$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 23, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
extrapolitan
Business
NYC
Oct 7, 2012

Confirmed my overbooked reservation

On the morning of my trip, I called the HHH to confirm my reservation and to let them know I would be checking in late that evening. The person on the phone said no problem, as long as I was there by midnight. I arrived at 10:30 pm and was told they were overbooked, and the man behind the desk would not help me find another room because he said the website I booked through had my money and since I booked through them they would have to help me. I wanted something in the area and didn't know the area and was negotiating on a pay-per-minute cell phone in the lobby for an hour and a half. Finally, the shift changed and Ryan took over the desk. He was a sweetheart and found me a room in the area that was clean and inexpensive and exactly what I needed, and he gave me his card in case I had any problem. Ryan is a prize, but the rest of them are, I assume, no better than the hotel they represent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CASHG
Business
ORNAGE COUNTY, CA
Oct 13, 2012

HOLLYWOOD HISTORIC HOTEL, LOS ANGELS

I HAD BOOKED 3 STAR HOTEL, BUT IT HARDLY DESERVES 1 STAR. NO PHONE IN ROOM, NO RESTAURANT, NO HOTEL SECURITY AT NIGHT, NOISY EVEN AT 11 PM, CONSTRUCTION WORK GOING ON UNTIL MIDNIGHT. AT 10 PM , HOTEL MANAGER SAYS THAT NOISE FROM MOVING / CONSTRUCTION WILL STOP IN 15 MINUTES, BUT IT CONTINUED UNTIL MIDNIGHT. IT STOPPED ONLY AFTER 3 CALLS FROM MY CELL. THE MANAGER HANGED UP THE PHONE INSTEAD OF STOPPING NOISE FROM THE ROOM ABOVE US. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. WORST HOTEL EVER STAYED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2008shangdi
Business
Ames, IA
Jan 14, 2013

not good hotel

I don't like this hotel. The building look pretty, but in the room, small room, no phone, no microwave, a tiny coffee pot, so small toilet (just 4 inches) and room seems poorly maintained. The staff is friendly, free parking. It's total fail for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A very concerned citizen.
Business
DSM, IA.
May 20, 2013

THE MOST HORRENDOUS EXPERIENCE

I had to stay at this hotel and i checked in with my daughter. It had only one guy at the front desk, no security, nothing! Rooms are HOT, NOISY and UNSAFE! No women, mothers or families should stay here. It is fit to stay for hooligans, drug addicts and gamblers/gangsters. No phones in the room, no fans(which can be turned on without having to turn on the light, if the fan is on the light has to be on??). NOBODY helps you if you need help. I had to leave my room in the middle of the night because I felt my safety threatened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ycyc
Business
Chicago
Sep 11, 2013

Does not satisfy my requirement

We ordered a deluxe king bed but they only give us a queen size bed. Further, the coffee machine is broken. We asked the front desk who says that only the manager can handle this. But the manager never show up during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelingScorpion
Business
London, UK
Jan 15, 2011

Terrible hotel!

Well was expecting a bit more out of this hotel for what was advertised, they basically have one staff member watching door day and night with no security what so ever, people are free to park and enter the hotel as they please. Signs around the hotel advising you not to leave valuables in your room doesnt help the situation either, good job it was just a place for me and my wife to lay our heads for two nights. Any longer and i may have started to feel a little nervous, esspecially with some of the characters walking around locally. Best o pay a bit more and book somewhere near or on the Hollywood Boulevard, you will be better of for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Also Hollywood boulevard is about 10 minute drive there you can park you car for roughly about $10 for the whole day, so your free to go and explore!

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
union city,ca
Jun 22, 2011

STAY AWAY!!

I wouldn't want to stay at this hotel. I saw a few cockroaches and the hotel is not returning back my deposit. Just read carefully what you sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LAS VEGAS,NV
Jun 24, 2010

HORRIBLE!!! COCKROACHES IN OUR BED!

THIS WAS NOT AT ALL THE PLACE IT DESCRIBES IN THE DESCRIPTION. IT ISN'T CLOSE TO A BEACH, IT IS IN A BAD AREA OF HOLLYWOOD, IT IS EXTREMELY LOUD AT NIGHT. THERE IS 2 PEOPLE RUNNING THE HOTEL. THEY TELL YOU NOT TO TAKE A BATH BECAUSE THE BATH TUBS ARE "TOO OLD"! THEY ARE RUDE AND BARELY SPEAK ENGLISH! ON OUR SECOND NIGHT WE WOKE UP WITH A COCKROACH IN OUR BED! WHEN I TOLD THE OWNER HE DIDN'T BELIEVE ME EVEN THOUGH WE KILLED IT AND LEFT IT THERE SO HE WOULD SEE! HE SAID THE MOST HE COULD DO WAS GIVE ME A 20 DOLLAR BILL! I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN NOR WILL I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE! THERE ISN'T EVEN AN ELEVATOR OR EMPLOYEES TO HELP YOU WITH YOUR BAGS UP THE STAIRS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Hollywood Historic Hotel

I went with my sister. It was worn down and didn't have an elevator, ice machine or phone in the room. The room smelled like body odor and didn't feel very clean. When we came home the evening we were staying there, our tv had been turned on, and we didn't do it. And the topping on the experience was finding a roach the size of a mouse scurrying from my luggage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearlake, Ca
Jul 5, 2011

So much for Historic

I came to attend summer school at a local college. Thiis hotel was a $25 cab ride from the train station (I was told it would be $10-15) My room was on the third floor. There is NO elevator nor are there any staff to help wsith luggage. Having a disability made it difficult with 3 trips up and down the stairs. The carpeting was dirty in the stairs and hall. The room had nNO phone and I had to pull the bed out from the wall to have a plug to use for my laptop. The coffee pot was in pieces and I had to put it together to make coffee. The next day, they called a shuttle for me to go to car rental. The cost was to be $55 and use of credit card permitted. When I got there it was $65. and cahs only with the driver raining his voice. He left so fast and did not give me a receipt. ele

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don 't take this one!

Back to menu Return to top