$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Living in a hotel with a toddler!
Family
Big Bear City, CA
Jul 1, 2010

Great Historic Location to Stay

I was really surprised how nice this hotel was for the price. Flat screen T.V.'s. Huge comfy beds. The only problem we has is that when we left food in the trash can over night, we woke up to a ant infestation. They quickly took care of it. The building was built in 1927, so there is no elevator. Great location. Great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Paramount Pictures is right across the street.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meegit64
Couples
Fresno, CA
Feb 23, 2011

Great basic accommodations

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel and we had a good experience both times. It is nothing fancy, but you don't expect fancy at such a bargain price. Since it's an older building, it's not terribly soundproof so noisy neighbors can be an issue. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is pleasant and helpful. The location is close to many Hollywood attractions. We plan on staying here again next time we are in Southern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Modesto, CA
Oct 27, 2010

awesome historic stays

Really cool hotel. Very vintage & classic! good view of hills & HOOLYWOOD sign!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Costa Mesa, CA
Oct 29, 2010

Comfortable room at a great price

Room size reasonable for king bed, street noise on Melrose took a while to get to sleep. Very challenging bathroom size and shower with extreme water temperature, very cold or very hot. Small refrigerator is a nice convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Jones
Couples
Sydney, Australia
Jun 6, 2010

Great location, but no internet

pretty close to the hollywood sights, with friendly and helpful staff. No internet access though, which was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Singapore
Dec 27, 2010

Good for a short stay

Was having a 4D3N vacation at HHH. Staff weren't exactly friendly but they did their job well. Check in was quick and fast. Check out was the same as well. Rooms were clean. Size was adequate. Location was good. Free wifi and parking were good. The one thing I didn't like was the sound of footsteps that could be heard while in the room. Other than that, great hotel for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brown Eyed Girl
Couples
Nampa, ID
Jun 8, 2011

Our Hollywood Historic Hotel Experience

When my boyfriend and I got to the hotel late at night, [...]instantly welcomed us in. He was the only one there at the time and treated us like good friends. He told us he was going to make us very comfortable, put us in an awesome room complete with it's own kitchen, and even carried my luggage up all the way to the third floor! We spent the first night of our week's stay in this room. The next day, Dustin and I went for a walk in downtown Hollywood. When we came back, we were unable to access our room. We were told that wasn't supposed to be our room, and we were moved to the other end of the hallway to a room without a kitchen. This was really the hotel's only downfall, but we weren't too upset because we knew Vladimir didn't mean to put us in someone else's room. The rest of our stay went great. It was a nice, quiet hotel. We often wondered if anyone else was staying there, but it was nice. I really enjoyed the walk-in closet because I like to take everything out of my suitcase, and there was also cable and free wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Hollywood is 2 miles away, Beverly Hills is 6 miles away, and Universal Studios is a short drive away as well. The hotel is really in the center of everything!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Becker
Business
Maryland
May 16, 2014

Historic Hollywood Hotel classy place

I had a nice corner room on the second floor with a king bed. Lots of room with lots of windows to look out my windows I see 4 palm trees and to the left of them I see the Hollywood sign across the mountainside. When I look at the wall to the other side of the windows I see a nice size picture of the same view, but from the 1920's when the sign across the mountainside read HOLLYWOODLAND. It was only a block and a half from Paramount Studios where I had to be for the "Taurus World Stunt Awards" I'd like the same room next year. The only thing I didn't like were the TV controls & the stations You get. The fan was alittle wabbly and noisy. I like the way they kept most of the building original and all the pics of the stars of that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Oct 14, 2010

Great Location!

great location! short driving distance from everything we wanted to see. There was a flat screen tv and you could see the hollywood sign from our window! The room turned out way better than i had expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stick to the cheaper restaurants. The food at the pricey restaurants were not worth the money!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy carter junior
Friends
California
Sep 29, 2010

The great Hotel

The hotel was nice and clean. The locations is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top