$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
286 reviews
nice hotel in hollywood

It was great, not a lot around it really within walking distance of interest but central enough to... See full review

  • Jennapples
  • Jul 25, 2014
Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was... See full review

  • Amy in Hollywood
  • Mar 27, 2014
1920s era hotel with free parking and Wi-Fi in Hollywood, Los Angeles
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Policies and fees
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eli62
los angeles
Oct 30, 2011

the bed was bad

after the checkin we had to pic up our luggages alone 3 floors by stairs.there is no elevator. location good-not far from hollywood.restroom uncomfortable.the parking is great just neer the back entrance of the hotel/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glee
Fresno, CA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Good Location & Parking

This place seems to equate historic with old & musty. Carpets on stairs & hallways badly spotted and in need of a good shampoo or change out. This leaves me to wonder about the extent of cleaning in the rooms. Drapes and beadspread appeared old & musty. Our bathroom was clean, but did have some ants. Room did not have a phone and had only one chair. There was a card with instructions to call an 800- number to reach the desk. The advertised Wi-Fi did not work during the 2 1/2 days we were there. The location was good and parking a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful restaurant named "Cafe Gratitude" about a mile away on Larchmont, just south of Melrose (near Paramount Studios). Fresh, organic, vegan food prepared with love and based on the philosophy of sacred commerce. A great find that made up for the mediocrity of the hotel.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMan11
Los Angeles
Nov 20, 2011

Uncomfortable, Loud

Bed and pillows were like rocks and you're right next to a noisy street and the windows don't block any sound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChrisMatthews
Bay Area, CA
Dec 5, 2011

DO NOT BE DECEIVED!

Before my husband and I decided to stay here, we looked through the online pictures and were interested in the old charm that it had. However, upon arrival (to the middle of nowhere LA, might I add), we realized that the pictures were COMPLETELY deceiving. The room was practically the size of a closet, with barely enough space on either side of the queen-size bed to move around. There weren't enough outlets in the room, so we had to take turns charging our cell phones. Additionally, there were no outlets in the bathroom, so I ended up straightening my hair in the closet space of a room and tripping over my own luggage in the process. The windows DO NOT block out sound whatsoever. Any time a car outside drove by, turned on, whatever, we heard it. This made sleeping at night very difficult. Beware of parking your car behind the hotel. They may claim to have surveillance, but this is not the safest neighborhood in LA. Lastly, no elevators! You're forced to haul however much luggage you have up a steep flight of stairs before arriving at your 2x2 room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lujreyes
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Dec 30, 2011

Could be much better with a little more effort

I travel with my wife on December 2011. For the price we paid we already knew that the hotel wouldn't be 5 start material. I think that what you get for your money is about fair: - Rooms reasonably clean. No bed bugs, no funny smells. - Staff polite as long as you didn't ask for anything beyond saying hi. The first day we discover that the maids took the cover out of our bed and just folded inside of the closet. We complained but we didn't get the staff to correct the situation. We didn't insist because we just thought of it as weird but not something that really bothered us. - Location in my opinion is perfect. We could get by to all the places we wanted without any hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to try one of the stand up comedy shows. They will definitively make your day!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Violet Marks
New York, NY, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Bed bug warning + an objective review and advice on this hotel

This hotel has bed bugs, and they admitted they’ve had problems in the past but have always addressed them right away. We moved out of our first room (no bed bugs) due to the noise. The person at the front desk moved us to room 205, and we immediately checked for bed bugs under the sheets. We didn’t find any, but we did see that there was a plastic covering around the mattress--evidence that they’ve had a bed bug problem in the room before. After our first night in the new room we woke up with a ton of bites. Later that day we were watching a movie on the bedspread and I saw a bed bug crawling on one of us. It was a classic bed bug, gorged in blood. We squished it and immediately showed the person at the front desk. He apologized profusely and instantly refunded our money for the rest of our stay, and we got the heck out of there for another hotel. What I would have written had there been no bed bugs: Before you book your hotel here, you need to have the appropriate expectations of what you’re getting. What you will get is: cheap accomodations akin to a college dorm room or hostel; hairdryer only upon request; shabby bed spread but generally clean sheets that may have a few spots; stained desk chair seat; generally old decor and furnishings; stark white tile bathroom that’s a little grungy but still ‘clean’; no central heat--they have a plug-in heater in every room; nice flat screen TV; internet that can be spotty. If you go in with these expectations, and the fact that you’re only paying something like $65/night for Los Angeles, then you will be fine. I would recommend requesting a room facing the parking lot, since the windows are extremely thin and if you get a room facing the road you will hear loud traffic all night. During our stay there were 2 individuals manning the front desk; one was really snippy and sarcastic, the other was extremely kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sidewalk Grill is fantastic (and CHEAP for the quality/amount you get)! Definitely make a trip over there!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bobsky
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

pics look better than reality

ok. no elevator, supposedly remodeled 2 years ago but not really. best parts are the free parking and wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CALI12
New York
May 29, 2012

Easily rivals a cheap hooker motel.

This was the worst hotel i have been in. #1- The location said it would be close to everything..close to everything BY CAR!!And by close they mean like 30 minutes so GET YOUR WALLETS READY! It was not at walking distance to anything interesting but Paramount Pictures #2-The Elevator was out of order.. the carpets were stained ... there was no phone on the room, no garbage cans, the staff was VERY RUDE and i was told (by a person who lives next door) this building was occupied by hookers at some point). #3- The view is a parking lot, there is no room service, the lamp didn't work lol, and its close to a cemetery. Need i say more ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bently
New Jersey, USA
Jun 14, 2012

OK for the money. I would not go again.

Elevator was not working through out the stay. Carried luggage to third floor. Main road traffic and noise. No breakfast offered. No food close by except for a nice cafe in the building. Desk persons not very friendly, and rude. Free parking was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Living on a budget
Oakland, CA
Nov 3, 2012

I suggest other accomidations

I was in town for a short period and was looking for a good deal. The cost for this location was reasonable but found it to be blow standards which I am accustom to and the area was very bad. My suggestion is to spend a little more money and get something more modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search