$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JR Explorer
Single
Dallas, TX
Apr 23, 2013

Good Value

Old Charming hotel. The shows in some places but it is good place at a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Al Urizar
Couples
Guatemala
May 11, 2013

Family vacation

We had a good time at the hotel, the service was good and the rooms were confortable. we would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
88traveler
Family
Los Angeles
May 9, 2013

it was good hotel!

Very good and nice hotel.Also clean,friendly staff and great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJ Sparkle
Single
Seattle
Oct 10, 2013

Cool, funky place.

Hotel was right down the street from Paramount Studios. Rooms have not been updated, but that is a plus in my book; I don't want the room to look like 2013, I want it to look like 1920! However, the decor could be better. Staff was outstanding!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr Druhill
Couples
LA
Nov 13, 2013

Budget Motel

Good for money and great location but basic hotel with small bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hatechu
Couples
San Jose, CA
Dec 21, 2013

Just one night

The room had a weird smell but it wasn't too bad. AC wasn't working but could've been the outlet I plugged it into. The refrigerator wasn't plugged in either. It reminded me of a room in an apartment. Overall it wasn't too bad. They had a parking lot which was a plus. Very quiet hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
intrepid women
Business
USA
Dec 20, 2013

quaint

the hotel is very cute and had the touch of classic hollywood. the first room we checked into smelled like a cat's litter box so we immediately requested a room change. the rooms are very nice (not luxurious by any means but we are simple people). the location was great, we could see the hollywood sign and griffith observatory from our room, we were centrally located, and we never felt unsafe. the desk staff were friendly and resourceful but the cleaning staff unplugged our refrigerator twice, spoiling our food (the woman at the desk did reimburse us so we feel that the problem was addressed). the internet was free but spotty. overall, good for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billybear1
Friends
rancho cucamonga
Jun 1, 2014

great staff

the cleaning staff was very friendly and professional. front desk staff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRodS2000
Business
Ft. Worth, Texas
May 31, 2014

Very Quaint

Very nice Hotel and the weather was good so I was able to open the Windows and not run the AC. However RM 301 is right above the smokers area and if you don't like the smell of cigarette smoke this room may not be that great. The staff was very friendly and helpfull if you want to see the sites and need directions. I liked my room when I was in it. There is no phone in the room but they do have free WiFi and a mini fridge to keep drink and food in. I would definitely stay in this Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The number 10 Bus runs right in front of the Hotel and it connects with a great number of other buses to get you where you want to go.

Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Friends
Birmingham, AL
Mar 17, 2011

A good place to stay

The location was great, even if 1.5 miles from the nearest Metro rail stop. It is within walking distance of Paramount and Hollywood Forever, the final resting place of such luminaries as CB DeMille, Marion Davies, Clifton Webb, the Fairbanks, father and son, and Rudolf Valentino, among many others famous in the past. The hotel itself has some issues. The elevator does not work (43 steps to the top floor), and it has not been redecorated for some time. The lobby is ornate, to say the least, but this is the only space in the hotel that is much decorated. The photographs in the hallways are interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were three very nice restaurants within a block of the hotel. The Oxacan restaurant across Wilton served large cheap portions. The Columbian restaurant on Melrose toward Western also served large cheap portions. The staff was very friendly, too. The Italian restaurant just beyond the Oxacan restaurant was more expensive, but it had fine service and delicious food which made it worth the expense

Back to menu Return to top