$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
360 reviews
nice hotel in hollywood

It was great, not a lot around it really within walking distance of interest but central enough to... See full review

  • Jennapples
  • Jul 25, 2014
Well worth a stay!

I had a great time at the Hollywood Historic Hotel. Free parking is a huge plus, and my room was... See full review

  • Amy in Hollywood
  • Mar 27, 2014
1920s era hotel with free parking and Wi-Fi in Hollywood, Los Angeles
Affordable accommodations are more than just a Hollywood dream at the restored white and red brick Hollywood Historic Hotel. The property is family-owned just one block from Paramount Pictures on Melrose Avenue. After a day in Hollywood, come back through an arched entrance to narrow carpeted hallways of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with black-and-white 1920s-era star photos and a room that offers its original windows and, in some, a view of the Hollywood sign. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Location
The Hollywood Historic Hotel stretches a block wide in the middle of Los Angeles. The nearest freeway is Highway 101. Visitors of the Hollywood Historic Hotel with a personal vehicle find the best of Hollywood within a short drive.
Rooms
The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a European style guesthouse hotel with simplified amenities and artistic furniture. Black-and-white framed photos of Old Hollywood adorn every interior. All 62 rooms boast private bathrooms, large beds (one king or two queens) and a desk. Windows, doors, mirrors and bathtubs are the original fixtures of the building. Air conditioning, bath products, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators and 32-inch LCD TVs are provided. Hairdryers and iron/ironing boards are available upon request. Feel safe with interior hallway access (stairs only, no elevator) and electronic key card entry. Views at the Hollywood Historic Hotel are of the Hollywood sign, Griffith Observatory or greater Los Angeles.
Features
The Hollywood Historic Hotel tells a snapshot story of Old Hollywood in restored stained glass and gilded baroque accents through the small lobby. This hotel is owned and furnished by the family who operates the handcraft furniture store on street level of the same building. The front desk of the Hollywood Historic Hotel is open 24 hours. Guests enjoy the free high-speed wireless Internet access and parking.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Vermont Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Pictures (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Larchmont Village shops and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pantages Theatre (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Kodak Theatre/Hollywood Walk of Fame (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Staples Center (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
Policies and fees
  • An incidental deposit of $100.00 per room/per stay is required.
  • The property charges $100 USD deposit fee per room per stay, collected upon check in.
  • Must be 18 or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0835 -118.3128
Area served
Hollywood Los Angeles West Hollywood, CA.
Nearby airports
Los Angeges (LAX) Burbank (BUR).
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood on the famous Melrose Avenue. One block from Paramount Pictures and Studios. 10 minutes from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Pantages Theater, El Capitan Theater, Griffith Observatory, the popular restaurants and clubs and Downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from Larchmont Village for shopping or dining.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Historic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hollywood Historic Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Non Smoking King bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffeemaker/coffee,refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.
Deluxe - 3 - Star
One Smoking King size bed with 32 LCD TV and premium cable channels, coffemaker/coffee, refrigerator, free parking, Hollywood/Downtown view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 1.4 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 2.4 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • The Grove: 2.7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 2.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 2.8 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.5 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Kitson: 4.1 mi
  • Music Center: 4.1 mi
  • Pershing Square: 4.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 4.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 4.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 4.7 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 4.8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 5.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.5 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 7.4 mi
  • University of California: 7.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 7.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 7.7 mi
  • UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 9.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Center: 9.3 mi
  • Getty Villa: 14.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
360 out of 360
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ishi
San Francisco, CA
Apr 4, 2014

DUPED! Not provided with the NON-SMOKING room I was promised

I had called weeks ahead and the night before to be assured a NON-SMOKING room. The evening I arrived, I was informed that they simply did not have any left despite my reservation and no apology or compensation made...Windowsill was filthy with cigarettes:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Griffith Observatory

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2008shangdi
Ames, IA
Jan 14, 2013

not good hotel

I don't like this hotel. The building look pretty, but in the room, small room, no phone, no microwave, a tiny coffee pot, so small toilet (just 4 inches) and room seems poorly maintained. The staff is friendly, free parking. It's total fail for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Hollywood, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

nasty is dirty

we had to call Ortiz custmer service on Oct 13th,Thursday night to cancel all reservation at Hollywood Hist, Hotel in West Hollywood. The carpet was mildew and stained so bad it was horrible. there's no elevators or no telephones in the hotel rooms. the beds were so nasty and dirty, there's no way you could lay on them. the bed wasn't made up for anyone to sleep in, it was unbelieveable!!!! Please stop referral people to that horrible hotel...people are over paying for what they receive..its worst than Motel -6...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doon
chicago
Aug 28, 2012

Bed bug!!!!

