$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Hollywood Historic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5162 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90038

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fatgoone
Business
Sun Lakes, AZ, USA
Mar 29, 2012

OK

Interesting pictures on the wall. Old outdated rooms that were clean. Elevator didn't work. Free internet worked well. No phone in the room which is OK. Good value for the money but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VGA665
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Odd but inexpensive

The street noise in my room, which faced Melrose, was ridiculous. If I hadn't been exhausted, I'd have never slept. That said, for a cheap hotel, it wasn't a bad value. Just try to book a room on the opposite side, perhaps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dirty S
Business
Stuttgart, Deutschland
Apr 27, 2012

very well located, but kinda old - naturally

the hotel's location is very good and only a few minutes away from some major sights. The rooms are ok and free Wi-Fi is offered. However, there is no safe and the room doesn't seem 100% clean (black hair on the towels, dirty shower). For that price and the location, the hotel is good for a couple of nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geoneo
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Repeat stay

I have stayed here several times and each time the elevator never works. So if you have heavy baggage, I recommend that you don't stay here. But the price is great and its in the heart of hollywood. Staff is friendly and the free parking is always good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FunHogs
Business
Pismo Beach
May 5, 2012

Basic reasonable accommodations

The front desk staff was friendly. The hotel was attractive from the street with a safe parking lot on site. Although the location was definitely not upscale, there were interesting shops and good restaurants within two miles. The street was very busy and the noise level was high. The elevator was out of order and there was a steep staircase with carpeting that needed to be vacuumed. However, the room was clean. The hair-dryer and electric outlet in bathroom was inoperable & there was no ice machine available. We did enjoy a refrigerator & small coffee pot in our room . It was convenient to downtown and our basic needs were met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want authentic , delicious Mexican food, a great margarita, and excellent service, try Antonio's. It's been there for 56 years and located within two miles on Melrose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling buterfly
Business
Las Vegas
May 3, 2012

HOLLYWOOD TRAVEL

Is in a convenient location, I may have bitten by bed bugs, but in a previous trip it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Places of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenny Like to travel
Business
West Hollywood, CA
May 27, 2012

My staying experience in Hollywood Histiric Hotel

The elevator was out of order the whole week while we were staying there. Our refrigerator was not working after complained twices. They finally fix it. The clock in the room was making a rare noice every hour. We complained to the staff. It didn't get fix. We ended up unpluged it. The stairs were filthy. They were in the process of replace them on the day that we checked out . Free parking in the back of the hotel. That was great. Clean bedsheet and towels. Overall is ok with the price that we paid. We never stayed in an Historic Hotel in the past. That was once a life time experience. We don't plan to return any time soon. Thank you for all the staff who worked hard to keep up this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

YumYum Donut. Delicious for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StuartNuneaton
Business
Nuneaton
Jul 5, 2012

First Time LA

Arriving at Hotel late at night gave us a bad feeling about area, but was wrong. Area was nice. No safe deposit box in room. Coffee machine wasnt clean and the coffe was awful. No breakfast is provided at hotel. Was plenty of car park space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

On the same builing a Cafe thats open til late and does lovely food, I recommend the Hangover for breakfast, yum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anonymous2983642863472134
Business
Earth
Jul 25, 2012

smelly but okay

The hotel is not in the best area of town, but it's walkable to some interesting things. Our room had a permanent funky smell to it, and it was small. The window unit air conditioner was blocked by the window curtain, and it was too weak to keep the room cold anyway. Don't expect amenities like room service, a phone in your room, or an ice machine. We were surprised that there was a coffee machine (we didn't try it) and a refrigerator. There was also a television with basic cable, but no premium channels, and no pay-per-view options. There was free parking and free wireless internet, and the rooms were quiet. The staff was very nice too, especially on the last night when our room keys stopped working. (They were demagnetized, somehow.) Basically, this was better than a hostel, about the quality of a bad motel, and definitely worse than a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Historic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AleScaglia
Business
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Jun 12, 2012

Delivered what was spected

The building is really impressive and beatifull and my overall experience was OK. The Hollywood Historic Hotel is a bit old, but the room was clean and confortable enough for a short 2-day stay. As LA is a place that demands a car, free parking is a diferentiatior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top