotel in Hollywood

Front desk was great. Room was super clean, bathroom as well. Would definitely stay again and... See full review

  • MCMCMC
  • Oct 20, 2014
Old Hollywood Vibe and Great Location

I booked this hotel with about 75% confidence that everything would turn out alright, and my... See full review

  • Fairest Traveler
  • Oct 13, 2014
1920s era hotel with free parking and Wi-Fi in Hollywood, Los Angeles
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Policies and fees
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 269
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CASHG
Business
ORNAGE COUNTY, CA
Oct 13, 2012

HOLLYWOOD HISTORIC HOTEL, LOS ANGELS

I HAD BOOKED 3 STAR HOTEL, BUT IT HARDLY DESERVES 1 STAR. NO PHONE IN ROOM, NO RESTAURANT, NO HOTEL SECURITY AT NIGHT, NOISY EVEN AT 11 PM, CONSTRUCTION WORK GOING ON UNTIL MIDNIGHT. AT 10 PM , HOTEL MANAGER SAYS THAT NOISE FROM MOVING / CONSTRUCTION WILL STOP IN 15 MINUTES, BUT IT CONTINUED UNTIL MIDNIGHT. IT STOPPED ONLY AFTER 3 CALLS FROM MY CELL. THE MANAGER HANGED UP THE PHONE INSTEAD OF STOPPING NOISE FROM THE ROOM ABOVE US. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. WORST HOTEL EVER STAYED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A very concerned citizen.
Business
DSM, IA.
May 20, 2013

THE MOST HORRENDOUS EXPERIENCE

I had to stay at this hotel and i checked in with my daughter. It had only one guy at the front desk, no security, nothing! Rooms are HOT, NOISY and UNSAFE! No women, mothers or families should stay here. It is fit to stay for hooligans, drug addicts and gamblers/gangsters. No phones in the room, no fans(which can be turned on without having to turn on the light, if the fan is on the light has to be on??). NOBODY helps you if you need help. I had to leave my room in the middle of the night because I felt my safety threatened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelingScorpion
Business
London, UK
Jan 15, 2011

Terrible hotel!

Well was expecting a bit more out of this hotel for what was advertised, they basically have one staff member watching door day and night with no security what so ever, people are free to park and enter the hotel as they please. Signs around the hotel advising you not to leave valuables in your room doesnt help the situation either, good job it was just a place for me and my wife to lay our heads for two nights. Any longer and i may have started to feel a little nervous, esspecially with some of the characters walking around locally. Best o pay a bit more and book somewhere near or on the Hollywood Boulevard, you will be better of for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Also Hollywood boulevard is about 10 minute drive there you can park you car for roughly about $10 for the whole day, so your free to go and explore!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Hollywood Historic Hotel

I went with my sister. It was worn down and didn't have an elevator, ice machine or phone in the room. The room smelled like body odor and didn't feel very clean. When we came home the evening we were staying there, our tv had been turned on, and we didn't do it. And the topping on the experience was finding a roach the size of a mouse scurrying from my luggage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere, WI
May 30, 2011

Cheap hotel

Convenient in terms of location. Cheaper than most available around the area. No amenities but. Excellent view of the Hollywood sign from the room that we were staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MartyW
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Nothing special

My husband, daughter & I went for a quick 1 day trip to Hollywood. I booked this hotel and wasn't looking for a high end hotel, but I was hoping it would be a little more up to date and cleaner. This hotel is definitely an old hotel and needs so revamping & TLC. It wasn't a horrible experience but I don't forsee us ever staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is in a good location, close to the nearby Hollywood attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
menainsb
Business
santa barbara
Dec 1, 2013

Old but okay

The place is really old and its good for people who likes to stay in places where are ancient. But I think I'd rather go places where are more modern. The hallways are full of old pictures. The lobby looks very magnificent. Yet the equipments arent very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brinkstrucks
Business
Kentwood, MI
Jan 28, 2014

You get what you pay for

Hollywood is expensive; this hotel is well located, but definitely not top of the line. Electrical outlets did not work; room temp. could not be controlled. Did have very nice staff however, and we felt secure as women in the hotel and the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, Ca
Apr 22, 2011

Never Again!

This hotel is not walking distance from Hollywood Blvd...you have to take a cab or your car and then pay to park close to the main attractions in Hollywood. This hotel is historic alright! No elevator...we had to lug our luggage two flights of stairs. The rooms are old and the window coverings kept falling off the window. The street noise is unbelievable. The bathrooms have a tiny sink with no outlet available there or even close to it. This was a dive and will never stay again! Pay the extra $10 to $20 to really get a 3 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Jan 16, 2011

does not live up to a three-star hotel.

pros: good location, reasonable price.cons: poor management, amateur service, noisy room.We reserved two rooms four nights for our recent trip in LA. On the evening we arrived, the guy at the front desk looks like a part-time worker, and he said there was only one room reserved in the system. We were given two rooms at that night but it took us a hour or two the next morning talking with [...]and the hotel about the error. [...]did not gave us feed back in 24 hours, though they promised to. We called in the hotel in the afternoon and the manager told us he corrected the mistake, but did not apologize.There is no elevator in the hotel. The room on the Melrose side is quite noisy in the evening and early morning. The bathroom is very small. One evening, we returned the hotel discovering the room was not cleaned with the tip gone! Again, the front desk guy did not apologize.Overall, we will not visit this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Korean town not far, maybe 10-15 minutes walk. If you like Korean BBQ, you will enjoy a lot of restaurants there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top