I stayed two nights in a room in 3rd floor that facing hollywood. Nice view. But the beg bug is so terrible! I feel so bad that I didn't left the hotel earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearlake, Ca
Jul 5, 2011

So much for Historic

I came to attend summer school at a local college. Thiis hotel was a $25 cab ride from the train station (I was told it would be $10-15) My room was on the third floor. There is NO elevator nor are there any staff to help wsith luggage. Having a disability made it difficult with 3 trips up and down the stairs. The carpeting was dirty in the stairs and hall. The room had nNO phone and I had to pull the bed out from the wall to have a plug to use for my laptop. The coffee pot was in pieces and I had to put it together to make coffee. The next day, they called a shuttle for me to go to car rental. The cost was to be $55 and use of credit card permitted. When I got there it was $65. and cahs only with the driver raining his voice. He left so fast and did not give me a receipt. ele

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don 't take this one!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cosette
Taos, NM, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Don't stay at the historic Hollywood inn

The staff was really friendly and helpful. The location was fine and the room had some charm. The downside was we were eaten up by bed bugs. We would not recommend this hotel due to that fact and there is no elevator. We are still in the process of trying to get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CALI12
Florida
May 29, 2012

Worst Experience ever!

I felt like a dirty CHEAP you know what, my husband was so ashamed when we walked into this hotel (online it looked decent enough) however the service was terrible, the employees were quite disrespectful and the location was horrendous. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY! THIS PLACE IS NOT WORTH IT! unless you want to hire someone for personal relations and drugs, because it seems that is what the hotel is good for. (One of the gentlemen staying offered us some cocaine for low price) and towards the end i heard the cops getting into one of the rooms by force.(Don't know why) My only advice is keep looking and don't be fooled by the pictures on the internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Paramount Pictures was conveniently close... just about the only thing that made this bearable.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont,CA
Apr 28, 2011

Run by Arrogant and Irresposible People

I had the reservation for 4 nights, I reached late and found my room was soldout, they were curtious to call a neighbouring hotel which is double the price of what i booked and 3 miles away, and the front office was not sure if the cost is going to be covered by them. Next day I wasted a lot of time to checkout and check in to this hotel. The Owner was arrogant, he made me wait 40 minutes, as I was told he will compensate me, He said a no for any kind of discount and started reading out the Hotel rules book!!!!!! No Elevator, No Microwave, too narrow closet, No Iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tom Brady Junior
South America
Sep 24, 2012

Doesn't worth it

You can definitely find something better for its price. Hotel is very old and everything a kind of dusty. Once I'm allergic got really bad in the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vintage Chick Turned Modern
San Bernardino, CA
Jul 29, 2010

Beware!

Firstly, BEWARE OF THE BATHROOM. It is a small period bathroom with an extremely tiny (think just your face) mirror, no power outlets or sufficient room for toiletries. Also the towel rack was not installed properly and came hurtling off of the wall every time I tried to hang up/ take down a towel. Expect to climb up to 4 or 5 narrow flights of stairs to your room (as there is no elevator)and be rewarded with no place to plug more than 1 cell phone and one laptop. Oh, unless you count the inexplicable outlet inside the closet. Also, I was told by the desk clerk over the phone that there would be a hairdryer in the room, but actually you have to request one...which would not be bad at all if there was a place in the bathroom or near the one other mirror in the room to plug it in. Yes, it is quirky and historic- but the claim of "newly renovated" leads one to expect modern amenities not just a new TV and a half-hearted attempt to hang a towel rack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are in town to see a show at the Pantages, Fabiolus Cafe on Sunset will valet your car for your meal and the show for just 10 bucks. The theatre is literally just around the corner (I made the walk easily in heels) and you beat the after show traffic in the Pantages' parking lot.

Back to menu Return to top