$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indonesia
Dec 5, 2010

not too good

the tv and tv cable was good... the hotel doesnt have lift..so its difficult to bring large suitcase when you are in third floor... the room and bathroom was clean but in old condition..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

universal studio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kama`aina
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 7, 2010

Not hysterical over the "historical"

Old room in old hotel--no desk lamp, no telephone, no this, no that. Floor wasn't level; bathroom wasn't remodeled. Noisy! Nice parking lot, though! Front desk was reasonably helpful; maid service was slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield
Oct 31, 2010

Noisy

The hotel was reasonably clean, but with few amenities. I had a corner room above Melrose and Wilton and it was quite noisy. Neighborhood leave a bit to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Reasonably close to the heart of Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Escondido, CA
Jun 7, 2010

Historic Hollywood hotel

Hotel was still remodeling. No phone in room. No elevator or if they had one it did not work. No ice or vending machines. Room was clean and comfortable. OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anthony Randolph
Business
Pittsburg, California
Jun 16, 2014

just ok

Room only came with a king bed although I was told I could get a roll away. In the amenities, the room was suppose to have a microwave, but it didn't. the bathroom was extremely small. however, the location was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KB in T Town
Business
Tucson
Jul 14, 2014

A Place To Sleep

This is a great place if you are looking to "sleep" somewhere. The hotel is clean enough. There are no amenities - not even an ice maker on the premise or a phone in the room. The café featured in on the website was not what we expected. We were hoping for a traditional pancake and egg breakfast - it is not. Parking was free and easy. Location was an easy drive to most destinations. Not a place I would want to stay had the children been with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere, WI
May 30, 2011

Cheap hotel

Convenient in terms of location. Cheaper than most available around the area. No amenities but. Excellent view of the Hollywood sign from the room that we were staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
Jun 29, 2010

Appropriate for the price

This hotel was what I expected from the price. It's definitely bare bones and no frills. I brought my own sheets and towels to use. The street noise required ear plugs, there was no outlet in the bathroom (but there WERE ants), and the table lamp flickered on and off. However, it fit my budget for this trip and I only needed a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Wanted someplace semi close to Hollywood Blvd, without the Hollywood price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Apr 8, 2011

Just a place to sleep

This hotel is in Korea Town. Very old the room was clean NO ELEVATOR. It was just a place to sleep. A little sketch no hotel desk phone just an 800 number to call. You get what you pay for so $59.00 a night it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LA lover
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jun 10, 2010

Clean, good location but could be better

Pros: great view of the Hollywood sign & Griffith Observatory (if you get a room on the front side of the hotel), great private gated parking lot, fairly close drive to Hollywood & several highways, nice flat screen tv in the room, very clean for an older hotel & coffee maker included. Cons: No elevator, MY room didn't have an AC machine.. half of the hotel has AC available, but wasn't even offered it as an option when I checked in. When I arrived there were only about 5 other cars in the whole parking lot, so that means there were over 100 other rooms open. I was really disappointed when I asked about my room not having AC, the front desk STILL didn't ask me if I wanted to change or anything. The windows don't have any screens on them so if you have to open a window instead, good luck w/bugs @ night. Overall, I would stay here again because of the price I paid ($62) & the cleanliness. But, I'll have to make sure I get an AC room next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top